We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bright breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlotte Guest House
Ranked #17 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Genoa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“bright breakfast”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

if you like to stay in a real, old neighbourhood chose charlotte guest house in West Hampstead. Charlotte is close to the main road in front of Tesco supermarket and you can find a lot of delicious restaurants and pubs walking around.
Lots of charity shop and library on the main road.
One minute to the bus stop and metro to the city centre.
Our double bed ensuite room was the real english style simple room, as you think when you go to London. Bathroom is small but ok. You can have good breakfast in the bright terrace of the main building, Kind staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia_liguria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    352
    132
    40
    30
See reviews for
196
293
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in december and got what we expected, the charlotte is made up of 8 or 9 houses in and around sumatra rd, so if your expecting to stay at the guest house you may be dissapointed. our room was only about 70/80 yards away which was fine, and the girl in reception took us to the house, the room was very basic, but warm, with clean bedding and towels. breakfast is back at the guest house and was fine,not much choice of cereal, but good english breakfast, 2 eggs,bacon,sausage,beans and toast. overall great,friendly staff, and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubbsSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

For the price my fiance and I paid for our room (very cheap!), we were expecting breakfast to consist of a bag of bread and an old toaster. We were so wrong!! Delightful staff and a delicious full english! We'd definitely stay again, and look forward to seeing our breakfast photo with the festively dressed staff on their facebook page!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GrizzlyClaireBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Overall the B&B was ok. Day staff OK. Breakfast OK. Cleanliness OK. Toilet outside of the room OK. The room with enclosed bathroom had an incredibly SMALL sink. I could barely use it. Unfortunately the night staff was terrible. We arrived kind of late (about midnight), and some sleepy (and probably drunk) guy, really creepy, very lazily took us to the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank _Trip_Planning_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The location is excellent, tube and (night)buses within 100 mtr.
The rooms are clean and confortable.
The breakfast is very good and you may choose (English, Continental)
The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
We stay every year in London, often in november when the Kinks fans meet each other in Clissold Arms and Boston Arms.
We certainly choose Charlotte Guest House again for stay in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gabe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

We payed £60 for one night including breakfast, rooms were clean with soft comfy beds, but could do with modernising, wernt to pleased with shared bathroom and toilet but for one night it was acceptable, breakfast was ok too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kacieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#56 of 555 in London
585 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#16 of 555 in London
140 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#10 of 555 in London
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#29 of 555 in London
218 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#26 of 555 in London
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Guest House

Property: Charlotte Guest House
Address: 195-197 Sumatra Road | West Hampstead, London NW6 1PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlotte Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a quiet residential area of London, the traditional Charlotte Guest House is just a 5-minute walk from the West Hampstead Tube and Railway Stations. Offering bed and breakfast accommodation in 5 beautiful Victorian buildings. Charlotte Guest House is a 20-minute Tube journey or bus ride from central London and its numerous attractions. Each room includes a TV and tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some rooms benefit from en-suite bathrooms, while others share facilities. Hairdryers and ironing supplies are available on request. In the mornings, guests at the Charlotte Guest House can enjoy full English breakfast, Omelette or lighter continental options, including croissants and sandwiches. Operating from directly outside the Charlotte Guest House, a bus service has connections to famous Oxford Street, Piccadilly Circus, and Trafalgar Square. There are also direct connections to 5 London airports, including Gatwick and Luton by train, Heathrow and London City by Tube, and Stansted by coach. Charlotte Guest House is located in Camden council witch is a great choice for travellers interested in theatre, shopping and sightseeing. Charlotte Guest House is also rated for the best value in London! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing