We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at Q”
Review of On the Roof With Q - CLOSED

On the Roof With Q
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunch at Q”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have always loved Selfridges so was looking forward to dining in their new restaurant on the roof - Q. You have to book a table as it gets very busy. You can have breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner. We went for lunch. It was busy, the waiters were attentive and our orders were taken promptly. The food is cooked in view. I had the Q burger whilst my guests had the tiger prawns and the ribs. I had the lemon posset which was very tasty! The food was very enjoyable and it was a very pleasant roof top setting, the day was sunny and we could see the tops of some of London's skyline. Service is included in the bill and it was averagely priced for the West End. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    33
    15
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great view for lunch ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch. Had the pepper steak. The menu is not massive, but easy to find something most people would like. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The view is great. I really liked the open kitchen you can see your food being cooked.

Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We went to celebrate my husbands birthday and I was pleased. To choose this restaurant food was delicious service great and ambiance amazing.
I will recommend Q to my friends and visitors from abroad and will go often to it
Well done Q and thank you for the lovely night

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alya45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

From the start at the lift on the ground floor we were surprised at how unprofessional the staff were, chatting away to each other ! On arrival on the 5th floor, no clear signs welcoming you . The nice lady at reception explained as we were early we could go and sit at the bar and have a drink. The staff did not go out of their way ( except for the reception lady) to make you feel welcome especially as it is in such a famous store! You could have been sitting anywhere in that roof , was not as though there were sights to see. Sitting at the bar was like sitting in a tornado was so windy, we were too early for our table so went back down to shop as too cold and did not return to eat as friend was too cold. Would not return in a hurry !

Helpful?
Thank ElleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Actually 3.5 stars”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Took my wife as part of her birthday weekend in London. We did enjoy our visit but the problem I with the restaurant is it's identity. Is it an up market restaurant or a trendy BBQ and burger bat? Well it actually falls somewhere in between. The rooftop location is novel although the view is actually fairly limited and thankfully the weather was good, but there are sliding covers just in case. The food is good in a BBQ / burger style. We both had a flat iron steak and enjoyed it but it was not spectacular. The main problem (if that's the righty word) was the service. It was efficient enough, although our drinks were forgotten for a while, but it was just to casual, certainly more burger bar than restaurant. At £54 for two it wasn't really expensive given the location but in a way it was. Maybe I'm too old to appreciate trendy and that maybe the problem. We enjoyed the experience and would recommend but don't expect an upmarket restaurant meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterChipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On the Roof With Q also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing