We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ham Yard Hotel
Ranked #41 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Step off London's busy West End streets into the cool, calm courtyard of the city's stylish new hotel. Plenty of space to have dinner or drinks outside, a beautifully decorated reception area and lobby and an impressive, bar, restaurant, lounge and conservatory. I was only here for food (delicious bar menu) and drinks but if I'd arrived for a stay in the capital, I would absolutely not be disappointed. In fact, I may look into staying over next time even though I only live down the road! The staff get an extra special mention as they're the nicest I've experienced anywhere - genuinely warm, friendly, caring and helpful and Adam was particularly fabulous and funny. The hotel should be proud to have such great people representing them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VR747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    148
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
171
261
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Attended here as part of a corporate event.
Used the hotel facilities excluding bedrooms.
The hotel is simply a WoW. Ok, its new and you can see that, everything is pristine. The staff who we all dealt with were superb and extremely attentive and polite and not pretentious as you find in a lot of establishments. Cinema and bowling alley helped compliment our/or your visit.
The decor is amazing in a trendy and unusual way, from a typewriter encased in acrylic to retro posters, tennis ball spiral and wooden crocodiles (to name just a few). Air conditioning throughout.
Nice quiteish court yard to the front to enjoy drinks.
A nice unusual gem well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crazysurfkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavonia, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

A great hotel just off Piccadilly Circus. One of multiple properties designed by Kit Kemp with excellent food and beverage, a private cinema and a four lane retro biwling alley. Each room us individually decorated. Impeccable service and well trainef staff. A great place to stay when going to the theatre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kruser67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've stayed in most of Firmdale's London properties before and had been looking forward to staying at Ham Yard for some months - it didn't disappoint. They've managed to combine their signature superb electic design, usual high quality and thoughtful top hotel touches into an extremely impressive property that is bigger than their other hotels but has a great flow to it that just feels right.

Although a small part of the building fronts onto Denman Street it's the location in its own tiny cul de sac - Ham Yard - that is its USP. You're in the middle of Soho, seconds away from Piccadilly Circus, and yet this place feels like an oasis of calm. There are plenty of tables outside for al fresco dining as well as a few independent smart boutiques starting to spring up in the surrounding area.

As this is a new build hotel the bedrooms are all a very good size - we had a Deluxe Room that was very spacious, quiet, well designed and had all the little things that you might need during a hotel stay. The bathroom was typical Firmdale - good shower, bath as deep as an ocean that filled up quickly and bathrobes that you'd like to take home with you if you could! The mini bar was also excellent with lots of nice temptations.

Our room was on the 4th floor which is also home to the residents' roof terrace. It's a great space with sofas under cover where you can relax looking over rooftops whilst listening to the sound of the water fountain. There's also a small kitchen garden up here, some plants and herbs and, very impressively, there's also wi-fi!

The staff were all very friendly - the front desk and concierge staff especially excellent - and all the food we had there during our stay was very good. The hotel had only been open for two weeks when we stayed and some of the restaurant staff felt like they weren't perhaps quite up to speed yet in terms of service but based on my superb experiences of their other hotels, and knowing that they have brought in some of their more experienced team members from other branches, I am sure that these will be ironed out almost immediately.

I didn't get to use them but there is also a huge events space underground along with a gym and spa treatment rooms, an amazing looking bowling alley (open to all but wise to book) and a massive cinema screen. On the ground floor there are at least three spaces to sit - two lounges with the usual Firmdale Honesty Bars as well as a conservatory area at the back.

Ham Yard is a great hotel that deserves its recent media hype and I look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the heart of Soho so bedrooms overlooking the courtyard (Ham Yard itself) may well b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbristolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I am a true fan of the Firmdale hotels and have visited all of them a few times, but this latest hotel opening is definately a fantastic addition to this super stylish chain of hotels. Amasing colour- and pattern combinations everywhere you look in multiple choices of open areas on ground floor. Honesty bar with great variety of drinks and yummie snacks. My room was impeccable, bright, spacious, clean with a fantastic bed and linen. Loved the new toiletries and bed spray. Staff were very friendly in hotel lobby but not as professional in restaurant during breakfast. Breakfast was very nice but buffet considerably smaller than at the Haymarket and Soho. Location: a quiet corner of Piccadilly has been created at the Ham Yard, believe it or not, and it is perfect! I would love to stay at this hotel again when in London and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I tried to check in at 5.30pm. The hotel had my room ready but could not find the key. After 15 minutes of searching the porter let me into the room with his key. I asked him to show me how to access the wifi. Could not get on line. He left and said reception would phone me. 15 minutes later I was told wifi was working and my key would be in reception. Went down stairs to get my room key still could not find it. Went to the bar asked for a beer 10 minutes later no beer. Asked another waiter for a beer another 10 minutes later still no beer. Eventually I found the bar manager and managed to get that beer. At £370 a night the service was pure rubbish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank HenryV111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent our last night in London at Ham Yard Hotel, what a way to finish our trip.
Being a newly opened hotel there is always a few little teething issues, but this is expected.
We loved our room - the Kit Kemp touch is yet again brilliant - love the attention to detail, love the beds, love the bathrooms. Only comment would be to have firmer pillows.
Dinner in the restaurant was brilliant, the staff were so friendly and attentive.
There was a function going on downstairs while we were staying, only comment would be to sort out some noise blocking as the noise from the function was so loud that it carried up and into the lobby and restaurant - I think even the reception staff were struggling with the noise.
The hotel is perfectly located being 1 block back from Piccadily Circus.
Loved the hotel, love Firmdale - well done Tim & Kit and Ham Yard Hotel team, we will be back.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor room so as to not be looking into building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weenjoyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,069 in London
1,250 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,069 in London
1,474 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,069 in London
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,213 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#20 of 1,069 in London
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Property: Ham Yard Hotel
Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ham Yard Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Soho and moments from Mayfair, Ham Yard Hotel has an urban village feel. The hotel revolves around a tree-filled garden with a bronze sculpture centrepiece by Tony Cragg. Alongside the hotel's 91 individually designed bedrooms and suites are 24 apartments, 13 independent stores and a restaurant and bar with outdoor dining. There is a drawing room and library, Spa and Gym, theatre, private event rooms and a 1950's style bowling alley. The rooftop garden has sweeping views of the Soho skyline. Interiors are designed by Kit Kemp in her award-winning modern British style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing