We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Facilities! no lift (only narrow stairs) no reception (only an lousy office), super slow internet (6 pounds a day)”
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London City Hotel
Ranked #245 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Facilities! no lift (only narrow stairs) no reception (only an lousy office), super slow internet (6 pounds a day)”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Pictures of this hotel do not look like the actual ones!!! They don't care about customer satisfaction, once you booked the room, there is no way that you can get your money back even if you are not staying at the hotel. I booked two nights there, and did't stay the second night due to the poor facilities of the hotel, and they still charge me the whole amount of two nights even though I informed them the situation one day in advance. Some staffs act like they don't care whether you like the hotel or not!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel, or you will regret about it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrLuciferJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Public Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel.

All of our staff do care about our guests and wish to do everything within their powers to meet guests expectations. However, we are bound by booking policies which are fair and explained at the time of booking. A booking will either be a non refundable booking or can be cancelled free of charge with notice 3 days prior to arrival.

As a good will gesture we would have offered you the option of a refund if we had been able to re-sell your room. Unfortunately at such short notice and due to those particular dates there was not another booking made.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    287
    67
    20
    16
See reviews for
95
204
111
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A great little hotel good vale for money and friendly staff. Does what it says on the tin!
Nice little cafe and not a bad location. Found all the staff to be very friendly. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear James,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and we are very pleased to hear that the hotel, location and cafe worked well for you.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatillon-en-Michaille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had the opportunity to book a room for 3 nights at this hotel and it was perfect for visiting London as it is very well located.
We had the back room,and we were in a fairly quiet endroit
Although the room was small, it was big enough just for sleep.
to remake very soon I hope
good continuation

Room Tip: the room of behind is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciemeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that every thing went to plan with your stay.

We hope to see you again next time you are in London.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at this amazing hotel. I only can say wow! Everything was perfect from arrival to departure. The staff welcoming andvhard working.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.....

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salahanersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are very pleased to have had you to stay with us.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel regularly for a couple of years and it is always an excellent visit, and very central. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a nice cafe.
It's a good location, close to some good pubs and restaurant. If you are lucky you will meet John, the owner, who can tell you about the area before it went upmarket.
It hasn't got a posh entrance or anything like that - but excellent for a city break

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Cecilia,

Thank you for staying with us and for coming back to stay again.

We really value your feedback and are very pleased to hear that we continue to meet your expectations.

John (my father) certainly does have some stories!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Best wishes,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had a brand new, spotless room with private entrance behind the lunchroom. Makes you feel like a local! Located next to the tubestation Borough, very convenient. Enormous, soft towels, rainshower, daily cleaning, nice bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sonja,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our new rooms and all the lovely facilities. Those rooms have great access to the cafe for breakfast and morning coffee.

Kind regards,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The room was really clean and soundproofing.
The common bathroom (for two persons) is not at all a problem. It was in the corridor close to my room and it was always very clean.
The reception team was very kind, helpful and smiling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Concetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1948john, Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Maria,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our quiet rooms and had a good stay with us.

We have a range of rooms and the rooms shared bathrooms are to a high standard and receive full hotel facilities.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,068 in London
3,067 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,268 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#241 of 1,068 in London
409 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#630 of 1,068 in London
576 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#93 of 1,068 in London
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Property: London City Hotel
Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing