We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Ranked #68 of 826 Speciality Lodging in London
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Where should I start?
- First, the hostel charges for EVERYTHING, even the crappy ear plugs that most hostels give for free. The say they let you "borrow" towels, but you have to pay and leave a deposit.
- The WIFI is awful, we didn't get any signal in the bedrooms, only in the lobby. And if you want to use the computers in the lobby guess what...you have to pay extra!!
- The lock devices in the drawers below the beds were all BROKEN. Talk about safety...
- No breakfast included, off course.
- Don't get me started on the bathrooms....disgusting places! The corners were oxidezed, and you felt you were taking a shower in an airplane bathroom.
- Last, the doorhandle in our room broke down, meaning we couldn't get out of the room. It took the staff 24 hours to fix it...we had to put a basket to keep the door from shutting.

For what you pay, the only thing to acount for is the location. As most London hostels, so...do the math.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilabra87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay.
We are sorry to hear your stay didn't meet full expectations. We always aim to provide an excellent customer service and that is why your opinion is very important to us.
At the hotel we try to provide as many amenities as possible so our guests can enjoy their stay even more. One of these are our earplugs for £0.50 and towels at £1 charge and a £5 deposit. We also offer security boxes as well as padlocks and hairdryers free of charge, only against a £5 deposit.
Unfortunately, we had a technical problem with our free WIFI during your stay. We did our best to solve the issue as soon as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience.
We have reported the broken lockers to our maintenance team. Next time we kindly ask you to report the issue to reception immediately so we can solve it. We are more than happy to store bags from our guests in our luggage room and give you a safety box for your valuables.
Our rates do not include breakfast, however for £5.90 per person you could enjoy an unlimited tasty buffet.
Our bathrooms are small size but we're happy to offer mostly ensuite rooms. Nevertheless, we are planning to do some works in the near future to extend their size.
Lastly, we’d like to apologize about the door handle. We tried to get it fix as soon as we could.

Kind regards,

Your Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    234
    125
    55
    34
See reviews for
103
40
179
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manosque, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booked this hostel,last mintue and was pleasently surprised at how great a hostel it was.located right next to the free museums and hyde park,I walked from the hostel to buckingham palace in less than an hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Monika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy with our location with easy access to some of the best attractions in London, as well as plenty of places to eat or simply hang out with friends.
We hope to see you again in one of our Meininger hotels around Europe.

Best wishes,

Your Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is a youth hostel, very basic and expensive for the quality of the beds and the room. The sheets were not clean and for a family room for four they do not make the bed on the top...so you have to do it yourself.....unbelievable.
Do not come with a car since there is no car park even if they advertise it as possible! Not a good choice!

Room Tip: Not a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations.
The company we use for the housekeeping department does not allow employees to do the top bunks for health and safety reasons. Anyhow, we are sorry that your sheets had some stains on them. Next time please ask for new sheets at reception.
We do have a parking garage and parking spaces need to be booked in advance with the conference office, that we share the building with.
We hope we can welcome you again at one of our Meininger hotels.

Kind regards,

Your Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I ended up staying here twice on my trip. The first time I was on level 6 in a tiny 4 person dorm, with no air con, and two of the showers didn't work, plus a distinct lack of power points in the rooms. But the location is good, and I felt safe (as Im traveling by myself)
The 2nd time was much better. I ended up on level 5 in an 8 girl door with private bathroom. And aircon! YAY!
Breakfast is good, nothing hot is served though. Also, they ever seem to check if you have payed for breakfast or not in the morning, so you could probably just eat without paying.

Room Tip: Get a room with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to leave your comment about your stay.

On the 6th floor we have our basic dorms with are a bit different from the rest of the dorms in our building. Unfortunately we had some maintenance works in two of the bathrooms and we deeply apolozige for the inconvenience.
We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we really hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels across Europe!

Greetings from the London team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

for £27 a bunk bed in an 8 bed dorm with an ensuite in Central London is fantastic for those on a budget, the bathroom IS like something on a plane, the shower curtain is clingy plastic, the mirror gets steamed up, the "lockers" should be lockable, the fellow inmates were all fine & easy to get on with, I slept all night, the top bunk was a bit of a struggle for an older guy like me, the staff were really friendly & could not have been more helpful, the location you are in is fantastic, the breakfast was adequate, nothing else compares for the money, as long as you know what to expect nothing is a disappointment

Room Tip: arrive as early as you can to get a bottom bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for leaving your comment with us.

We know that our central location offers a lot of possibilities to our travellers to explore London and our staff is always available for nice tips on how to get the best from your trip.

We are also starting a refurbishment in our bathrooms to provide extra confort to our guests!

Hope to see you soon at Meininger!
Greetings from London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I ended up at the Meininger because I had to make a last minute change to my itinerary and it was the only affordable hotel near an event at the Science Museum. Beggars can't be choosers, but this rated as one my worst hotel experiences ever. My experience in chronological order:

- During check in, they asked for a physical receipt. Now, the room had been booked online through a third party and already paid in full. They had my reservation on file but wouldn't let me check in. This remains the only time I've ever had to physically present a receipt to check in.

- Because I didn't have the receipt printed, I asked to borrow theirs. They pointed me to an internet kiosk. I had to buy 15 minutes of internet time.

- Once checked in, they asked me, "would you like a towel." That was ominous. I realize now that this is more of a hostel than a hotel, but come on.

- The elevator took forever to arrive. The hallways are noisy.

- The rooms are tiny (which is fine). The bathrooms are tinier. I felt like I was showering in the space station or something.

This is not a hotel for business travelers. I'm sure it's fine for kids on a gap year or ultra-budget conscious folks who need to be in this location, but I certainly won't return. I do describing it to others when telling hotel horror stories, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strangebrewfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for this honest comment.
We regret, that we couldn't meet your expectations and that you didn't felt comfortable while staying with us.
We nevertheless hope that you maybe visit one of our other hotels to get a better impression of MEININGER:-)

Kind Regards,
Your MEININGER Team London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 826 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#61 of 826 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#37 of 826 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Property: MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 826 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing