We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Ranked #73 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
London
1 review
“Nice hotel with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Good location and near the Metro so you can get everywhere quite fast.. Breakfast ok but I wouldnt enjoy it more than 3 days. WLAN is not incl and quite expensive for a youth Hostel :( but all in one we were very satisfied and had a nice stay in London!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank NGYNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    232
    125
    55
    34
See reviews for
103
40
178
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I went to London for 3 days and I think that hotel is super. I shared my room with the others but it was ok because they were very friendly. Place is very clean and people who work there are very friendly and helpful. I think it is not best place to stay with family but if you travel alone or with your friends i exelent :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Triinu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I travel to London frequently, and try to stay here whenever possible. The separate rooms are excellent value for money for this part of London. The staff are friendly and helpful (even if they are occasionally overworked at reception), and there is a pleasant bar area on the bottom floor with internet access and computers for those without laptops. Breakfast is basic but is filling and great value for money as if you have paid a small fee you can eat as much as you want basically. Have also stayed here in dorms- also great value.

Also this place has great transport links (Gloucester Rd and South Kensington tube stations are very close) and the area has a great bunch of restaurants- go to the area around Gloucester road for a quieter meal, while the area surrounding South Kensington station has a better range but can be very busy.

If you are lucky you will get a room overlooking the Museum of Natural History. Also High Street Kensington, the Brompton Oratory, Harrods and Hyde Park are all within reasonable walking distance.

The only downside is that it is (understandably) quite popular, so book online well in advance. Also bear in mind that prices flutuate quite a bit from night to night- Fridays and Saturdays are generally more expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get a nice room overlooking the Museum of Natural History.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazarus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed at this hostel as one of 4 Adults supervising a youth group visit. Hostel was very smelly. Keys not available on our arrival so had to check in properly at 11pm after a theatre visit when kids were tired! Has to leave our bags in a 'locker room' which was very unsafe as it was left open for anyone to enter it! Room had a strong smell of Urine! Bedrooms of our youth group were placed amongst another school visit in the corridor (our group not together). Other school were throwing lockers around their rooms, smashing rooms up and asking our students if they had any 'weed'. Hostel staff were frequently banging on our bedroom doors (staff) to tell us to control the students - however the staff of the school causing the trouble were on another floor!!! I got to sleep at 4:30am after patrolling the corridor all night - up at 6am so not happy!! No apology was made by the Hostel staff in the morning! Breakfast terrble: warm milk, basic cereals, dilute blackcurrant juice only for breakfast! I would not recommend this hostel to anyone. Worth spending more money to get a clean room with some hospitality thrown in!

Room Tip: Choose another hostel / hotel! Staying here is really 'slumming it'!! A nice looking Holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_angela79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

1- The Location was perfect - within walking distance to 2 tubes - cafes -supermarkets and a major number of attractions.

2- The area is safe and quiet. bus stop is just in front of its door.
The room size is good and the beds are comfy especially the bottom bunks !

3- Common area has a sense of intimacy although the place is more like a hotel but you can still have a small talk with people around you.

4- I must say that the team of this hostel are wonderfully gathered. starting from the manger " Ine" to the reception team " Renata , Maria , philipe , cornelius , the new Ukrainian girl , Austrian girl , the night shift Italian guy " I felt home all the time and kept staying on / off all the time in the hotel and people were extremely nice to me.

5- I had some special requests and the team were happy to handle them. I would say that the manager treated me as if I were her own guest. highly appreciated.

6- The WIFI is cheap 12 pounds per week. unlimited.

7- i tried different rooms because I stayed in this place several times in 2010 and 2012.
and all were good.

8- Lockers are free and highly secured.

9- onsite laundrette.

would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#65 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#152 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Property: MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing