We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and private”
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London City Hotel
Ranked #221 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and private”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had a brand new, spotless room with private entrance behind the lunchroom. Makes you feel like a local! Located next to the tubestation Borough, very convenient. Enormous, soft towels, rainshower, daily cleaning, nice bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sonja,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our new rooms and all the lovely facilities. Those rooms have great access to the cafe for breakfast and morning coffee.

Kind regards,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    279
    63
    20
    15
See reviews for
93
200
108
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The room was really clean and soundproofing.
The common bathroom (for two persons) is not at all a problem. It was in the corridor close to my room and it was always very clean.
The reception team was very kind, helpful and smiling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Concetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Maria,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our quiet rooms and had a good stay with us.

We have a range of rooms and the rooms shared bathrooms are to a high standard and receive full hotel facilities.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I slept there only for one night with a friend of mine. We wanted an hotel which could be cheap and clean. That's exactly what we found. This hotel is clean, and very well located (about 1m from the tube station). We had a shared bathroom which was clean as well. The beds were quite good and the staff was nice. Really good value for the price. Very nice place for a 2 days trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrienDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Adrien,

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you had a good stay and found that all of our staff were friendly and made you feel welcome.

Kind regards,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I needed a location that was central and convenient for the Waterloo/London bridge area. This hotel is right next to Borough station and suited my needs very well. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and I had a restful, undisturbed night's sleep. The room wasn't ensuite, I shared a bathroom with one other person but the bathroom was only a few yards away and it didn't cause me any inconvenience. And in the morning the cafe downstairs gave me a good cup of coffee and a good breakfast. A good, unpretentious budget hotel that was well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveCV63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that the location right next to Borough station worked well.

Good to hear that you made the most of the cafe and sampled the delicious Monmouth coffee.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelmshaven, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked London City Hotel as we were searching for a Hotel near all the main attractions in London. It is located right next to Borough Station (Northern Line). You don´t hear anything of noise from the station. You can reach Towerbridge e.g. in 10 minutes walking distance. The room (D) was excellent: spacious, very very clean, the bathroom also, everything was great. What is more, the staff: Friendly, helpful, charming.We have seen many cities, barcelona, kopenhagen, oslo, rome, etc but had never such a luck to get such a good hotel for such a good price.
So, we will definitely come back here and everyone who does not believe it: Stay away, because if all of you go there ( which you definitely should do ), there would be perhaps no free room for us when we come back to London next time.
Some more facts: Borough markets just max 5 minutes walking distances; Thamses walk the same; Tate modern 10 minutes. Busstop number 133 20 seconds walking distance to Liverpool station.

Room Tip: room "d", but all others seemed to be the of the same quality. You walk through Cafe Riva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Volker,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very much appreciated and all the staff are very happy to know that they have made a difference to your stay.

Sounds like you really explored this excellent area of London and made the most of the underground station next door.

Please do come back with your friends and contact us directly to discuss the best available rate for you.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My secretary booked me into this hotel as I am here for 1 night on business. this hotel charges £119 for a single room (and I mean 'single') with a shared bathroom and no breakfast! it is cheap (not the price - the decor and fittings) and nasty. The shared bathroom has a bath mat that has been used by someone else (yeuchj!). Only in London can hoteliers get away with such outrageous pricing for such poor facilities. Never again. Please please do not stay here.
Brendan, Edinburgh

Room Tip: just don't book in here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Brendan,

We are very sorry that this was your experience at our hotel. We take pride in making sure our guest have a positive experience with us. We were fully booked on the night otherwise we would have upgraded you to one of our en-suite rooms.

This room would not normally sell at this rate. Unfortunately we have recently upgraded our hotel booking system and this room rate was an oversight as we transferred data.

I understand that at the time we offered you free wifi and a complimentary breakfast. As a further gesture of goodwill and as a way of apology we would like to offer you £50 off your next stay with.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right next to the borough tube station. We found the staff always asked if everything was alright. The rooms are tiny by western standards but as a place to sleep it fits the bill. Super sized towels was a big plus. When here go out the door turn right and try the fresh restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank articusblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed Cafe Riva as well!

We hope you come back to the UK soon and please do make enquiries with us about our apartments, which offer more space.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Bridge Hotel
#613 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#237 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#244 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Property: London City Hotel
Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing