We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, quirky, fun hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Had a fun stay here prior to a work event nearby the following day. There is a cocktail bar and a restaurant attached to the hotel, both of which we visited. The atmosphere throughout is fun and relaxed and the Mexican-themed decor in the hotel is bright and vibrant. The rooms were great - my room was small but clean, well-equipped and quiet. The tiles in the bathroom were amazing and the toiletries provided were lovely. Breakfast was delicious - loads of fresh food several cuts above your standard 'continental' fare.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous_citybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Church Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The staff of this hotel is very amazing - it's probably one of its best features. They are all personable, friendly and kind. The room itself is lovely - it's tastefully decorated, even being quite small. The thing I dislike a lot about it is that the door closes after you, so if you forget the key to go to the toilet, you are locked out. Aside from that small disadvantage, the rest is great.

I primarily had a beef with hotels that had shared bathrooms, but it's not that big of a deal here, quite on the contrary: the bathroom is bigger than a regular ensuite bathroom and shared with few rooms (two more, in my case). So grand, I guess I don't have an issue anymore.

They had this very lovely handwritten note, with chocolate and bottled water on the side, telling me to have a lovely stay - thanks, I did!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalsflush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A delightful stay, warm welcome, colourful decor and nice personal touches - complimentary organic chocolate-bar went down well! Loved the lounge where you could read, work on your laptop and just help yourself to tea or coffee. There was an honesty bar there too. There is a linked tapas restaurant and also a cocktail bar in the basement of the building, where the range of cocktails is excellent and they are beautifully presented. Happy hour lasts for two hours! Breakfast is taken in the restaurant - I had the continental breakfast which had everything you would expect and more - even a home-made smoothie.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back if you need to sleep in the daytime- there is a nearby hospital which nece...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I weren't sure about the location but it was fine. We had a very quiet. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and nicely decorated
and the staff all very friendly and helpful and friendly.The lounge was a great place to relax with a drink and the breakfast was lovely. What more could anyone need. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

And sure why wouldn't you need a bit of Mexico in London? It's a very good hotel - quirky and fun - cool without trying overly hard to be. I work for a non-profit and this fit the bill for an affordable and central place to stay in London on business. The decor is interesting and the complimentary products and high end towels/sheets are a nice touch. The breakfast was tasty and reasonably priced for London. It's not in a great neighborhood, but it is self-contained with the hotel, bar, and restaurant if you're worried about wandering around in the evening. As a solo traveler, safety is important, and I did feel safe here. There were a couple of things I didn't like. The rate I got (cheap!) meant a very tiny room...6a. In its former life it was a broom closet. One small and high window revealed a view to a wall 3 feet away. It seemed airless. So think carefully about the room you choose because others would be better, and bring your ear plugs because there is a bit of noise as there is with most city center hotels, but overall it's a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with "a" in it if you're claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenODonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is an unusual oasis of fun tucked away in South London. There is no lift and the stairs are narrow so it would not be ideal for guests with limited mobility. I checked in late in the evening which meant that I missed out on many of the best features. I did not get to the bar or restaurant, didn't manage a drink in the guests lounge, had no time to watch a DVD from the extensive library (there is a TV with DVD player in the room).

The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. If you want to crash & dash like I did this hotel has everything you need but it is worth taking a bit of time to absorb the décor and the film set atmosphere. Many hotels have free wifi but this is the only one I've been to that has free chilli sauce. I fully expect to be back here soon for a more leisurely sequel.

Room Tip: My room was not en suite but there was no queue for the shared shower room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elegant_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Church Street Hotel is like no other in London. The eclectic décor - think Mexican day of the dead meets an Almodovar film set - the windy corridors and individual rooms always provide a smile. Its great to stay somewhere in London which isn't a cookie cutter business hotel or a cheap, grim corporate bed for night. Its a while since I've been here and there seems to have been an expansion - the next door Angels and Gypsies restaurant was full on Saturday night but we got a table in the downstairs Communion Bar serving the exact same food which was great - inventive Tapas (rabbit, albondigas soup). Three real standouts - the crackers on the cheese board, the Gambas and the mushroooms. Fantastic. Saturday nights also has live music from T-Bone Jerome and his backing band - a great funky/jazz ensemble - very tight and fabulous in a bad taste replica of a chapel. Excellent. After dancing the night away, lurched upstairs to comfy bed, quiet room (despite being at the front of the hotel facing the road). l'Occitaine toiletries and complimentary green and black's chocoloate and chilli relish. It really is different! Staff are friendly and informative. Highly recommended for a funky stay in increasingly funky Camberwell Green.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea Guest House
#313 of 1,071 in London
995 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#620 of 1,071 in London
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pasha Hotel
#893 of 1,071 in London
266 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Caring Hotel
#538 of 1,071 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £65 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing