We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“con artisits” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #833 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“con artisits”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

they book you in here and then place you in an inferior hotel further down the street which is not of the same quality or rating. the rooms are dirty, the furniture broken, windows dont closer, paper is hanging of the wall, shower area is filthy. When you complain the staff or manager is not interested and the food is even worse.
AVOID THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    35
    61
    24
    47
See reviews for
72
29
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Located close to Paddington station, it is really easy to access the hotel from Heathrow.
The room we had was small and of low standard, but the beds were OK and we slept well.
The bathroom was also tiny, equipped with a toilet, a miniature sink and a shower that almost didn't provide any water.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Dirty, dirty, dirty. Unfortunately because of its location and price the Haven is well patronized which means the owners don't care about the state of it. The grime on the walls and in the bathroom is totally unacceptable and unlikely would pass any health inspection. The rooms are not how they are advertised and in our "4 person" room there was hardly room to move. Lights were broken, toilet didn't flush properly and curtains were stained. One day we arrived back to find the so called house keeping had left our door open. I say so called house keeping as judging by the state of the room they can't have spent more than ten minutes in there tops. Can't comment on the breakfast as because of the obvious lack of hygiene at the hotel we were not prepared to try it. Pay more or stay out further and use the great public transport. It is not worth it for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shells18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

we had booked a family weekend for myself, hubby & 16yrs old daughter, who has a minor disability. we arrived at approx. 3.30pm to be told our card had been declined, so there was no room for us. despite me showing my printed out documents that there was nothing wrong with the card, this rude man wasn't having any of it. there was nothing on our documents to say check in by 3pm, it only said to pay when you check in!!!!. he did find us another hotel for the first night, which was great. the nx day we had to go back to the haven, to shown a dirty room with just two single beds!!!!. I of course refused and so we had to find another place to stay. avoid at all costs. go to The Gresham which just down the road, it is fab

Room Tip: go to the Gresham hotel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We are a family of 4 and they put us in a room big enough for 3. There was not enough room to even open up our suitcases. There is no air conditioning the room is like a sauna and the bathroom is even hotter! They do provide a fan though. The good thing is the room is very clean, the staff is very friendly, and the breakfast is very good. The breakfast is a full breakfast not continental which is very nice. The staff did also when they got openings set us up in two bedrooms so we had more rooms which was really nice of them. Overall it's a fairly good place just not for families. But if you are by yourself, a couple, or with friends it's a good simple little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Worst Hotel Ever. Short Summary: Everything is disgusting, dirty, unhygienic, i.e. feces in toilet on arrival. Stained sheets and bed spread. Nothing like the pictures on the website. Holes in the walls, room only big enough for 3 people, yet there was 5 of us. PASSPORT WAS STOLEN FROM THE ROOM! If you want to stay in this location the whole street along Sussex Gardens is full of hotels. Go anywhere else but the Haven Hotel. Nothing but disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Location for the hotel great!!!! the hotel for this money not bad, but having elevator not in service for 6th floor rooms unacceptable! This information should come to us much earlier- I mean on the reservation time not as a surprise in the middle of the night


  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#743 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#682 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#522 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Columbus
#478 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#622 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#804 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Property: Haven Hotel
Address: 6-8 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #833 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Haven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing