We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #1,035 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Please avoid this hotel. Extremely untidy, old furniture, dust and dirt everywhere! Furniture is possibly picked up in a dump. Breakfast was terrible. When a cup dropped on the floor the hotel staff just picked it up and put back on table... Very noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aria91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

The entrance, staircase and bedroom carpets were threadbare and had not seen a hoover this year, the walls in the same areas needed a coat of paint. The room description said there were tea and coffee facilities in the room (not in our room or any of our friends), the curtains just about reached each side of the window. Toilet paper was so thin it was almost transparent and the metal stand for accommodating your personal belongings was totally inadequate and filthy dirty. One of our major concerns was the lack of information in the rooms, on the landings and staircase for the procedure should there be a fire, there were no external fire escapes and the only route down was the main staircase. Finally we have travelled to various places around the world but have never had to make our own tea and coffee at breakfast, even at self service breakfasts you are asked for your preference then this is brought to your table. My husband went up to make a drink and the kettle was empty, he then had to go into the kitchen and fill it himself. Would we stay there again NO NEVER. "Golden Oldies"

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldenOldies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I had to ask for toilet paper and was given tissues .. finally got a roll of toilet paper which was less than 1 ply. Was laying in bed in the afternoon relaxing and a member of staff just walked in .. didnt even knock. The place is untidy and a massive OH&S hazard .. no help offered with the bags and was always stuff i.e. dirty sheets and cleaning equipment in the stairs which were already quite narrow. Bonus was free WIFI. Room was reasonably quiet and a spare television that didnt work seemed to be stored in the room as well. On arrival that member of staff was friendly and polite but nobody else. Also on the last night people were up and about all night partying

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieLady40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Advantages:

* Cheap
* Clean
* Bed comfortable
* Ensuite small but functional
* Friendly staff
* Free wifi
* Reasonably quiet
* Location - good transport and food

Disadvantages:

* Cramped
* Lack of proper furniture - no wardrobe, chest of drawers, dressing table etc
* Room initally very very hot, but managed to turn radiator down
* Window didn't stay open all the way
* Grotty decor

Can't comment:

* Breakfast - didn't try

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Basic, no frills, budget priced hotel. No complaints, was a bit better than I was expecting for the price. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Close to Paddo tube-great. Cheap & cheerful but she says smelled of insecticide! Linen clean but bed-spread dodgy.Smelly shower curtain but bathroom ideal for the contortionists none the less. However there was something very amusing about this place. They had stuffed pink toilet paper all around perimeter of room between carpet & wall! Extracted a piece for further inspection but unable to come to any logical conclusion. Love their worki! Quiet despite day-time construction next door & some slamming of doors late at night. I'd come back but you know women!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel 2 years back and we came back because of the staff and manager were very helpful. When we came this time they have improved the rooms quality, service and cleanliness of the room. We really enjoyed staying here as it's very convenient location and very friendly staff and it's value for your money hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. David's Hotels
#659 of 1,077 in London
608 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington
Shakespeare Hotel
#656 of 1,077 in London
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Hotel
#613 of 1,077 in London
608 reviews
easyHotel Paddington London
#663 of 1,077 in London
877 reviews
Notting Hill
Bowden Court
Bowden Court
#788 of 1,077 in London
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: A 5 London Street, London W2 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,035 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £43 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sophia 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing