We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, not cheerful but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiswick Court Hotel
Ranked #926 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Took kids to London and wanted to stay in London but without spending out loads of money just for a bed for the night. This hotel was funny - like ha ha - the H of the hotel was gone making it an OTEL - and there was a plastic christmas decoration cellotaped to the door (in April???) - it looked like fawlty towers! The staff unfortunately were not at all welcoming and seemed quite annoyed that we were there really. The room we had (the family room) was large with lots of very old second hand furniture - but it was very clean and tidy and the sheets and towels were exceptionally clean. The whole setup of this place is rather run down, very cheaply decorated and without any welcoming touches. The "continental" breakfast was weak tea, coffee, watered down orange and white toast with jam - and thats it!! There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but suprisingly a normal sized fridge. Me and the kids had a laugh at this place as it was like staying in a hostel, but perfectly doable although I wouldnt want to stay more than a couple of nights and I wont be returning!! All that said - it was fair for the price.

Room Tip: The family room is large and I the bathroom was ok - Its worth having this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Last minute trip to London and a room at this place was all that was available. Room was small, dingy, and incredibly hot. We could not figure out how to turn down the heater, so we slept with the window open all night. The location was the hotel was quite nice, and not far from a good pub. It was also nice to have our own restroom in the room. Did not try breakfast. Brought our own blankets to sleep on, as other peoples hair who slept on the bed before us is just not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a cheap, old hotel, it's incredibly handy for travelling in & around London, and it's not all bad news.

1) We stayed for 7 nights in a double room with shower. There were 2 single beds and one double bed in a room actually only really big enough for a double bed. So it was a little cramped. The bathroom\shower was clean and fresh smelling, although the shower water was consistently too hot, & we were unable to cool it down. The room was draughty, but clean. The bed linen clean also. The room smelled fresh and was cleaned every day. There was a good minibar sized fridge, ideal for our style of travel - making our own lunch & having a sandwich at night if we feel like it, instead of eating out. The place is reasonably quiet, both with other guests, and neighbourhood. Also the room had a big TV with remote and a variety of channels.

2) Breakfast : white bread toast (4 whole slices each, which is enough), butter, a variety of jams, tea, coffee, bottled water & orange juice. Be prepared and take your own cheese, marmite etc. if you want more - that's what we did and it worked well.

3) Just outside the door & around the corner is a bus stop (routes 94 & 272) that takes you into central London (94 goes to Piccadilly Circus, 272 goes to Shepherds Bush\White City and local destinations). 10 minutes slow, easy walk to the local underground station (Turnham Green, District line). So it's very handy for London travelling & sightseeing.

4) Staff friendly & helpful - if you want something - ask for it. I wanted to make tea etc. in my room, I asked for a kettle, got it with a smile, also milk, teabags, coffee sachets & sugar, gratis. Talk to the staff, I don't think they're used to it, but they like it :)

5) The downside was definitely the hot shower and the draughty windows - it was very cold during our stay and although the big radiator in the room was on full ( and HOT!), there were still cold draughts coming in from the windows. The plumbing needs attention, as do the window frames.

6) It *IS* cheap, so bear that in mind - don't expect top quality, because you're certainly not paying for it, or getting it - you're paying for a warm bed, somewhere reasonably peaceful to sleep, handy location and an OK breakfast. You do get those. And it *was* clean. The end.

And...there is a handy restaurant just next door to Turnham Green underground station - 'Lara Restaurant'. It's upstairs above a take-away bar and fish & chip shop. This is an *excellent* Turkish & Mediterranean restaurant - don't be put off the the take-aways downstairs (although they are excellent also). This is a quality restaurant, excellent food, very, very good value for money and with friendly, willing staff. A total surprise and revelation :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Chose this hotel as it was close by a course I was attending with a collegue, so we decided to share a room - well you could loosely call it a room , more like a cupboard with 2 single beds in it really. Beds were opposite each other with only room for one of use to stand up at a time. No kettle in the room so we had to ask for one and when we plugged it in we got a blue spark !!, luckily we were drinking herbal tea so had bought our own tea bags with us. There was a pointless fridge in the room which did not work, so just taking up premium space, and the tv was an old portable with a some sort of free view box, which only worked if one of us held the lead up in the air. The only plus for us was the the bedsheets were clean, but the carpet was filthy and we both kept our socks on the whole time. We went out for dinner and stayed out as long as possible as the the heating was full on and the room was really stuffy. We got back and got to bed only to hear someone in the next room being ill (yuk), We were on the ground floor at the front (room 8) and only single glazing on a busy road so heard everything outside and, my colleague had a draft coming up under the covers all night so she did not sleep a wink. We had been told on arrival having paid our 50 pounds that continental breakfast was included - big joke - we got tea or coffee , orange juice and toast (white no choice) and jam. Personally I thought this was a hotel for workmen away from home , who work , and sleep and buy their breakfast at a cafe. A terrible experience that I would not wish to repeat. !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here for one night, and that was more than enough!!
the rooms were disgusting, the bathroom stank of sewage. the heating was on full for the whole night and we couldnt open a window. it was just terrible.

it was the worst hotel/ b&b i have ever stayed in and for the area you would expect alot better.
we paid £50 which you would think isnt that bad, but we didnt sleep due to the smell and constant traffic noise, we left at 8am!!!

if your looking for somewhere cheap this is your place but it most certainly isnt cheerful and id rather pay extra and get somewhere nicer next time!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah_whiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

This is not best hotel in London, but it is not so bad. If you want place for sleep in calm part of London, I can recomend it. Breakfast was good, toasts and jam is enough for me. And good tea is normal in London hotels :-)

Thank Zdenda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2012

There are no Good Points I'm afraid.
Was advised night before No Car Parking only by meter outside at £4.50 per hour
Got there next day found Car Park was indeed open so was able to use it as Builders were finished for weekend. (Builders block car park during the week)
When greeted at front door noticed very Musty smell in Hallways & very hot inside.
Shown one bedroom but was advised the window wasn't actually a window you could open/use as there was an interior passage passing it??
Shown then to room 7 ONLY room left
Well a front door that rattled in the recess was actually a very small single room with 2 Small Single Beds pushed together with single bed covers &sheets with a small pillow.
The room was stifling with the heat & the Manager told us we could open/leave the window open (On the Ground Floor at the Front) there was a dated Wardrobe & a full size Fridge in front of the window with a heavy curtain over the Radiator bellowing out full heat. On the Fridge was a small dated portable Television with a Free view Box that kept falling off. Also Latter wouldn't stay on kept switching it self off (Manager found plug socket was defective & plug in a extension)
No lampshade on main light only dirty Bulb the light above bed was hit & miss if it worked & again only has one bulb out of two working
Bathroom!!!!! (What a gem)
Door would only open ajar as bed was against it (Had to breathe in to get in)
Sink was Dirty & took ages to empty
Shower!!
Shower head was Dirty & rusty only some of the spray worked
Floor unit was dirty & had hair in plug hole being Big could not move had to stop step out to turn round.
Didn't stay around for Continental Breakfast
Wanted to get home ASAP as had terrible night Noise from Traffic unbearable as windows were only single glazed in such a location would expect at least Double Glaze or even consider Triple Glaze as Traffic ALL Night passing close by
Would we stop there again NO WAY
We got what we paid for £50 a cheap room
Next time visiting London will do more homework, book earlier & pay less for much more better standard as this was a last minute booking.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#636 of 1,081 in London
600 reviews
Viking Hotel
#786 of 1,081 in London
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Woolwich
#498 of 1,081 in London
405 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#792 of 1,081 in London
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiswick Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiswick Court Hotel

Address: 39 Bath Road, London W4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #926 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £35 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chiswick Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chiswick Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiswick Court London
Hotel Chiswick Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing