We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Deals Out There.”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #949 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better Deals Out There.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Tiny, even by European standards.

My biggest issue however was that it was not very clean. It was was barely passable but there was something sticky on our floor for the last couple days. They didn't change our beds in the 6 days we were there.

Our window looked out onto a roof area where some could easily just walk over and open our unsecured window. In this area all we could see was old construction matierials, broken chairs, and numerous empty cigarette packs.

No a/c and very humid in room.

Good things...very close to metro, trains, descent free wifi, and passable free breakfast.

Even on a budget you can do better than this.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IrishPeac0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    44
    34
    47
See reviews for
34
65
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! We were supposed to be staying here for 1 night and when we arrived we found that they had no room for us even though I can rang the night before and said we were coming and I asked questions about our reservation!! The place smells awful as soon as you open the door. It certainly is not the picture that is on here. The entrance to the hotel is a front door in the middle of a busy street. As you open the door you are greeted by a disgusting odour and then have to climb 2 flights of stairs to get to "reception" which looks dodgy and smells really bad. As it turns out I'm glad we didn't stay here as we would have wasted £94 and in fact when another guest who was staying there came out of his room he said that we had a lucky escape as the rooms were disgusting!! Don't go here. It's dirty smelly and the staff are very rude indeed!!!! Keep your money!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

"Standard Room, Shared Bathroom: For a good night's sleep, settle onto the pillowtop bed. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and satellite channels are offered for your entertainment. A coffee/tea maker and a refrigerator are supplied. You will have access to a shared bathroom, while your room has a sink and a hair dryer. Climate control, a ceiling fan, and a safe are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking." - Expedia.com
The above ad is not accurate. No pillowtop beds. Wireless internet from the hotel was rubbish. Fortunately the bank across the street has open WiFi you can use (perhaps that is what they were referring to). Access to the shared bathroom was fine until somone decided to lock themselves in the bathroom all night. Climate control means you have control over opening or shutting the terrace doors to the street below. There was no climate control or ceiling fan as described, and our request for a portable fan was answered with instruction on how to open the terrace door.

We were able to find the place easy enough. The enterence is secure, needing to be either buzzed in by the desk or have been issued a key, but the security ended there. Our room door did lock, but the locked door knob did not prevent the poorly fitted door from being opened with just a little wiggle of the locked door knob. The desk is not 24 hours as described. The whole building smelled musty/moldy. Upon checkin you are requred to pay upfront, after doing so we were told there was not a double available for the rate we had reserved. We had to settle for two twins, which we shoved together, and were some of the worst mattresses I have slept on in decades. The floor of the building felt as if it had several layers of carpet laid over eachother. Going down the stairs felt as if the carpet was almost shifting under your feet which was a little un-nerving. On the second floor where the desk is, the floor felt as if the carpet was the only thing keeping you from falling through it in some places. The room we stayed in was small. The terrace of the non-smoking room was littered with cigarette butts.
This place served as a dry roof over our heads that we booked at the last minute and little more. Certainly not worth half of what we paid.

Nothing to see here, move along.

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else. By American standards this place would probably not be suitible to be open for bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HooahWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I slept there 1 night with my mother, 81 years old. We were placed at floor 3. The stairs to climd and reach the room were too little and with moquette upon, so you never know if you put the foot right or no. Entering in the room we asled ourselves how to open the window, since he bed was against the window itself. A little desk was there but it was not possible to but thing upon it... I payed 117 EURO....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my granddaughter, who at the moment is sat beside me crying as she tells me about this Hotel which should be called a slum.
Her boyfriend wanted to surprise her at the last minute with a birthday trip to London to see a show, so this was booked quickly via Late bookings.com
When they arrived at said hotel were taken upstairs to a kitchen of sorts asked for there £94.00 room charge which they gave, then told no rooms available and would be taken to sister hotel called Tony,s when they got there they refused room due to dirty and smelly,phoned back to the Metro, was told to come back there as they now had room available due to moving someone out, this room was also dirty, smelly, had white substance all over the place, dirty throw over bed, they refused this room and asked for money back, manager Mr Tony said they cannot have money back. Granddaughter would not stay there so had to book elsewhere much nicer and this cost them another £130.00. On my investigation into reviews of this hotel, I found pictures of Cockroaches, and all rooms dirty, can only assume white powder was to try and kill all infestation.
Laterooms.com should be ashamed of themselves to be a party to advertising the rooms here.
I am now in the process of contacting the environmental health people to see what can be done about this hotel. All I can say is that you would not let an animal stay here, and I think its probably 1 a Brothel 2 a illegal immigrants hide out.
so beware and for warned.

Room Tip: do not even select this hotel, better to sleep on street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First of all...if you have any mobility issues, a pushchair or a lot of bags, this motel might not be right for you.

The motel is located at the top of a steep flight of stairs. Someone with mobility issues would have no way to get up the stairs and there is no elevator.

The person at the front desk was friendly enough and gave us a key to room 11, which had a double bed.

After not one, not two, not three (legs starting to ache!) not four but seven (!) flights of stairs we finally got to our room.

The room itself was small but had character. Our window overlooked a lot of London rooftops.

The bathroom was tiny but clean, they leave clean towels, soap, shampoo etc out on the bed for you.

The bedspread was stained (grease I think....and hope) but otherwise the room was clean and the sheets smelled freshly laundered.

They have a tv the size of a computer screen on top of a little in room fridge, which I thought was a nice addition to the room.

I had to see the American Embassy the next morning, and the hotel was at a good location for that and also the price was extremely reasonable. (£47 for two of us)

All in all I would recommend this hotel for someone that just needs a place to sleep and that won't be spending much time in the room itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#739 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#728 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Abbey Court Hotel
#770 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashley London
#887 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#783 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#632 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Property: Metro Hotel
Address: 7A Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #949 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing