We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
London City Hotel
Ranked #208 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

good food and nice service. very clean atmosohere. we will come again idealy located by the train station. very efficient and polite staffs. i will tell friends and family to stay here. if you visit here visit the marks and spencer which is just round the corner. good bargains

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Pleased that you had such a pleasant experience and loved the location.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    273
    61
    20
    15
See reviews for
91
197
107
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stratford-upon-avon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Fortunately I only needed somewhere to sleep for a night, and if that's all you need this is ok. Very very basic accommodation and be aware that the single room with shared shower room is tiny, dark and dismal with a constant hum from outside clearly audible even thro double glazing. Wouldn't like to try this room in Summer if it was hot as no air con and you couldn't have the window open. Really overpriced at nearly £100. Staff were pleasant tho and cafe downstairs small but good for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Claire,

I am sorry that you did not find the room met your expectations.

However I hope that the great location and cleanliness of our rooms was acceptable. If you decide to stay with us again then I recommend our single en suite rooms, which have air conditioning, sound proofed rooms and power rain shower.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'm not sure if I'm getting to old to be flouncing around staying here there and everywhere or maybe I'm just feeling a bit cheesed off tonight that I couldn't get anywhere else to stay in London tonight for less than £150 that was decent and have ended up at The London City Hotel.

Much as I love a quality hotel (quality as in luxury, not the brand! hence the absence of a capital letter) I don't mind doing three star when necessary, especially if it's a reputable one. The Purple Palace is a great 3*, consistently decent, clean, warm, good amenities etc, So tonight, as I couldn't get booked into a Purple Palace, and only having a budget of £150 I took a chance on another 3* hotel - The London City Hotel.

I have clearly been spoiled staying at a Premier Inn rates as a 3 star, this hotel is no-where close to that standard. The room is miniature, with no room to swing a cat, no desk, no bath... No reception as such, just a doorway, tatty carpet, nowhere to get a drink unless you leave the front exit. Like I said, maybe I expected too much? It;s like being in student digs.

NOW - IF YOU BOOK ON LATEROOMS..... which i did, last minute, yesterday. I booked a double room for £125 or £129 can't quite remember.. Anyway, when i arrived at the hotel today the very nice receptionist told me I had booked a room with a shared bathroom. Go figure, check the small print. So not only did I turn up to some slightly shabby 3* hotel, I had to pay extra (total £150) for the priviledge of having my own shower and toilet.

Honestly.... if I had known what the hotel was like I would have taken the train home this afternoon and trained it back down to London tomorrow morning for my meeting tomorrow. I'm not looking forward to going to sleep here tonight, the springs in this mattress are cranking every time I move around on the bed. :(

Sorry to be overly negative, again, as I said earlier, maybe I expected too much from an independent 3 star but I will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReviewGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your standards.

Thank you for acknowledging the professional and friendly greeting that you received on arrival.

We were very pleased to have been able to provide you with a double ensuite room and amend your booking immediately at no delay or inconvenience to yourself.

We value all feedback. Just to let you know the hotel is going through a planned refurbishment. Our four new rooms have been opened on the ground floor and we have new beds arriving and the carpet is to be replaced shortly.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here ahead of an early start for work the next day. Choose it due to location being close to London Bridge, but the fact it was right next to Borough Tube station made it even more convenient.

My room was newly renovated so was really clean and the bed clothes smelt really well laundered. The biggest bonus was the shower room - I could've stayed in for ages. Hot and powerful.

Will definitely stay again - next time I will figure how to get the heating working as at times I was a little cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location really convenient.

Sorry to hear you were a little cold in your room. We would have been happy to help as the room does have a very good heating system which guests control. We will make sure future guests know how it works just in case it is not obvious.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here in December, excellent staff, warm and quiet room.
The cafe next door does a lovely breakfast.
Very clean, and not too expensive.
Good central location, easy to get anywhere in Central London, next door to the Borough tube station.

Room Tip: Have breakfast next door, excellent value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you very much for your review. Much appreciated and great to hear that the hotel and cafe made your trip a comfortable and convenient one.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel nice, breakfast good, the staff are lovely and they take good care of you.

The rooms are larger than many other budget hotels in London. Of course the equipments are not comparable to expensive hotels. However the manager put good effort in many detailed aspects. We didn't need to ask for anything else during our stay.

I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danieella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Daniella,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are pleased that you had a good stay and found the rooms comfortable and large.

Always good to have positive comments about our staff team too.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a good hotel and you can not go wrong whatewer room you book. Very clean and reasonably priced in omparesmant to other hotels of this standard. The location is very good and staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Brigit,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you liked our hotel and had a good stay with us.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Bridge Hotel
#607 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#117 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#237 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
#271 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#229 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Property: London City Hotel
Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing