We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Sunborn London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunborn London
Ranked #162 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed overnight as we were going to a show at the O2. Sunborn was perfect. It is virtually on top of Excel and as there was nothing going on there that night it was extremely quiet. It was easy to get to the O2 via the Emirates sky cable car- cost-about £4 each for a single journey. The cable car stops at 9.00pm so had to return by underground.We ate at the O2 where there is plenty of choice.We were pleasantly surprised at the ease of getting back via tube. I thought it would be horrendous but the queue for the tube moved quickly. and as most people were going back to central London, it was easy as very few were going back to Canning Town on Jubilee line and then on to excel on DLR. It took about 20 minutes from leaving the stadium.
The yacht is lovely. We were there before it officially opens so I don't know if the rates will increase. We had the basic king room on Deck one.The room was really spacious and very clean. There were lovely Moulton Brown toiletries in the bathroom.Our rate didn't include breakfast so can't comment on that. I would go back if the room rate was reasonable as it is so easy to access central London .The staff that we came across were very helpful, friendly and pleasant. Although the yacht is under the London City flight path, we really were not disturbed by noise.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water are great and obviously the rooms with full length glass windows and bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London.

It would be a pleasure for you to contact us the next time you are in London as we would love for you to return when we are in full operation.

We will have more services and facilities for you to enjoy, leaving with a more luxurious experience.

If I may, when next visiting London suggest you contact me directly as I will be happy to assist you with your reservation.


Looking forward to your soon return!

Sincerely,

Lakeishia Bascome

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,760 - 2,766 of 2,856 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed on the sunborn which is in the Royal Victoria docklands, what a fabulous location and hotel. We had the classic room which was large and with all the amenities anybody could wish for, such as an iPad to use while on board the ship with excellent coffee machine etc. in the room.
We have booked this hotel to celebrate our daughter's birthday and could recommend this hotel for any special occasion.
The sunborn is truly a luxurious yacht with the matching décor throughout the yacht. We had breakfast outside on the top deck on Sunday morning. With one of the best backdrops anywhere in the world. The whole crew were attentive in every detail. A fabulous experience and certainly will be returning shortly.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balcony I would certainly suggest trying to book a room facing the dock si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Terry,

Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London!

We are pleased that you stayed aboard our hotel to celebrate your daughters special occasion and your kind review for guest view.

Hopefully you will come to celebrate more special occasions here aboard Sunborn London in the event we can turn moments in to memories leaving lasting impressions and of course Happy Memories.

We look forward to your soon return and would encourage you to contact me directly when you are next visiting London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here to attend an event at Excel, location is perfect.
Large room, sofa very uncomfortable.
Good nights sleep, very quite with comfortable bed.
Fantastic shower with Molton Brown products, plenty of thick white towels.
Didn't use bar or restaurants on board as expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireRedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London!

We are happy to know that we were of convenience by being easy to travel to , you enjoyed the accommodation, the products that come along with our rooms were good and your honest opinion in regards to the pricing of our menu.

I am happy to comment we have a new menu in place, with prices that are more competitive to the quality of food we have to offer.

In future if you should ever come back to stay with us again, you will have the opportunity o trying our fine dining menu and can guarantee you will have a gastronomic experience.

I can vouch - The new menu and food is amazing.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind and warm regards,

Lakeishia Bascome

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sunborn in early July as we were going to the O2 to see Monty Python. It was an amazing location to visit the O2 as we were from door to door in 15 minutes via Emirates Airline Cable Car, which was also a great experience.

The hotel itself was amazing, much bigger rooms than usual for a London hotel and with a great balcony. Furnishings were beautiful and the beds very comfy, plus Molton Brown toiletries, a fab coffee machine and in room iPad were some lovely little touches.

We paid £180 but breakfast was on top, which at £20 each felt a little steep, it was good but nothing outstanding. The staff were first class and couldn't do enough to help. The bar is rather expensive, even by London standards (£11 double gin and tonic!) but the views from the deck make it out if the ordinary and worth the extra. Nearest station is Excel (in the DLR) but if you are a very light sleeper be warned you are near city airport and there are a few early morning flights.

All in all a very luxurious stay and great value for a London Hotel with a difference.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London!

We greatly appreciate your kind feedback and compliments of our hotel and what we have to offer.

On behalf of the entire staff and myself, it is comforting to know we've turned your daughters moment into a memory.

I do hope going forward you will come back to stay with us when visiting London and if so to contact me directly as I would be happy to assist you with your reservation.

Sincerely,

Lakeishia Bascome

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

When we booked tickets for a concert at the O2 as part of our Silver Wedding celebrations I wanted to find a suitably special venue for our overnight stay in close proximity to the venue. Sunborn London proved to be a fabulous choice which completely surpassed our expectations. As a luxury yacht moored a short, fun cable car ride across the river to the O2 it is in a unique position. As a hotel it is outstanding. The accommodation is spacious and appointed to a very high standard. The restaurant and bar areas are welcoming and relaxing - with spectacular views across Victoria dock to the O2, Canary Wharf and the City beyond - a lovely spot to sit and enjoy a drink in the sunshine! (incoming flights to City Airport were more interesting than irritating and proved no issue from a noise point of view at all as they stop in the evening). Most of all though the staff were exceptional. They all seemed to share our enthusiasm and excitement for the yacht and were quietly intent on ensuring we had a memorable stay. They succeeded - and I have no hesitation in recommending Sunborn London as a special and exciting alternative to conventional hotels in the Docklands area of the City.

Room Tip: Starboard side is best to enjoy views across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mr Derry,

Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London!

We also thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your special occasion and have exceeded your expectations.

We appreciated your kind feedback and recommending our hotel to others. We look forward to having you return soon for your next stay and would like for you to contact myself, The Guest Relations Manager as I will be happy to assist you with your reservation.

Kind and warm regards,

Lakeishia Bascome

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a sightseeing weekend in London. It's is currently a soft opening which means some things are still being done to the ship, they where laying new carpets in some areas whilst we where staying. The room was the most immaculately clean room I have ever stayed in with think plush carpets and king size beds. A great little addition was the coffee machine and an in room table so you can browse the internet or order room service. We didn't eat in the restaurant as there wasn't much choice however the breakfast was very fresh and tasty.
We would defiantly stay again as beats staying in a boring hotel chain. London very easy to get to with the DLR a stones throw away

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Carly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Carly,

Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London!

Yes we are still in our soft opening and will soon be approaching the end of our refurbishment.

With the limited services we have to offer during our soft opening we are please to know your overall stay with us was enjoyable and would encourage you to return once we have our grand opening.

We thank you again!

Sincerely,

Lakeishia Bascome

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at (on?!) Sunborn London last weekend as a birthday treat for one of our 3 children - it proved to be a treat for the entire family! The hotel seems to have opened very recently (we live in London and heard about it through friends) and despite this there was a very friendly and professional service and a warm welcome at the front desk. We had dinner on the boat - a great selection of quality seafood for adults and a friendly menu for children, a friendly, non-fussy service. Same quality of service for breakfast + great and healthy variety. What really wowed us what the fantastic night views, especially from the decks and the impressive look of the boat gives a perfect backdrop for one or two family pictures - for us to remind ourselves of a great weekend! A really welcome and impressive addition to the London hotel scene

Room Tip: We had a room with a private balcony - a fantastic luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear François,

Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London and taking the time to write such great review for our viewers to read.

We do hope you will return once we have our grand opening , were you will be able to have more of an enjoyable experience when will have more services available.

Warm and kind regards,

Lakeishia Bascome

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,077 in London
3,355 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunborn London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunborn London

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1XL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £100 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunborn London 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunborn London is located at the western end of the Royal Victoria Dock overlooking the Docklands, Canary Wharf O2 Arena, London City Airport, and the ExCel where one can enjoy the panoramic views of their private settings. Travelling on the DLR towards Beckton alighting from Custom House Excel DLR station, it is a 3-5 minute walk which is a short distance from the main entrance of the ExCel London. For a more scenic journey one can enjoy taking the Emirates Cable Car journey from the North Greenwich O2 Arena to the Royal Victoria Dock, where you can enjoy a walk along the pier t taking in what the local area has to offer whilst visiting Sunborn London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunborn London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing