We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ham Yard Hotel
Ranked #36 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed at most of the Firmdale hotels and always had a great time there and Ham Yard was no exception.
It is a little clam oasis in the midst of Soho. It is beautifully furnished as they always are, and as always we felt truly welcome and at home! We had a deluxe junior suite which was gorgeous and spacious and we loved the floor to ceiling windows.
The bar has a great vibe and we tried some expertly made and delicious cocktails. We didn't have afternoon tea but it looked lovely!
We would highly recommend the bowling alley! We spent a fabulously fun hour sipping champagne and being very bad at bowling. The setting is very special!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    138
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
154
235
39
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

On our final day of a family weekend trip to London with our 7 year old son. It was his 1st trip to the capital and the hotel was just in the perfect location for all of the sightseeeing. Rooms and staff are fantastic and it gets the balance just right between luxury an friendliness. We ate in the hotel one night and that was great as well with an extensive kids menu. All that's left this morning is another quality breakfast and a ten pin bowling in their basement private bowling alley. Hopefully back very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from a client lunch witha colleague (four of us in total) and had a wonderful afternoon at Ham Yard Restaurant. The surroundings a lovely & the staff are attentive and freindly.

As it was a slightly chilly day today, we decided to eat inside by the window but the courtyard looks great and i would certainly pop in for a cocktail on a sunny afternoon. The location is great, 3-4 min walk from picadilly station but down a small side road, so no hustle and bustle!

We all enjoyed our starts - crab with poached duck egg for me, burrata and scallops for my colleague and our guests.

Our mains were just as tasty, however we all thought there was alot of fish and veggie options but not meat - no steak for instance which was a bit of a shame.

Instead of wine we all opted for cocktails- I have a delicious one, forgotten the name but it had prosecco and elderflower - so good I had two!!

All in all a great hotel restuarant, perfect central location serving good quality food and drink. The bill came to £171 for 4 people with starters, mains and a round of cocktails (plus one more for me) - which I think was well worth.

I'd certainly go again and would reccomend to anyone- both business and pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinahw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, null, Monaco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very new clean morden hotel.
Very helpful and polite staff.
You are near to all theatres and musicals!
Good food in the restaurant and they are open very late!
The rooms are really big for the city centre hotel
I don't give 5 stars only because of the absence of the swimming pool

Room Tip: Ask for a view from your window- some rooms look on the roofs and they are not as charming as in Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful new hotel in London. The hotel itself has lots of different rooms and great decor in all. Don't miss the roof top terrace which is a lovely space. We had afternoon tea outside and location and food was brilliant. We could not eat all the food but it was lovely - the pimms dessert was especially delicious! They catered for vegetarians too. Staff were very friendly and gave us a tour of the hotel afterwards which included many rooms which can be hired privately. There is also a bowling alley, dancefloor and well equiped gym/spa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 220678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I had a chance to get the weekend in London. We've previously stayed at the Covent Garden Hotel and I tried to book there but they were fully booked for Saturday night. The Ham Yard Hotel is run by the same people so I booked a night in a Deluxe Room with their Summer Promotion - this included Breakfast and a Summer Cocktail in the bar.

We arrived very early - before 11a.m, we were greeted by the doorman who took our cases and showed us to check in. We were too early for our room, the location of the hotel is within a couple of minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus so we wandered down to the river and generally looked at the sites of London. Early in the afternoon we returned to the hotel and was given our key, the room was on the fourth floor and our cases were already there.

The room was gorgeous along the massive bed, was a very comfortable seating area. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, the fixtures and fittings are all to a very high standard. The minibar was well stocked and the charges were comparable with other London hotels. The wifi signal was very strong too.

Later in the day we went to the bar, situated on the ground floor, it had a really good atmosphere and was a nice place to spend the evening.

Returning later to the room, the bed had been turned down and we were left a small gift and a bottle of water each - very welcome after an evening of alcohol!

In the morning we had a great breakfast, cooked to order and then checked out shortly afterwards.

All of the representatives of the hotel were very good and irrespective of their titles worked excellently as a team, to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.

It is our new favourite hotel in London!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We are big fans of the Firmdale Hotels and this one manages to be exciting and fresh, a wonderful fun adventure in London. As mentioned by others, in addition to the sensational decor, it's the personal touch that makes the Firmdale group stand out. I was astonished that the manager recognized me from a visit to a sister hotel 6 months earlier, and when we didn't answer a wake up call, because we'd already left our rooms, someone came up to actually check on us....amazing.
We had a delightful room on the fourth floor with floor to ceiling windows overlooking a balcony, near the gorgeous roof terrace, highly recommended. The public rooms are filled with modern art and exciting to look at. The location is perfect and set back from the crowds of Soho. A very fun setting for a family vacation with teenagers.

Room Tip: In the summertime, the fourth floor terrace was gorgeous and our room with balcony on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#88 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Property: Ham Yard Hotel
Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ham Yard Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Soho and moments from Mayfair, Ham Yard Hotel has an urban village feel. The hotel revolves around a tree-filled garden with a bronze sculpture centrepiece by Tony Cragg. Alongside the hotel's 91 individually designed bedrooms and suites are 24 apartments, 13 independent stores and a restaurant and bar with outdoor dining. There is a drawing room and library, Spa and Gym, theatre, private event rooms and a 1950's style bowling alley. The rooftop garden has sweeping views of the Soho skyline. Interiors are designed by Kit Kemp in her award-winning modern British style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing