We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of flavors and surprise”
Review of Lyle's

Lyle's
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/15
20:00
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #1,975 of 23,771 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Went there for lunch , i love the place and as well the open kitchen , the idea of seeing the chef prepare the dishes , i love that . We had 8 different dishes to share , and each dishes was a experience, full of flavors and well presented . I also loved the fact that every dish that was served was presented by the waiter or the chef . They truly deserved there 1 Michelin star.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank BlackandGold19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 183 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Visited them last night. The restaurant is good looking, comfortable and it is possible to talk without too much sound around you.

This was all the positive I could get.

Food was too little (menu is fixed), but above all it was simply dull. Not a flavour to remember and take home, no ingenuity, no originality.

Why on earth did they even appear on the radar of best restaurants?

Service has been poor, waiter brought initial appetizers, but no plates, and coffee with no spoons or sugar.

You definitively don't expect that at a 95 pounds per person restaurant llisted high in the rankings of the restarants of the world.

No, no, no.

Date of visit: April 2017
3  Thank jandipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

It's ironic that I should use the title of the 1988 Public Enemy song for the title of my review....

All of the fuss and pretension of any old guard fine dining establishment (expensive and cryptic menu, stuffy service etc.) with all of the predictable played out cliches of having to live up to being based in Shoreditch (clean sanitised industrial setting).

Terrible example of small plate format which builds up to an awkward sharing experience (how do you share a single quails egg? Ref. Asparagus dish) and an eye watering bill.

... All set to a Hiphop sound track.

Steer we'll clean and go to any of the St Johns instead.

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank jake_the_london_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Went with a friend for lunch and was surprised at the taste flavors they combined. The ice cream with goats cheese was fantastic, and the suggestion of pairing it with sake was sublime.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Aberdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This restaurant was a very poor choice for lunch. I found the choice of food extremely strange. One of the dishes, I actually couldn't eat at all. I ordered shrimps that were basically pan fried little shrimps presented in the plainest possible manner. The other two dishes were okay. I was surprised that the waiter didn't even bother asking why we were returning an almost untouched plate of food. She simply didn't care. I found the service extremely disappointing and the prices are far too high for what's on offer. In essence, I left the place highly unsatisfied, almost tempted to buy myself a sandwich from a local shop;-)

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Vaho V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyle's also viewed

 

Been to Lyle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.