We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, nice staff”
Review of The Lord Milner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lord Milner
Ranked #15 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Belgravia is a great location for visitors to London, with Ebury Street well located within the neighborhood, with an easy walk to excellent restaurants and Victoria Station. As for The Lord Milner, we found it to be reasonably priced, with a nice staff, excellent Wi-Fi, and comfortable and not-too-small rooms. It has been recently renovated; the only downside is that there is no lounge/breakfast room (instead, a continental breakfast can be ordered and consumed in one's room). Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatDBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

The positive aspects: Friendly staff. Nice location. Clean rooms and bathtub. And they do have a lift! Also there is room in the fridge for cold bevarages. Also it is close to nice dining, example the Thomas Cubit.

Negative aspects: The bathrooms are tiny with no room for make up or almost not even your toothbrush! If you are traveling with a larger person they must almost back into the bathroom with their pants down in order to hit the commode ;) The bathroom is so small that even the hairdryer is outside! The lighting is making you look like a dragqueen, so be careful with your makeup ;)

We had the Rose Room and the larger Conteporary room.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I think it's a little wrong to post the 5* logo around the place, as the establishment can only really be judged on its room and location, but in fairness, it is billed as a Bed and Breakfast. It's basically an Edwardian terrace house divided up into bedrooms, with the ground floor serving (in part) as a reception area - think roaring log fire and leather armchair, with a big beautiful bouquet of fragrant lilies in front of the window. There are no dining facilities (but breakfast can be provided, at an extra cost) so it would be misleading to think of it as a hotel as such (or indeed a Bed and Breakfast, I suppose!) but what the Lord Milner does, it does very well - comfortable rooms in a conveniently-located hotel 5 minutes' walk from Victoria Station. And quiet! And there are plenty of fabulous restaurants, pubs (and cafes - for breakfast) within a few minutes' walking distance, so the lack of anything dining-wise within the hotel itself is not a great disadvantage in my opinion.

The reception staff are lovely and very helpful. They noticed we had a lot of bags at check-in and kindly offered us another, slightly larger, room. They are only there until 11 pm but you can call outside of these hours if there's a problem.

Rooms are all decorated differently. There are 11 of them - a Suite, some 18 sq m executive rooms, some 28 m 2 deluxe rooms and one single room. At around £100 per night for an executive room, the cost was not excessive, given you enjoy all the benefits of being in central London, but without the noise.

The bathrooms are small but adequate, though there is not a lot of storage. The water pressure is not good, or perhaps that was just because our room was on the third floor (there is a lift).

All in all, we had an extremely pleasant stay at the Lord Milner and if I were a tourist wanting a taste of a more traditional London, rather than choose a larger, impersonal, shiny, new hotel, I'd be very happy if I made the choice to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very handy for Victoria Station, walking distance to lots of sites and quiet area.
We arrived early and dropped our bag. We had been upgraded to the Empire room, which was a decent size with nice furnishings, including the exceedingly comfortable 4 poster.
Bathroom pokey however, and shower not very powerful.
Slept very well in that comfy bed, they could do with a thicker lining for the curtains to keep the room dark, although it didn't bother us.
Didn't have breakfast which is apparently delivered to your room in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Lord Milner is more a guest house than a hotel. Located in a smart, yet small, townhouse in a very pleasant and conveniently positioned street in Victoria close to both bus and train stations, the rooms are tiny (welcome to London) yet neatly decorated. Bath is nice and deep, shower power is average and rooms are well heated - though not particularly well ventilated. The bed is very soft (not great if you like a firmer bed) and comfortable. The front-of-house staff are delightful. Whilst you do get an option to take breakfast in the hotel (in your -very small - room, I presume) there are a couple of options on Elizabeth Street and Ebury Street, itself, as well as in Victoria Station and its vicinity. It's a good option for a few nights in London if you know what to expect for a London hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I enjoyed the Lord Milner last weekend. It was perfect for my quick two night stay in London. The Inn has a great location. It is an easy 15 minute walk from Victoria Station and not far from Buckingham Palace. There are several small restaurants close by for leasurely meals.

The staff was very helpful and my single room on the first floor was perfect for me.
The breakfast delivered on time to my room was just what I expected. I will return to this small hotel.

Room Tip: There is only one single room on the first floor at the back of the hotel. It was very quiet. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val-mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

No bad surprises for us thanks to previous reviews. Reception was very helpful and friendly. No need for breakfast as lots of places nearby. We stayed in the Empire Room with the four poster. All beautifully clean and soft duvets and pillows. One thing, as the shower is in the bath there was nothing to hold onto getting in and out of what was a slippery bath. The hotel is very unusual more like staying in a friends house in another age. A world away from Holiday Inns. Really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank highdown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,075 in London
4,168 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#320 of 1,075 in London
1,653 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,075 in London
2,835 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Milner

Address: 111 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £130 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lord Milner 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new boutique bed and breakfast offers discreet elegance and sophistication, situated in the heart of London's central and fashionable Belgravia area. Relax amid rich, individually styled furnishings; stylish marble en suite bathrooms a variety of amenities designed to enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. Free broadband internet access in every room. The Lord Milner is an ideal base for both business and leisure guests, while many of London's most popular destinations are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lord Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Milner Hotel London
Lord Milner London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing