We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience ”
Review of Lyle's

Lyle's
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/15
20:00
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #1,975 of 23,771 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Not really the type of food I'd go for but decided to try something different whilst on a night out in Shoreditch. The food was a four course tasting menu supplemented by the optional cheese course and a bottle of red wine. Everything was cooked exquisitely as you'd expect. My only comments would be that the red wine was served too cold, which I told the waiting staff to little avail either than the bottle bring decanted, and the 12.5% optional service charge added to the bill.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank garry4366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Our meal at Lyle's started out great with a few excellently prepared snacks and some of the best bread and butter we have had in ages. From there, we waited a short while for our appetizer - at which point, we realized our set menu that the staff left behind was out of date and we didn't know what we would be eating next! The appetizer was nice and a unique combination of flavors that I never would have guessed work so well together. After the appetizer, however, things went downhill. We waited over an hour for our next course without anyone stopping by to explain the delay, check in on us, etc. The next course arrived and it was only OK. The same can be said for the entree, which was also delayed in its arrival. By the time we made it to dessert, we were ready for bed! Dessert came out and was not what was described on the menu and was fairly underwhelming. It's clear this restaurant has potential with a unique combination of well-prepared dishes but it let us down.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank katrinagould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Visited here 3rd August as a couple interior is very tidy and clean with plenty of room not crammed in.Staff very attentive and helpful started with a courgette soup which is fresh and velvety.Mackerel seared was next which was tasty.We had plenty of bread which is sourdough with a wonderful crust and salted butter.Those dishes were not on the set menu but were a very pleasant addition by Lyles.The next was Girolles egg and mousserons which I would never order but again beautiful,pollack and smoked roe followed which had a seared crust again superb next was quail and grilled peach done in the wood oven absolutely tremendous the quail pink and moist such a great dish.We ended with blackcurrent ice cream a real palate cleaner fresh and vibrant.There is no rush to move you on and you feel no pressure the whole experience was top notch with a terrific background music of 80s ,we will definitely be back for more when back in London.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Was easy to find, great service- so friendly and walked us through the menu when we had no idea what some of it was.
Delicious food- very rich, quite small portions but it's about the flavour rather than the quantity.
some of it definitely wasn't my taste- but was with a friend who was visiting so we went there.
Menu changes all the time- according to season and availability so don't set your heart on the dishes too far in advance.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeebytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

First visit to Lyle's this evening following a recommendation from friends. It's a set 4 course dinner menu plus cheese if desired. We loved the food and the service was good too. The wine list was not so good and we struggled to get wine to our taste although we did manage to find something eventually.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank MarianneAlwaysWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyle's also viewed

 

Been to Lyle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.