We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Spielburger

Spielburger
Ranked #6,997 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Description: Our burgers are made from the finest quality beef, good enough for the Queen! They are a course ground mix of chuck and 28 day dry aged rib cap from pure breed Aberdeen Angus cattle. They are served on soft brioche buns, with baby gem lettuce, tomato, red onion and pickle. Our chips are of the Agria variety, the king of crisping potatoes, hand cut daily. A big thanks to Adrian Stoddard of Belsize Kitchen, our burgers wouldn't be our burgers without you
Restaurant details
Description: Our burgers are made from the finest quality beef, good enough for the Queen! They are a course ground mix of chuck and 28 day dry aged rib cap from pure breed Aberdeen Angus cattle. They are served on soft brioche buns, with baby gem lettuce, tomato, red onion and pickle. Our chips are of the Agria variety, the king of crisping potatoes, hand cut daily. A big thanks to Adrian Stoddard of Belsize Kitchen, our burgers wouldn't be our burgers without you
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is faultless. Great atmosphere, lovely fresh food, attentive service. Cost for two people £25.00.

We had a House Burger with Cheddar Cheese, Fries and Onion Rings and 2 Beers.

It was the best Burger I have eaten. This concept will expand so if you are in NW3 give them your custom.

If you like Burgers then you will not regret it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    10
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Themed Burger Joint”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When Spielburger opened next to the Everyman Cinema in Hampstead we thought what a clever idea, as for those looking for a more substantial snack/meal prior to visiting the cinema the choices are limited. We went on a Friday early evening and found the place reasonably busy, people visiting should note, the menu is limited – i.e. only 2 or 3 types of burgers, 1 fisher finger burger and 1 chicken type burger. Also limited are the drinks available. There is nothing wrong with this as long as they do what they offer well. I had the Hot Burger and it lived up to the description, the burger was meant to be cooked rare/medium, ours were more on the medium side. The soft brioche bun is fine, but the issue is it gets soggy with the weight of the burger, sauces etc. so is a challenge to eat – this explains why you get a roll of kitchen roll on the table, you need it.

We had the chips both classic and sweet potato both were good additions, but be warned, you have to pay extra for chips etc on top of the burger prices which start at £8, for a meal for 2 with beer/wine our bill was a modest £32, which for Hampstead is a cheap meal!

Overall the food was very good, it is a good themed burger place for grabbing a bite and as I told my wife, better than Mac D’s!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller999UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Hampstead dining scene!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Delicious burger, sweet potato chips not the best but still very nice. Recommend the homemade lemonade.
Unlike most trendy newly opened burger joints in London, there is no queue out the door (we went at 7.30 on a Tuesday).
Service was excellent, attentive yet not intrusive, the staff were very friendly.
£30 two burgers, two sides, a beer and a homemade lemonade.
Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers, great chips”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

New place on the high street, great location (right by the cinema) and really nice design, feels very diner-like and goes well with the Tarantino soundtrack.
Service is very good, staff are friendly and attentive.
Food is the best part - the burgers are delicious, and the chips are the best ones I've had in London. They have this home made lemonade which is quite nice and refreshing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Here is the Spiel about the Burger !”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The New Restaurant Spielburger in Hampstead has only just opened and I loved the Classic Burger cooked to perfection made from pure bred Aberdeen Angus Beef .The Hamburger came in a delicious soft brioche bun served with baby gem lettuce tomato red onion and pickle ! All very Yummy ! The Chips and Onion Ring sides were yummy too ! The Decor was fun too and impeccable service from the smiley Italian waitress who served me with a delicious Argentinian glass of Malbec Santa Ana Red Wine ! I will definitely go back with my family !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watermelondreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spielburger also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Spielburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing