We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, fabulous staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunborn London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunborn London
Ranked #152 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fabulous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here with my husband and two young children. Room was lovely, staff were so friendly and at breakfast there was a small play area for the children, with colouring books, train set, disney stories...a small touch, but greatly appreciated when the children finished their breakfast before us me needed entertaining.
Breakfast was delicious, fresh and plentiful.
Can't fault this hotel at all!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

One of Sunborn London’s characteristics is that we are a family friendly hotel. We really enjoy having families and children on board as it’s really exciting for them.

We have created this “kids’ corner” for them to spend some time playing whilst the parents enjoy their meal or breakfast.

One of the upcoming events at the Excel is the ComicCon on the 24th – 26tth October and I’m sure that your children are going to love it!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunborn London in the future.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,577
    493
    166
    63
    58
See reviews for
281
1,382
42
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Discovered this on the Web and had to go and experience it for myself. I tried to call them on several occasions but no response but I stayed up that night until 2am got through to them and made enquiries and to my delight they said I could come along the next day.

The nearest station is Custom House DLR but you can get off at Royal Victoria station. We walked across the bridge and right in front your eyes this £150 million pound Yacht was just a magical find, all I can say is wow. If you can afford please go along.

I was so excited, as it was so beautiful and luxurious from the moment you stepped on the deck to walking through the doors, I felt like I was so important and in another country.

Gold staircase, gold lifts, gold tables it was just perfect. We went out on the deck and had a few drinks then went into the Restaurant for our meal. The staff where very nice and genuine and the food was excellent, it was expensive but class and luxury has a price tag........

This was just PERFECT

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorraineJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your “WOW” feedback, it was a pleasure to read.

I have passed all your excellent comments about the food to our Executive Chef, who will be introducing our new Winter Menu in October and from what I’ve seem is a “must try”!

Also our Afternoon Tea is coming soon and our exciting Elemis Spa for a relaxing treatment.

I hope we’ll be welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A floating 'super yacht' hotel with a high quality fit out, attentive service & great location right beside the Excel centre in Docklands - brilliant idea. I was flying from City airport and decided to give this hotel a try instead of the limited budget hotel options I'm usually have to settle for - & I'm very glad I did. I will be a regular here from now on.....

Room Tip: Choose an upper cabin with views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are more than happy that you found Sunborn London’s location quite convenient, we are located in a short distance from the London City Airport, the O2 and the Excel Exhibition Centre.

I was very pleased to read that you will be one of our regular guests from now on. This is our ultimate goal here at Sunborn since we are a newly opened hotel, to build this special bond with our guests so we can welcome them back in the future.

In the future, why don’t you combine business with pleasure and attend one of the upcoming comedy events at the O2.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

First impressions of the yacht are fabulous. As you walk towards it from the DLR station, it looks really stunning. You enter via a lift and walk into a fabulous reception area. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and check-in was nice and quick. Our room was overlooking the docks and was spacious with all of the facilities that you would expect. We had a balcony, although small, which had a couple of chairs on it. There were bathrobes and Moulton Brown toiletries. The bathroom was fairly compact with just a shower- no bath. We didn't eat there as the menu looked fairly pricey, but we had drinks in the bar. Again, the staff were efficient and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gibb0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words in regards to the service you’ve experienced from the team. This is the area we try to excel so we can deliver excellent service.

On your next visit to Sunborn London you will be able to experience an amazing treatment in our upcoming Elemis Spa which will be ready in October for all our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sunborn London in the near future.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just stayed on the Sunborn for a night and had the best experience. The room/cabin was fabulous with lots of lovely little touches, a voile seperating the sleeping area from the sitting area, only a small thing but was lovely, the posh coffee machine for coffee snobs was perfect.
The food was top class and the service was faultless.
So close to some great attractions had my first trip on the cable cars which was great.
I can't recommend this highly enough, so much so I have booked again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the dock rather than the Excel centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback.

We are more than happy that you had an amazing experience aboard Sunborn and that you booked again to stay with us!

On your next visit you can attend one of the events at the O2 and definitely try our Executive Chef’s new creations from the upcoming winter menu.

We hope that you will be one of Sunborn’s loyal guests and we look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I don't think I've ever given a restaurant a 10/10 review, but this is it!!

The welcome, the food, the wine, the service and the setting - all excellent.

Every element of our first course was cooked to perfection. I chose a chocolate pudding for dessert which our waitress told us would take 12 minutes as it was prepared to order. It was worth the wait and with that view waiting was not a hardship.

Just go - you won't regret it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Catherine W,

Thank you very much for choosing Lands End restaurant aboard Sunborn London on this special occasion.

We were more than happy to read that you really enjoyed the food and your dessert.

All your nice comments have been passed on to our Executive Chef and the restaurant team.

You will soon be able to enjoy our upcoming winter menu and our amazing Afternoon Tea aboard Sunborn London.

We look forward to welcoming you back aboard Sunborn London soon.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Passing by the The nearby emerates cable car we arrived a minute later and both said wow at the same time we just knew then and there our weekend was going to be fabulous but when we entered even our expectations were far surpassed the interior was luxury personified the staff were so warm and friendly we entered the room and was surprised how large it was going to many hotels our double would have been classed a suite in any other London hotel pop went the champagne as we knew we had found a gem our room had sumptuous double bed beautiful distressed leather luxury settee large screen TV and lots of other nice touches and useful items my favourite was the coffee machine which was restocked with coffee when requested I drink a lot we took our champagne to our ample balcony (dockside but we didn't care) this was great the weather was hot we felt abroad overlooking the exec centre we noticed a few restaurants we never needed to visit the food was great on board and cocktails on the stern outdoor seated deck all made up to one of the best weekends we have ever had a must for anyone even the newly refurbished yacht not having its spa or room service up and running yet didn't detract from our now favourite hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbornLondon, Front Office Manager at Sunborn London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Lee c,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay aboard Sunborn London.

It was wonderful to read that you found our service to outstanding from the moment you arrived to the moment you sadly left.

It is always lovely to hear that a guest has enjoyed every part of the hotel from their room to our Sundown Bar.

We were thrilled to read that Sunborn London is now your favourite hotel in London.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write and we all very much look forward hopefully to welcoming you back in the near future when you can enjoy our Executive Chef’s new creations on our upcoming winter menu.

Best regards,

Apostolos Fanaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#301 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#265 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunborn London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunborn London

Property: Sunborn London
Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1XL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunborn London 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunborn London is located at the western end of the Royal Victoria Dock overlooking the Docklands, Canary Wharf O2 Arena, London City Airport, and the ExCel where one can enjoy the panoramic views of their private settings. Travelling on the DLR towards Beckton alighting from Custom House Excel DLR station, it is a 3-5 minute walk which is a short distance from the main entrance of the ExCel London. For a more scenic journey one can enjoy taking the Emirates Cable Car journey from the North Greenwich O2 Arena to the Royal Victoria Dock, where you can enjoy a walk along the pier t taking in what the local area has to offer whilst visiting Sunborn London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunborn London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing