We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
Ranked #180 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Way too small”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The only way I would recommend this hotel is a) if you're traveling alone and b) if you're only staying one night.There is no room to unpack anything, there is hardly any room to put a suitcase. The "bathroom" is cornered off by glass and offers zero privacy.

What the hotel does have going for it is the amazing location (which is why they charge so much for what they offer). Its as central as you can get. Quick walk to charing cross, trafalgar square, west end and covent garden. But it is way way too small to get much credit beyond this.

One other problem we had - some guy came into our room without knocking. He wasn't wearing a uniform (he appeared to be doing some kind of construction). It was very weird and the room has NO SAFE.

They offer tea, coffee, snacks and I believe wine in the evening which is nice, and the staff is friendly, but the food wasn't that good. Also it was difficult communicating with staff because most of them didn't speak english strongly.

My suggestion would be to explore options in covent garden.

Room Tip: There isn't any view to speak of in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missallypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika R, General Manager at The Z Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Z hotel Piccadilly and taking your time to write about your experience.
Am really disappointed that we have failed to following our procedure when entering guest bedrooms, I can assure you that after reading your feedback we have ensured procedures were reinforced again. I am sorry to hear that you have found your room too small, however we do offer larger rooms and we are very honest with our rooms.
Am glad that you have found the location your needs and found it easy accessible to get to your chosen destinations.
In terms of food, we will soon publish a sandwich and salad menu, and different options available.
Thanks once again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Salah
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    378
    89
    27
    20
See reviews for
115
562
88
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked into the hotel for a night out in London, check in and staff very friendly, very keen for us to join them for their free wine and cheese tasting event that evening. Rooms small but perfectly formed. We didn't make the tasting or breakfast but for a one night stopover it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peepo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika R, General Manager at The Z Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in The Z Hotel Piccadilly.
We offer affordable compact luxury and efficient style of procedures, having to hear that we achieved our goals makes us very satisfied. Our rooms are compact, needless to say we do offer larger Queen Rooms but having the city under your doorstep, you don’t need to stay in your room. If you haven’t a plan for the evening, come to our living room and enjoy complimentary cheese and wine.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Salah
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

What a great find. My friend and i stayed there for 3 days. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful bunch i have come across. They really seemed to enjoy their jobs.
The rooms as stated are small but adequate for a few nights stay. The shower and toilet is all frosted glass so if you are sharing as friends...you need to be close friends, luckily this wasnt an issue and the frosted glass does give privacy. The rooms are modern, well designed and appointed. The tv is brill! Location wise, its a couple of streets away from Leicester Square so cant be beat.
Each afternoon at 5 they serve wine cheese and buscuits which we really enjoyed as a perk plus we got to meet other hotel guests. We booked through bookings.com and got a very reasonable price.
All in all i would stay there in a shot!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SimonMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for one night last night in a double room. Small rooms, exactly as advertised. Very comfy bed, big TV with all the sky channels you could want. Storage space under bed and places to hang clothes on the wall. Neat little bathroom, good water pressure in the shower and good towels. Great value, friendly staff. the breakfast / café area looked good, unfortunately I did not have time to enjoy breakfast there.

Will be back here again, great value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was on my own and needed a room for one night near Covent Garden. After a long search online I decided to try the Z Hotel for its location and price. It was a perfect choice! The hotel only opened a month ago so it's not yet 100% operational. They were offering free drinks and a free pre-theatre cheese buffet which I thought was a great idea.
First positive impression was the brightly lit corridor leading to the rooms. The rooms are tiny, but have everything you need. A comfy double bed with fluffy pillows and lovely bedding, hangers on the wall for clothes and a spotless (tiny) bathroom with walk-in shower. Big TV screen. Good lighting. Clean dark timber flooring. Tea and coffee making tray and 2 bottles of water . Most important, the hotel is on a very quiet narrow road off Haymarket and with triple glazing you can't hear a peep. Another plus is the individually controlled air-con and the noise insulation inside the hotel. So quiet, I slept blissfully just a stone's throw away from noisy Picadilly Circus and Leicester Square! You can walk to all the attractions of Central London and the West End.
The reception is actually the (tiny) counter in the small but adequate breakfast room on the ground floor. All staff was very friendly.
So, in spite of its smallness, this is a perfect cool/hip hotel for a couple of nights in London.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hi I have to say I was extremely impressed with this little hide away.....perfect location and staff extremely friendly and helpful....yes the rooms are small but they are very clean and functional and all we wanted was to sleep and wash so it was perfect for us....the reception is very welcoming and I can't thank the staff enough for being so helpful and having complimentary drinks on arrival when we came back late at night and breakfast was lovely. Only downside was that our air conditioning didn't work but we didn't complain and when we told reception they said sorry and that we should have rung because they would've fixed it. It wasn't a problem though as we were tired and we didn't go here for the views in the room or to use the room for anything other than sleeping. Would highly recommend this hotel if you need an overnight in London very good value for money too.

Room Tip: Small rooms but they are functional clean and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley.gibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I can't begin to describe how perfect this hotel was. While the rooms may be very small, the amazing and accommodating staff, perfect customer service, and great location made up for it all... everything was fantastic! I would definitely go back again and again and again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,088 in London
1,589 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Piccadilly

Property: The Z Hotel Piccadilly
Address: 2 Orange Street, London WC2H 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Z Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing