We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, budget price hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #1,042 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Polegate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Basic, budget price hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Basic, no frills, budget priced hotel. No complaints, was a bit better than I was expecting for the price. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    14
    20
    61
See reviews for
15
36
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Close to Paddo tube-great. Cheap & cheerful but she says smelled of insecticide! Linen clean but bed-spread dodgy.Smelly shower curtain but bathroom ideal for the contortionists none the less. However there was something very amusing about this place. They had stuffed pink toilet paper all around perimeter of room between carpet & wall! Extracted a piece for further inspection but unable to come to any logical conclusion. Love their worki! Quiet despite day-time construction next door & some slamming of doors late at night. I'd come back but you know women!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel 2 years back and we came back because of the staff and manager were very helpful. When we came this time they have improved the rooms quality, service and cleanliness of the room. We really enjoyed staying here as it's very convenient location and very friendly staff and it's value for your money hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

having missed a flight on standby at Heathrow at 10pm, I had a quick trip to PAddington to find a hotel, (any hotel!!!) to stay the night. I was tired, worn out and just needed a clean bed and a decent room.
Some kind soul saw me looking lost outside Paddington and directed me to the vicinity where the Hotel Sophia was and I just walked into it, looking no further...it was 11pm by then!
The Indian man at reception was helpful and friendly, gave me a double room for the price of a single. Even helped me to carry my luggage up the narrow flight of stairs.
The room was basic but acceptable. For the price, it was acceptable. Certainly, there was evidence of wear and tear but overall the room was clean and the bedding was fine. Sheets were clean and smelt freshly laundered. The tiny ensuite had marks on the walls but certainly not mouldy or smelly. The hot water was HOT....very soothing after a long day. Sleep was easy, with open windows and very little road noise....was in a room away from the road.
Breakfast was a simple affair but certainly sufficient in quantity. The food was fresh and edible. No problem there. The breakfast room was in the basement but it was ok. You get what you pay for.
Overall, the experience was acceptable for the price and locality

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrenceteoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Arrived late at night having been forced to stay in London after a 24 hour journey across europe escaping the consequences of volcanic ash. Charged £60 for a room with no curtain, that stank of mould, had crud in the carpet and a shower we dared not use. No wardrobe, or cupboards, but plenty of stains on the bed sheets. It was so bad, even after 24 hours of travelling, we left after a 3.5 hour kip to catch the earliest escape from Paddington station.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christelle37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We got moved to Hotel Sophia after a problem with a booking at another hotel. Well what can we say, we arrived in our room to find the bed cover had cigarette burns all over it, our carpet was underlayed with pink toliet paper and our smoke detector was stuffed with it!!! The cleaner appears to have forgotten how to use a vacuum cleaner and where the bathroom is. I think health and safety would have a field day here. Oh well we thought at least its a bed to sleep in, how wrong were we. Being close to a tube station definately has its draw backs and overnight engineering works below your bedroom window are the main one. It was an experiance to say the least, capped off by finding somebody sleeping in the breakfast room when we went down in the morning, needless to say we made rather a swift exit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redandwhite76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
603 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

Again i stumbled across this hotel which is round the corner of Paddington station or across the road from Heathrom Express/Connect and intercity rails. They had their price on board ie Stlg 45 for a single and this price do not flucuate towards the weekend as with many hotels which raise their price in tune with demand. The good thing about this hotel is value for money and convinience to the tube and fast food joints, pubs, indian, italian restaurants and good old Angus restaurant chain. The downsides is what you pay is what you get as the bedspread i had have a suspicous big blot, the bathroom tiles can look a tad grotty and the curtains/windows need a good wash. Because this is located on main road and near to St Mary Hospital you may get woken up by sirens of ambulances. As for transport there is a bus that goes to British Museum at Russel Square which traverse through Oxford Street and Bond Street which is good sighting without the need to pay the exobitant open decker buses.

You get a complimentary continent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#779 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashley London
#895 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#619 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: A 5 London Street, London W2 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,042 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sophia 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing