We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London City Hotel
Ranked #224 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Although the hotel looks small and old from the outside, the location is just great, right on top of underground station. Central city location is clearly an advantage. Customer service was great and hotel staff were always available to help. Worth the money. Very suitable for travelers looking for great value hotels in London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tariq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Tariq,

Thanks for the feedback regarding the hotel appearing to look old. The actual building is Victorian as are the majority of buildings in London. The Borough has a long history and interesting old as well as modern architecture. The latest is the Shard (http://the-shard.com/the-view-from-the-shard).

We are always looking at ways to maintain and improve our property. Most recently we have built 4 new hotel rooms and have plans in place for improving our entrance with better signage and lighting.

Very pleased to have been able to offer you accommodation and please do come back to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had a one-night stay in the London City Hotel and was positively surprised by the value for money - a nice room, clean, modern equipment, silent for the best part of the night. The location offers the whole range of pubs and dining places in walking distance, and the staff is friendly. For my next stay in London I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGL_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Please do come and stay with us again!

We are very pleased to hear that the hotel made a good impression on you for your one night stay.

Kind regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

As others have mentioned, at first glance you might be skepital. However, the rooms are very, very clean. We had a room in the back (away from the street). Bed very comfortable, and room very clean. Nice shower and nice size bathroom. Would definitly stay again. Well worth the price. Within walking distance of the Burrough Markets filled with great restaurants. We walked to the EYE and most everywhere. Tube is right next door to the hotel so easy to get around if you want to venture off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzanne123434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Suzanne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very happy to hear that you really explored the local area and all that it has to offer.

Excellent news that the you found the hotel to be comfortable and clean.

We are looking at ways to improve the entrance to the hotel with better signage. As you say it is easy to find as right next door to the borough tube station on the northern line.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

From Reservation to departure, the staff was always friendly, reliable and happy to help, even at 4 a.m. With the email we got in advance, it was easy to find, the Location was ideal for the 4 days city-trip. The rooms were absolutely clean, and at night surprisingly quiet. Ideal for short city trips and recommendable to anyone who looks for reasonable but clean acommodation!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mcb149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is great feedback to know that our 24 hour reception duty staff are appreciated for visitors with very early arrivals. We feel that this is an important resource to offer to our guests.

Good to know that you made the most of the central location during your 4 day trip and found that the hotel met your cleanliness standards. The housekeeping team are very proud of the high standards they maintain.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was plain but clean, the hotel doesn't stand out a lot, it's one glass door and then up a couple of flights of stairs to reception.

However the location was great, a close walk in to the sights or if you don't want to walk there is a tube station right next door.

The cafe next to the hotel cafe riva was great, we had breakfast there, had terrific coffee.

This is not a fancy room, by any means but value for money when location is important.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Kylie,

Thank you very much for the review and pleased that you enjoyed Cafe Riva too.

We take your feedback on board about our entrance and are in the process of making improvements with better signage.

Kind regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we had a really nice time. The staff is friendly, the room was clean. The hotel is really close to the center of the city. The subway is just next to the building. You can also find a variety of restaurants close by and some supermarkets. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the WiFi was not included in the room price. You had to pay 1£ for 1 hour. But overall it's a very nice place to stay. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ela0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Ela,

Thank you very much for leaving a review for our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that the location worked well for you.

We appreciate the feedback on the cost of WIFI.

Kind regards,

Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. Location is excellent. If you don't mind a small room (we didn't) or a narrow staircase (we didn't) then this could be the place for you if you want a shortstay in London close to shops, city, markets and tube station. They will kindly take care of your luggage if you arrive early. They'll advise on local attractions. The cafe downstairs looked good, but we ended up at the Borough Market (they're on Fri and Sats) for a wonderful coffee and fresh almond croissant breakfast experience, watching all the stallholders set up their amazing array of cheeses, breads, fish, fruit, turkish delight and cakes. The room includes tea and coffee making. Ask for a room away from the road for a nice quiet night's rest. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving such a great review.

It is so good to hear you say that all the positives about our staff, location and services outweighed a narrow staircase.

We hope that you come back to stay with us again.

Best wishes,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#279 of 1,075 in London
1,766 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#635 of 1,075 in London
594 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,075 in London
1,251 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#263 of 1,075 in London
2,181 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#88 of 1,075 in London
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £81 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing