We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous....”
Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ham Yard Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Honestly the design team at the Firmdale Group have just got IT and whatever IT is they have it in abundance. Simply the most stylish hotels in Town and now we have a new superstar in Ham Yard. This is the second time I have visited and we came for cocktails on Saturday. Two and a half hours later we stumbled out both giggling like teenagers. The bar staff were excellent and their competitive edge to create the best tasting cocktails resulted in us becoming their guinea pigs! The staff in general were very good but it is clearly a new team as you could see that a few of them were trying extra hard to impress. All n all a great experience, beautiful surroundings and a great buzz. Gorgeous toilets always adds extra points and these were 10/10. The only minor negative is that the outside seating area isn't quite right. There is something not quite clicking but I am sure it will only be a short time before this gets sorted. Try Ham Yard for yourself and if you are feeling flush splash out and stay for a couple of nights I am sure it would be a fab experience. I just want Kit Kemp to design our house!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PhilWCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

I was looking to stay again in the Soho Hotel, in a usual room that i liked, however it wasn't available, so i ended up here. WOW, I am glad I did! The Ham Yard is just amazing, in a great central location, it really is a bit of a hidden gem, though I fear it won't stay that way for too long. I was traveling solo (seeing friends) and also on business, so as usual, i want to feel at home and these guys perfected it! Anything i wanted, they did, even some obscure requests! I cannot rave about this place enough, everything was PERFECT!

Staff, service, food, drink, atmosphere, decor, comfort, ROOF TERRACE!, bowling alley, screening room!! STAY HERE!

Room Tip: pay a bit more to get a better room - it makes a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdanaSchul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Wow. Just been to the newest member of the Firmdale Group and it does not disappoint.
Service is true 5*.
Room size, design, food and ambience it has it all.
After 1 day all the staff just know your name it nice touches like these that make the stays memorable.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tonydemolition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Fans of the Firmdale chain have been awaiting Ham Yard with considerable anticipation and my wife and I finally managed to organise an overnight at the Bank Holiday weekend. It was worth the wait!

Committed enthusiasts for the smaller hotels such as Covent Garden or Charlotte Street will find a very different atmosphere and feel here due to the all-new hotel's size and consequently different vibe but they will not be disappointed to find that all of the best aspects of every Firmdale outpost remains firmly in place. Friendly, engaging and relaxed staff. Stylish, comfortable and remarkably well equipped bedrooms. Buzzy and bustling bar and restaurant. All these familiar aspects have been transferred to Ham Yard - thanks in part to many of the senior team having been moved across from the other venues - creating a comfortably familiar personality.

Perhaps the biggest similarity will be noticed by those who have stayed at Crosby Street in New York. The extra size, the larger crowds of drinkers and diners, the greater numbers of staff are all reminders of the US outpost. But there is much to keep Firmdale traditionalists happy.

Quiet, relaxed corners abound. There is still the reassuring provision of an honesty bar for a late nightcap in the resident-only library. The engaging nature of everyone from check-in to room service remains firmly Firmdale!

And the rooms couldn't belong anywhere else! They may be boasting the latest style-book look, but clearly Kit Kemp and her creative team were determined to ensure continuity - even if some of the colour and trend combinations are clearly bang up to date the rooms have that "how do you manage to put so many potentially divisive elements together and come up with a harmonious feel" Firmdale style!

For stick-in-the-muds at least the bathrooms have exactly the same look as all the other properties.

It would be wrong not to say that there are perhaps one or two initial teething troubles to be ironed out. Clearly many of the restaurant team are new to Firmdale and so some elements of service can be tightened. But the quality of the food, drink and general service is way above the price-tag! This will undoubtedly become a go-to location London's hip and trendy - deservedly so.

If you are staying, don't miss out on the fourth-floor roof terrace. It is a peaceful, green retreat from the fast pace of the public areas and I can imagine many a cocktail reception taking place in here in the time ahead.

Welcome Ham Yard - I can only imagine that the teams at Soho and Haymarket will be both envious and worried - which probably means they will work even harder to pull back their loyal clients who perhaps have been tempted by the new arrival!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just back from a bank holiday weekend in London. We stayed at the Ham Yard having been regulars at The Soho Hotel for some time. We decided to give The Ham Yard a "go" and (not surprisingly with Firmdale's standards) it was was wonderful. The design, fit and finish is quite stunning and the staff friendly and so helpful. Afternoon tea was a highlight but don't plan on eating for the rest of the delay.

So...why the dilemma? We love the Soho Hotel; we now love The Ham Yard as well; where do we stay next time? I suppose the answer is visit twice as often and alternate:-)

Well done again Firmdale.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed at most of the Firmdale hotels and always had a great time there and Ham Yard was no exception.
It is a little clam oasis in the midst of Soho. It is beautifully furnished as they always are, and as always we felt truly welcome and at home! We had a deluxe junior suite which was gorgeous and spacious and we loved the floor to ceiling windows.
The bar has a great vibe and we tried some expertly made and delicious cocktails. We didn't have afternoon tea but it looked lovely!
We would highly recommend the bowling alley! We spent a fabulously fun hour sipping champagne and being very bad at bowling. The setting is very special!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

On our final day of a family weekend trip to London with our 7 year old son. It was his 1st trip to the capital and the hotel was just in the perfect location for all of the sightseeeing. Rooms and staff are fantastic and it gets the balance just right between luxury an friendliness. We ate in the hotel one night and that was great as well with an extensive kids menu. All that's left this morning is another quality breakfast and a ten pin bowling in their basement private bowling alley. Hopefully back very soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,077 in London
1,504 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#55 of 1,077 in London
1,358 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,077 in London
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,077 in London
1,037 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#38 of 1,077 in London
2,329 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £337 - £1,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ham Yard Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Soho and moments from Mayfair, Ham Yard Hotel has an urban village feel. The hotel revolves around a tree-filled garden with a bronze sculpture centrepiece by Tony Cragg. Alongside the hotel's 91 individually designed bedrooms and suites are 24 apartments, 13 independent stores and a restaurant and bar with outdoor dining. There is a drawing room and library, Spa and Gym, theatre, private event rooms and a 1950's style bowling alley. The rooftop garden has sweeping views of the Soho skyline. Interiors are designed by Kit Kemp in her award-winning modern British style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing