We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ham Yard Hotel
Ranked #54 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We are big fans of the Firmdale Hotels and this one manages to be exciting and fresh, a wonderful fun adventure in London. As mentioned by others, in addition to the sensational decor, it's the personal touch that makes the Firmdale group stand out. I was astonished that the manager recognized me from a visit to a sister hotel 6 months earlier, and when we didn't answer a wake up call, because we'd already left our rooms, someone came up to actually check on us....amazing.
We had a delightful room on the fourth floor with floor to ceiling windows overlooking a balcony, near the gorgeous roof terrace, highly recommended. The public rooms are filled with modern art and exciting to look at. The location is perfect and set back from the crowds of Soho. A very fun setting for a family vacation with teenagers.

Room Tip: In the summertime, the fourth floor terrace was gorgeous and our room with balcony on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

This new hotel has extraordinary and unique interior design that's fun and whimsical. Some of the details in the public areas are remarkable. In July at least service in the restaurant was lagging a bit, and front desk service was excellent but could be a notch sharper. It's a new hotel - I suspect that Firmdale will work out the opening kinks.
The junior suites are very comfortable, although half of them are decorated in gray and black thus lack the color that's abundant in the hotel's public areas. For a newly constructed luxury hotel, I was surprised that some hi-tech features were missing (complete door soundproofing, power shades, master electric switch, Do Not Disturb switch) which I see in other new hotels. The A/C was thankfully quiet.
The location is terrific. I was hoping that the courtyard would be greener and more picturesque - it's a bit bland. Overall this is a fun place and you'll remember it fondly.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank fran9669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are big fans of the Firmdale group of hotels. We practically lived at the Crosby Street Hotel in NYC in New York. When in London we stayed at the Soho Hotel. We could not wait to see what they would do with the new Ham Yard Property. Well, it certainly did not disappoint in any respect. They manage to transport the same look and feel. The same caring quality from property to property. Their rooms and decor are in a league of their own. We are in the design business and we are in awe of the taste level of this unique property. Everything about it is special and we give it 5 stars in every category

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank casa360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I didn't actually stay the night here.
I turned up for lunch like a drowned rat after the Prudential Ride London event today.
They allowed me to shower and change and stored my bike for me.
We then had a lovely lunch in their light and airy restaurant and then they even arranged the transport of 4 of us and my bike to where we'd parked our car.
I cannot fault the service offered which was delivered in a truly professional but friendly manner.
I will be staying here at some time in the future.
Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank IWIWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When it comes to London, there are a variety of hotels to choose from like few other cities in the world. There is a place for every kind of tourist. However, when it comes to exceptional hotels in perfect locations, it is very rare to find a suitable hotel. The Ham Yard Hotel embodies the London boutique hotel experience and is part of the exquisite Firmdale Hotels Group. It has everything it needs to cater to its clientele and more. Without exaggeration, Ham Yard Hotel has one of the best locations in the entire city. So much so that it makes one wonder why this little central nook in Soho has never been utilized in that way before. The hotel is a minute away from Piccadilly Circus, Mayfair, Soho shops and restaurants, Regent Street and a short walk away from Oxford Street, Leicester Square, Covent Garden and the Seven Dials. Even more surprisingly, the premises of the hotel is tucked in a quite part of Soho (Yes, they exist) - in what seems like a serene valley in an urban jungle.

The first thing you will notice about the hotel is the impeccable design. Balancing a median between modern design and boho chic, the hotel perfectly merges utilitarian edginess with bohemian warmth. The lobby area is lively (and currently serves as one of the hottest spots in Soho to have brunch). The reception desk is right between the hotel's commodious restaurant and its impressive library.

Upon entering the employees will greet you with a smile and questions about how well your day went (which is the golden treatment from pre-occupied Londoners). The receptionist will then take you to your own room through what seems like a bright maze of botanical graphics from old French textbooks in this three floor hotel with a quaint little terrace.

The rooms are spacious, but not empty. The space is contrasted with colorful wallpaper and bed linens overlooking many angles of Soho's red brick walls. The mini-bar is excessively stocked with the best of the best (from organic beetroot juice to a play kit to a variety of wines), while the bathroom boasts a TV in front of the bathtub and a speaker system. The bed is risen high for a better view of the wide-length windows. The spaciousness is that of a renovated loft in the West End. If you are enjoying your room way too much they also have one of the best (and fastest) room dinning service that offers fresh burratas 24 hours a day while you dock your iPod into the multi-speaker system (also, internet access is included for an unlimited number of devices upon check-in).

This new hotel is truly an exceptional experience in the heart of London and at the crossroads of many tourist coveted locations in London. Furthermore, the atmosphere is lively, yet cozy for this bustling metropolis. When considering the price for the place, always keep in mind how much you'll be saving on cab fare because of the unparalleled location. We have been to London many times (way too many) and we can say that this is probably one of the top places we've stayed. The Ham Yard Hotel is recommended for any kind of traveller to London! Try it, you'll thank us later!

Original review on FLIGHT965.com

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flight965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well designed new hotel in the soho area , great service from front desk and others,
Bowling is per request only at 20gbp per person per hour , not always free, book in advance.
The hotel is well located and great for young couples and night life people.
Great linen and amenities but unfortunately they don't have double windows as in Covent garden hotel so noise from parties downstairs is heard in the room. Go and see little roof top on 4th floor and the bowling downstairs . Overpriced but maybe you can get an upgrade.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Amazing decoration, great service, I am a regular guest of their bars and restaurants very good value for money. I love the decoration and environment of these properties.
I would recommend experiencing the Firmdale Hotels, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FranciscoF008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#16 of 1,081 in London
1,541 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#50 of 1,081 in London
1,442 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,081 in London
4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#5 of 1,081 in London
852 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#19 of 1,081 in London
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £415 - £1,857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ham Yard Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Soho and moments from Mayfair, Ham Yard Hotel has an urban village feel. The hotel revolves around a tree-filled garden with a bronze sculpture centrepiece by Tony Cragg. Alongside the hotel's 91 individually designed bedrooms and suites are 24 apartments, 13 independent stores and a restaurant and bar with outdoor dining. There is a drawing room and library, Spa and Gym, theatre, private event rooms and a 1950's style bowling alley. The rooftop garden has sweeping views of the Soho skyline. Interiors are designed by Kit Kemp in her award-winning modern British style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing