We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Ranked #71 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When I shell out £83 for a night's accommodation, I expect a few things: a comfortable room, a private bathroom, and, if I'm being honest, something a little nicer than the average hostel.

When I checked in and found that my room made my college dorm room look spacious, I was understandably disappointed. My too small single bed was crammed in between a desk and a TV that had no remote and would have made my PC monitor look large by comparison.

My bathroom, which happened to be the handicapped bathroom for whatever reason, was twice the size of my room and (pleasantly) came with body wash and shampoo. The bathroom had a separate entrance out into the hall, so I had to ensure that was locked securely for fear of being walked in on by the too loud people I shared the floor with.

If this had been a hostel, I'd have gone in expecting it and being okay with it. But when you market yourself as a hotel and charge hotel prices, you need to offer more than shoddy dorm accommodation. I've stayed in nicer private rooms at considerably cheaper and less 'classy' hostels.

Frankly, you'd be better off paying £10 a day to get around by Underground and just stay someplace cheaper and a little farther from the city. I felt massively overcharged and underwhelmed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieOnTheRoadcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about your stay. We are sorry that you felt letdown. We are a mixture of a hotel and a hostel, and we always try to provide the best possible comfort for our guests. We keep remotes for the TVs at reception and they’re available upon request. The bathroom of your room is wheelchair accessible, it can only be accessed from the outside by our staff with a special key in case of an emergency. However, we do hope to see you again at one of our Meininger hotels around Europe.

Kind regards,

Your Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found the idea of staying in a large budget place a bit daunting, as they can be scruffy, but here we found the staff very pleasant especially as we were 'just' of pensionable age and most of the clientele were youths! Good to see a few more of our age there too. it is also next door to the natural history museum. Great position.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are cubicles and a bit tight to move in, bit like being on a overnight train! But clean. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Mrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

We’re delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We’re proud of having great staff who speak different languages and are very customer focused. The bathrooms are small but have everything you need in them. However, we will undergo a refurbishment of our bathrooms to make them larger in the near future.
We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Your Meininger-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Where should I start?
- First, the hostel charges for EVERYTHING, even the crappy ear plugs that most hostels give for free. The say they let you "borrow" towels, but you have to pay and leave a deposit.
- The WIFI is awful, we didn't get any signal in the bedrooms, only in the lobby. And if you want to use the computers in the lobby guess what...you have to pay extra!!
- The lock devices in the drawers below the beds were all BROKEN. Talk about safety...
- No breakfast included, off course.
- Don't get me started on the bathrooms....disgusting places! The corners were oxidezed, and you felt you were taking a shower in an airplane bathroom.
- Last, the doorhandle in our room broke down, meaning we couldn't get out of the room. It took the staff 24 hours to fix it...we had to put a basket to keep the door from shutting.

For what you pay, the only thing to acount for is the location. As most London hostels, so...do the math.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilabra87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay.
We are sorry to hear your stay didn't meet full expectations. We always aim to provide an excellent customer service and that is why your opinion is very important to us.
At the hotel we try to provide as many amenities as possible so our guests can enjoy their stay even more. One of these are our earplugs for £0.50 and towels at £1 charge and a £5 deposit. We also offer security boxes as well as padlocks and hairdryers free of charge, only against a £5 deposit.
Unfortunately, we had a technical problem with our free WIFI during your stay. We did our best to solve the issue as soon as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience.
We have reported the broken lockers to our maintenance team. Next time we kindly ask you to report the issue to reception immediately so we can solve it. We are more than happy to store bags from our guests in our luggage room and give you a safety box for your valuables.
Our rates do not include breakfast, however for £5.90 per person you could enjoy an unlimited tasty buffet.
Our bathrooms are small size but we're happy to offer mostly ensuite rooms. Nevertheless, we are planning to do some works in the near future to extend their size.
Lastly, we’d like to apologize about the door handle. We tried to get it fix as soon as we could.

Kind regards,

Your Meininger-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booked this hostel,last mintue and was pleasently surprised at how great a hostel it was.located right next to the free museums and hyde park,I walked from the hostel to buckingham palace in less than an hour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Monika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy with our location with easy access to some of the best attractions in London, as well as plenty of places to eat or simply hang out with friends.
We hope to see you again in one of our Meininger hotels around Europe.

Best wishes,

Your Meininger-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is a youth hostel, very basic and expensive for the quality of the beds and the room. The sheets were not clean and for a family room for four they do not make the bed on the top...so you have to do it yourself.....unbelievable.
Do not come with a car since there is no car park even if they advertise it as possible! Not a good choice!

Room Tip: Not a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations.
The company we use for the housekeeping department does not allow employees to do the top bunks for health and safety reasons. Anyhow, we are sorry that your sheets had some stains on them. Next time please ask for new sheets at reception.
We do have a parking garage and parking spaces need to be booked in advance with the conference office, that we share the building with.
We hope we can welcome you again at one of our Meininger hotels.

Kind regards,

Your Meininger-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I ended up staying here twice on my trip. The first time I was on level 6 in a tiny 4 person dorm, with no air con, and two of the showers didn't work, plus a distinct lack of power points in the rooms. But the location is good, and I felt safe (as Im traveling by myself)
The 2nd time was much better. I ended up on level 5 in an 8 girl door with private bathroom. And aircon! YAY!
Breakfast is good, nothing hot is served though. Also, they ever seem to check if you have payed for breakfast or not in the morning, so you could probably just eat without paying.

Room Tip: Get a room with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to leave your comment about your stay.

On the 6th floor we have our basic dorms with are a bit different from the rest of the dorms in our building. Unfortunately we had some maintenance works in two of the bathrooms and we deeply apolozige for the inconvenience.
We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we really hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels across Europe!

Greetings from the London team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

for £27 a bunk bed in an 8 bed dorm with an ensuite in Central London is fantastic for those on a budget, the bathroom IS like something on a plane, the shower curtain is clingy plastic, the mirror gets steamed up, the "lockers" should be lockable, the fellow inmates were all fine & easy to get on with, I slept all night, the top bunk was a bit of a struggle for an older guy like me, the staff were really friendly & could not have been more helpful, the location you are in is fantastic, the breakfast was adequate, nothing else compares for the money, as long as you know what to expect nothing is a disappointment

Room Tip: arrive as early as you can to get a bottom bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear guest, thank you for leaving your comment with us.

We know that our central location offers a lot of possibilities to our travellers to explore London and our staff is always available for nice tips on how to get the best from your trip.

We are also starting a refurbishment in our bathrooms to provide extra confort to our guests!

Hope to see you soon at Meininger!
Greetings from London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#45 of 908 in London
583 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 908 in London
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 908 in London
1,196 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#55 of 908 in London
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £23 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing