We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, helpful staff good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
Ranked #187 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location behind the National Gallery. It is good modern hotel with clean compact rooms. I was slightly disappointed that when I booked this there was no mention of the work that is still going on, that said the staff were very helpful and just as frustrated as I was that the work had not been completed. The work however did not interfere in a noisy way just slight inconvenience with workmen still working on some bedrooms and fitting tiles to the reception desk. There were complementary drinks and free cheese and wine evening and breakfast is free too so they are doing then best to compensate for the late finish of the hotel. I must say that the rooms are comfortable but the bed is a little too small for my husband who is 6ft 3ins, his feet were touching the wall!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet road so I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joulescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have just had a couple of nights at this hotel. I have stayed at Z Soho but gave this a whirl as it was a bit cheaper, and for me, it actually proved to be a more useful location - buses and taxis easily available on Haymarket.

Only open a couple of weeks now and construction work still going on, but frankly it didn't diminish my stay at all. I selected a double room which is very well designed. The beds tend to have one side against a wall, and this was no exception. Fine for me as I was alone, but it can be a bit of a drag with two. Room has excellent blackout blinds, coupled with comfortable bed afforded me two excellent nights' sleep. The hotel has lots of added value; in room tea/coffee making facility, Sky tv, hairdryer, free wifi throughout hotel, complimentary cheese and wine in the evenings, and frankly throughout the day. The staff here are friendly and attentive, creating a very welcoming atmosphere and nice vibe in the communal area.

Room Tip: According to a fellow guest I spoke to, you may not wish to be within one or two rooms of the lift i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisewoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Disarmingly charming staff who couldn't be more helpful. Free champagne or wine and cheese board on arrival. Small but perfectly formed rooms with lots of clever design details like storage for your suitcase under your bed, two and three pin plug sockets for travellers and hangars and pegs instead of a wardrobe. Clever wet room for a bathroom with lovely fluffy towels. And above all a very reasonable room rate. Just delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeyouthereinabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked this place last minute for two nights, so many great things to say!

As per other reviews there is still work going on here, but don't be worried about noisy builders, banging and drilling as none of this is going on. There's obviously some bits that need finishing but don't let this sway you into booking a room here.

Check in - very easy, friendly and efficient staff. Had a complimentary glass of champers and was offered to pop down for further drinks during my stay.

Location - on a side street right off the main road running through Piccadilly Circus, pretty much within walking distance of everything. I had a room facing the side street and did get disturbed early morning by deliveries, although this is to be expected given it's London!

Room - amazing! could still smell that new paint smell, i could have easily been the first person in the room. Massive tv with HD channels, great little bathroom and shower. Bed was comfy and the black out blinds did a great job. Free wifi which was a decent speed and was very easy to connect to. (see my photos, room was a very funky layout)

For the quality of service and stay, not to mention the great rate i paid, I'm definitely going to book this place again, by far the best place i've stayed in London to date.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemPepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Have just come back from London and stayed overnight at this hotel.
Although not completely finished,the hotel was still being refurbished we still had a great stay, the rooms were finished to a high standard, free sky TV, free wifi, complimentary toiletries, use of hair dryer in room even had phone charger if you forget your own.
The room is compact which was ok for us as we was only staying overnight but if you have large suitcases it might be a squeeze, if you are sharing the room with a friend just a warning the shower cubicle has frosted glass and you can see the shape of person inside , you might want to wear swimwear in the shower if you prefer privacy.there is no wardrobe just five hangers on wall for those who bring a lot of clothes
Overall I would book again because is near the theatres and few yards from Piccadilly and Leicester square, this hotel is ideal for one or two nights stay

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night here on business. The hotel has only been open one week and there is still work going on but the staff were so friendly and attentive. The rooms are tiny and very clean. Perfect for a bed and shower for the night. Sple continental buffet croissants , coffee and muffins.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank AislingRamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although the hotel was not finished and behind schedule, our room was amazing, not too small and finished to a very high standard. The staff could not do more for you, they went out of their way to make sure our stay was excellent. Complimentary champagne, wine, water, cheese and biscuits. As the kitchen was not fully installed there was a delivery of croissants, muffins and juice etc delivered to our room the next morning. The other major + for this hotel is the location. a minutes walk from Piccadilly circus and Leicester Square. I cannot recommend this hotel and staff enough. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika R, General Manager at The Z Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Michelle,

It is such a pleasure to hear that your stay was great!
I am delighted that you were well looked after and hope to meet you personally and welcome to The Z Hotel Piccadilly in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dominika Rylska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#370 of 1,081 in London
1,755 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#93 of 1,081 in London
1,011 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#539 of 1,081 in London
217 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Piccadilly

Address: 2 Orange Street, London WC2H 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £91 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Z Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing