We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat!”
Review of Sunborn London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunborn London
Ranked #138 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked the Sunborn as somewhere to stay after watching Monty Python at the O2. We travelled to London by train then crossed from Paddington by tube and DLR to Custom House stop. This was a short walk to the yacht. The area is lovely with a number of various restaurants and cafés. On entering the reception area at the yacht I was stunned it really is beautiful. The staff were welcoming, helpful and cheery. The room was big, clean and had the air of luxury about it! The bathroom was excellent and the shower powerful with lovely Molton Brown toiletries! The Sony tablet in the room was a nice touch.We had a drink on the deck at the rear of the yacht we were lucky to have beautiful sunshine! The city airport is close but once inside the yacht I didn't here it. The cable car is within easy walking distance and once over the other side the O2 is really close with excellent restaurants, you can also pick up a water bus over there which is excellent for seeing the sights from the river.
I can't recommend the Sunborn highly enough a great treat

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Hilary,
Thank you for staying aboard Sunborn London!
It seems you had quite a journey to get to us and from your review; it seemed to be very well worth it. We appreciate your kind feedback, and sharing your overall experience for viewers to reading about your stay at our hotel, and recommending it to others.

You were the treat!

We are looking forward to having you return as guests and would appreciate it if you could contact me when your reservation. I will be happy to make you aware of the events that are going on in our local area and around London.

Sincerely,

Lakeishia Bascome

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,695
    527
    176
    63
    61
See reviews for
311
1,468
43
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
magor newport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We saw Monty Python at 02. Hotel was a lovely treat, and quirky being on a boat. Friendly welcome from reception staff and room ready on time. 02 easy to get to via Emirates cable car and return on tube/dlr.

A few small service issues with slow bar service. Rooms are very comfortable, no issues. Breakfast was OK, but buffet style and not very hot.

Hotel in not yet officially open, so I am sure these issues will get ironed out. Would certainly use again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: If you book through Booking.Com rate might not include breakfast. Book direct with hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedoctor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed on this yacht in July 2014 during its soft opening period. We had a classic twin room (ie a basic one), and contrary to one other reviewer's speculation the lack of balcony was no problem. Our room had a good view over the dock. The room was excellent, with deep carpet and very good sound insulation including double-glazed window. As a result we heard very little of other guests. We had the occasional aircraft from the nearby London City Airport but did not find this intrusive. We had a good seating area with double sofa, coffee table, fridge and TV. Other useful items were a tablet computer, coffee maker as well as kettle, and retractable washing line in the shower cubicle. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time - better than at home. Two different types of pillow are supplied, so you can adjust sleeping position. Air conditioning was effective and black-out curtains provided.
The bathroom was fairly small but well planned with a good-size shower. Lovely towels and luxury Molton Brown toiletries.
As for location, the hotel is some distance from the central London tourist spots but is a stone's throw from the Excel conference centre, and the O2 arena is across the river reachable by the Emirates cable car. One reviewer said he walked a long way to the station: in fact, the Docklands Light Railway (DLR) station Custom House is 5 minutes' walk much of which is by a covered walkway.
We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on this. There are a number of eating places nearby including in the Excel centre.
In summary, my advice is to book this hotel straight away before the soft opening period ends and they increase the prices! A short journey on the DLR was in our view well worth it, as we would have paid much more to get the same quality in central London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this beautiful yacht on 11th July, , we were seeing Robbie Williams at O2 that night,arrived early afternoon and was very impressed with what we saw, once boarding the boat was explicit, beautiful beyond words, our room was fantastic, staff from reception to bar staff etc totally perfection,, must admit, very very expensive, kit kat in room, £2 , peanuts £2.50' bottle of water £2.50' which we didn't eat , we decided to have a late lunch which was basically burger and fat fries £18 each but was beautiful, drinks very dear, but apart from hubby moaning didn't really care £11.25 for large vodka and lemonade. Only problem we had was when we got back from Robbie there was a crowd of so called young teachers, the public are allowed on boat even if they are not staying, which to me normally is no problem, but as we sat out on deck, the fowl mouth and swearing and loudness was annoying me, a lot of people were looking at them but I had to say something explaining that I have a 21,18 and 14 year old at home and I wouldn't put up with my children swearing and talking how they were, I got an apology but one lovely lady bought me and my hubby a drink to say sorry even though she had nothing to do with it, but thank her anyway, but seemed to me that staff were frightened to say something to them !!!! But after mentioning it on check out, it was mentioned that once the yacht opens up properly, only people on it are allowed to drink etc on it, biggest problem was the queue for checking out, but apart from that a truly wonderful experience, will def stay again, but please lower the price on drinks and food, that was the only thing that annoyed me !!!!!

Room Tip: Being near London City airport was the only noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the Sunborn London in July, 2014, during their soft opening period. Anyone who has been to a hotel or restaurant during this type of period knows that things will not be functioning at 100%, but you can get a pretty good idea of the place. I'd venture a guess that once things are going full speed, this place will be great. It was already about 90% there. The service was very friendly, but came up a little short in the knowledge department. Where this was an issue though, it was on matters where I think the staff just had not had reason to learn the answers to questions. The room was very spacious and comfortable, except the air conditioning had a very hard time keeping up with the heat from the sunlight, and there was an issue with some of the plugs, both which I brought to the staff's attention, They offered a new room which we declined, as we were able to work around both issues. Again, I would imagine these will be taken care of in time for their formal opening.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic, except they should make the fried eggs in smaller batches. They were good, but had that "been sitting here for a bit" feel, but not enough to keep me from partaking of my share. Everything else on the buffet was top notch.

While not in the middle of London tourist activities, it is located just a couple of minutes from the DLR line which connects to the Underground system, and is location right outside the Excel conference center, so would be ideal accommodations for those in town for events at Excel.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor side room for a good view, but a dock side room to avoid the sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadGrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here as we were attending a Robbie Williams concert at the O2 and what a fantastic choice we made. The staff are attentive and friendly - we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco (or two) upon arrival and our room was spotless and spacious with a view across to the O2. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and again, attentive. We would never have received this attention at a chain hotel and certainly not for the price we paid. We will definitely return to this original experience and recommend it to anyone we know going to London soon. It deserves to do really, really well. Well done to every member of staff, you really are a credit to The Sunborn London. Thank you for a fabulous stay on your pretty yacht. X

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was fantastic! A very unique setting on the Thames with beautiful views of the city. All of the staff were very friendly and could not have been more eager to please.
We were lucky enough to stay in a large double room. Everything was spotless and the room had all the modern facilities you would expect and more.
The on board restaurant was great and the food was fairly priced.
I will definitely be returning and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#297 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunborn London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunborn London

Property: Sunborn London
Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1XL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunborn London 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunborn London is located at the western end of the Royal Victoria Dock overlooking the Docklands, Canary Wharf O2 Arena, London City Airport, and the ExCel where one can enjoy the panoramic views of their private settings. Travelling on the DLR towards Beckton alighting from Custom House Excel DLR station, it is a 3-5 minute walk which is a short distance from the main entrance of the ExCel London. For a more scenic journey one can enjoy taking the Emirates Cable Car journey from the North Greenwich O2 Arena to the Royal Victoria Dock, where you can enjoy a walk along the pier t taking in what the local area has to offer whilst visiting Sunborn London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunborn London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing