We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of Sunborn London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunborn London
Ranked #138 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night trip in London and booked to go on the Sunborn, London and what a fabulous experience. The room was immaculate, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was amazing. Was with in easy walking distance of the DLR railway to get in to the centre of London and the cable car to get to O2 arena. Would definitely book to go back on the Sunborn again - amazing.

Mrs Fenton, Newcastle upon Tyne

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Gail F,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Sunborn London and for your positive feedback.

We were delighted to have you as our guest and are happy that you enjoyed the hotel, the service we provided and our convenient location.

Yes the O2 arena is quite close, only 10 minutes with the Cable Car (a memorable ride I must say!). There are many upcoming concerts at the O2 like One Republic, Bryan Adams, Kylie Minogue, Enrique Inglesias and Michael Buble.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope that it will be in the near future.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    518
    176
    63
    60
See reviews for
307
1,459
43
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here as a treat as we were doing the London Prudential 100 Mile bike ride and it was so amazing. We checked in the day before and the staff couldnt be more helpful. They carried our bikes to the room and everyone was so nice and pleasant. The place was clean and tidy and in the bed I felt like a small child with the biggest quilt ever and snuggled up like a baby. It was a shame to get up at 4.30am !!!

Room Tip: Ask for thames view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear joanpalmer,

Thank you for choosing Sunborn London during for your stay in London.

Your positive words about the team and our rooms are truly appreciated and it makes us really happy to see that we met your expectations.

If I could draw your memorable next visit, I would recommend a Michael Buble concert at the O2 on the 15th of December, then a drink in our Sundown Bar enjoying the amazing views from the Sunborn Yacht followed by the best relaxing sleep on our comfortable beds.

We look forward to welcoming back to Sunborn London soon.

Best regards,

Apostolos fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night to attend a party in Stratford.
Do not have a single moan whatsoever! From the moment we arrived to when we left we were treated like royalty. The guy at the entrance helped us with our bags & guided us to reception, where we were immediately offered a most welcome glass of chilled prosecco. Check in was swift & efficient. And our room was lovely, the carpet was so plush & you sank into it. Didn't eat diner but breakfast was amazing & the best black pudding I have ever eaten! Plenty of bread & pastries & cereal,juice, yoghurts & locally sourced full English breakfast, we were very full! Would definitely stay again just hope the prices don't rocket too much as I believe it's in the trial stages with the public at present? Well done to all the staff on the sunborn you are a credit to the hotel & keep up the good work!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you very much for the enhancing comments and for the time you spent on sharing them.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sunborn London and the provided service by our team.

Our Executive Chef will present our winter menu from October onwards so you can combine your future stay with a lovely dinner overlooking the lights of the Canary Wharf buildings, the Cable Car and the O2 arena.

We will all be more than happy to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Take a nice yacht and turn it into a luxury hotel! Stayed here over the week-end and was very impressed. Good location the only drawback being the lack of parking but with the Excel right next door 24 hours for £15 set charge it's not to bad for London. Easy to get to the O2 via the cable cars or into London via the DLR. Bit short on good restaurants and would not recommend the Indian opposite! Back to the hotel rooms very nice bathroom a little small but overall very impressed, excellent breakfast served on the fourth floor. But the bar is very pricey top tip walk to the bar and order your drinks as we sat on the closet table approx 2m from bar and got charged £5.50 service charge!. But overall recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Emu-pat,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, you really liked our rooms and you found our location quite convenient.

Thank you for you positive feedback in regards to our breakfast and I have passed your comments about the bar prices to our F&B Manager.

You can combine your next visit with one of the upcoming events and concerts at the O2 arena which very close from Sunborn London with the Cable Car.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunborn London.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zighy Bay, Oman
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Thank you to the team at the Sunborn that made my Mother in law's Surprise 60th so special. The Sunborn were very accommodating to our special requests and the rooms and setting is very unique. The rooms are of a good size and have very comfortable beds. It is close to the London City Airport so you can expect some noise during the day from the aeroplanes but good fun watching them fly past. Breakfast the next morning was a good choice and had a wide selection of buffet items to choose from. Location wise it is next to the ExCel centre and the emirates cable cars so it is easy to get that across and then hop on a river boat to get into Central London.

We so much enjoyed our stay we are coming back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichUK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear RichUK80,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay aboard Sunborn London.

I was happy to read that your birthday surprise was successful and that the team did their best to accommodate your requests.

This is exactly what the team is here for, to make every guest’s stay a great memory!

The location of Sunborn London is quote convenient, next to the Excel Exhibition Centre, close to London City airport, the O2 arena and the City of London with the DLR.

If you are a comedy fan, Miranda Hart is performing at the O2 arena on the 19th of October.

We look forward to seeing you back again aboard Sunborn London.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I wanted to treat a dear friend to lunch and came across the Sunborn by accident. So very pleased I did as it was such a different and quality experience. Staff were very attentive and food was sumptious. Location is most appealing (on a sunny day!) and we were made to feel very special people.

So glad we founfd it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Ingrid B,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Lands End restaurant.

I have passed all your compliments to our Executive Chef for the quality of food you’ve enjoyed and to our F&B Manager for the restaurant team.

Please contact us in the future for details for our new winter menu and our upcoming amazing Afternoon Tea.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My Wife and I have been wanting to do the tourist thing and go on a open top bus and see the sites , although we have been to London before , it was always to visit friends or realtives , we looked for some where special to stay , and our luck was in
The Sunborn Yacht offers every thing you could want from a quality hotel , plus the extra of being afloat, it was a fantastic weekend and many thanks to the staff on board and the amazing accomadation , sorry forgot the great evening meal on board great steak , this will be a memorable visit for us for some time , I would highly recomend this Hotel with a big difference

Room Tip: The Best Rooms over look the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Nick B,

I was delighted to read your feedback from your recent stay aboard Sunborn London.

I would like to thank you and I am really happy that you have enjoyed yourself and you will recommend us to your friends and relatives.

Your feedback is giving us the strength to continue providing excellent customer service for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunborn London.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunborn London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunborn London

Property: Sunborn London
Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1XL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunborn London 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunborn London is located at the western end of the Royal Victoria Dock overlooking the Docklands, Canary Wharf O2 Arena, London City Airport, and the ExCel where one can enjoy the panoramic views of their private settings. Travelling on the DLR towards Beckton alighting from Custom House Excel DLR station, it is a 3-5 minute walk which is a short distance from the main entrance of the ExCel London. For a more scenic journey one can enjoy taking the Emirates Cable Car journey from the North Greenwich O2 Arena to the Royal Victoria Dock, where you can enjoy a walk along the pier t taking in what the local area has to offer whilst visiting Sunborn London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunborn London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing