We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in great location”
Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ham Yard Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Despite some minor kinks for a new hotel, it was an overall fantastic experience. Great bar scene, lots of energy. The room was extremely comfortable and beautifully designed despite our view of a wall from our first floor window. That was very disappointing.
Hotel service was very friendly and helpful although my friends who ate at the restaurant said that the service was beyond incompetent.
Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel, especially if you appreciate smart design, and lively atmosphere. Don't miss the lobby clock.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelKaren39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'm staying at the Ham Yard Hotel as I write this review and I must say that the photos do not do it justice. The decor of this hotel is all about the play of texture and light. The designer used a multitude of materials that either absorb or reflect light; creating a truly splendid but clean and somehow modern-feeling environment. The walls in my room are covered in deep red wool felt! Wow! The room still retains a light feeling because the outside wall is a floor to ceiling loft-style window. There's plenty of storage space (so that you don't have to even gaze upon you suitcase) because you don't want to be reminded that you have to leave! Again, the designer has the traveler in mind here with lots of surface space for odds and ends. The bathroom is all polished marble with a deep soaking tub (and a TV on the bathroom wall!) , a separate shower and tons of shelf space for cosmetics. The lobby area is gorgeous. There's a rooftop garden, a tea conservatory, a beautiful bar and restaurant, a library, a great room for guests, a bowling alley and I believe this one also has a movie theatre as well as a gym. I was greeted warmly upon arrival and a young staff member showed me around the entire hotel. I'm always a little iffy when ordering room service (who knows who'll be on the other end of that phone) but the waiter was very attentive and helpful with wine suggestions. So...overall...fabulous. The hotel is cohesive. The last thing to add is the charm of this part of London. Everything is at your feet and yet the hotel is tucked into a quiet alcove amidst the buzz. This is a very expensive hotel as are all the hotels in this group. Originally I had booked the highly rated Charlotte Street Hotel from the same group but I switched when I was emailed reasonable ( we just opened) rates for this new one. I'm glad to write a well-deserved review. London is a truly fabulous city with first rate hotels, restaurants and marvelous museums and this Hotel adds beautifully to that fact.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viacarrozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

If you looking for something up beat stylish, modern but with a twist this is the place to be. Amazing afternoon tea. Our waiter Paul was so attentive and we had excellent service. The food was fresh tasty and excellent value. Was a great way to spend an afternoon with friends

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pemburydramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, brand new hotel in the heart of London. The rooms are amongst the best I have stayed in anywhere and the facilities are brilliant. This hotel is exceptional and also has a great bar and restaurant, I cannot recommend it any more highly.............. This is a must try hotel if you like comfort, luxury, stunning interior design and great service. I have previously stayed many times at other Firmdale hotels such as The Soho, The Haymarket and Dorset Square and this one is as good if not better than the others. It has a cosy but modern feel and fantastic facilities and the location could it be better, 1-2 minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus. Hotels do not get better than this anywhere!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tadcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Like a previous reviewer, we also enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea in the drawing room of this wonderful new hotel. Special mention has to go to our excellent waiter, Paul, who ensured our mother daughter treat was truly special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Lin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This new firmdale output steps away from Piccadilly is a bright beautiful oasis. Large by Firmdale standards (Soho Hotel, Covent Garden Hotel, etc), but relaxed and comfortable. The courtyard in front is great for dining and the large spacious bar is well appointed. We had breakfast and dinner at the Ham Yard dinning room. The food was very good. For breakfast, the avocado on rye and chili beans and eggs were delicious. For dinner, the gnochi was a standout. The rooms are very large with floor to ceiling windows and granite marble bathrooms. All rooms are unique and the beds are extremely cosy. The rooms were surprizingly quiet. We face the back on an alley with rooftop views. Also, special items: the roof terrance and garden for drinks or snacks, the fitness center and spa as well as the bowling alley (L20 per person per hour). The staff were very nice and welcoming. Don't miss tea (the scones are great!). If you like small boutique hotels this may be too big for you, but the Kip Kemp design and staff still make this unique relaxing and a first class choice. Looking forward toward our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

worked round the corner from Ham yard .. this hotel creates a new buzz to the area .. been here for their opening evening .. evening coffee .. show round to view all areas of the property .. extremely impressive .. had dinner with friends last night .. the starter Scallop is to die for .. main Seared Tuma another thumbs up !! we were so full .. cannot fit in dessert ! service is excellent .. very cozy dining area and not expensive at all .. Ham yard has now become my favourite entertainment location .. kept up the good work Firmdale group .. thank you .

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank 1111abcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,075 in London
1,327 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,075 in London
1,496 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#11 of 1,075 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#37 of 1,075 in London
2,287 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#17 of 1,075 in London
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £389 - £1,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ham Yard Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Soho and moments from Mayfair, Ham Yard Hotel has an urban village feel. The hotel revolves around a tree-filled garden with a bronze sculpture centrepiece by Tony Cragg. Alongside the hotel's 91 individually designed bedrooms and suites are 24 apartments, 13 independent stores and a restaurant and bar with outdoor dining. There is a drawing room and library, Spa and Gym, theatre, private event rooms and a 1950's style bowling alley. The rooftop garden has sweeping views of the Soho skyline. Interiors are designed by Kit Kemp in her award-winning modern British style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing