We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
Ranked #187 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I found this hotel priced at £75 for the night, for the location 5 mins walk from Picadilly was fantastic value. For once the reviews all seem to be accurate!
We arrived early in the day too early for check in so the helpful staff stored our bags while we walked around town until the evening. Once we got back we were told about the free cheese and wine between 5 and 8, which was totally unexpected and a great bonus.
We checked in to the room which is best described as “compact”. The double bed touches the walls, where there is a huge TV with full Sky channels, a side table with coffee making facilites and a frosted glass wet room/toilet. Clearly they have tried to fit as much in as possible and though tight did not feel cramped. Everything in the entire hotel looked and smelt (carpets) brand new (we later found out the hotel had only been open a month and a half).
We decided to skip the £7.50 for breakfast as there are plenty around for that price or less but if the cheese and wine were anything to go by it was probably very good.

The staff were all friendly and very helpful. If you're looking for a well located place to crash Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyrahna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

As long as you are expecting very small rooms approx 2m wide by 4 m long you will enjoy this hotel, the rooms are very well thought out a nice powerful shower , good quality thick bath towels, there is no wardrobe space just 4 hangers hooked on the wall, good breakfast well worth the £8.50 and the complimentary cheese and wine between 1700 and 2000 a great bonus and a good selection.
The staff were all very friendly, and efficient, looking to return soon!

Room Tip: Basement rooms have no windows but are cheaper I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank w6jed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location for visiting 'Theatreland'. Just a few minutes walk to Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square. Comfortable, compact rooms, new hotel but spotlessly clean nevertheless, Very welcoming and friendly staff. We had a queen sized room with window which was excellent, smaller windowless rooms are available at lower prices.Limited space to hang clothes but for a short break not a problem.We visit London to see shows probably twice a year and would not hesitate to return here. Having read other reviews I would agree that the (frosted) glass paneled en-suite offers little privacy, but just turn up the excellent TV!

.

Room Tip: Personally, I would go for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent short stay hotel. Having read the reviews we expected it would be compact and stylish and friendly. And it was.
Yes, small compact rooms, but very modern, very comfy. As they tell you, perfect for a couple of days low luggage city break.
And yes, very friendly and helpful staff, yes, the continental breakfast is great, yes they do complimentary wine and cheese!
And this one near Piccadilly is so well positioned.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve_thePeaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

For the price you pay you can't expect better in central London.

Rooms are quite small, but really nice and with everything you need, only downside is that the toilet is with glass window and you can eat everything, so not really comfortable.

The staff is really nice and helpful.

Free water and drinks and from 4 to 8 you get free cheese wine and beer...it's a nice touch and I felt it was a really nice idea.

Recommend it to business ppl, or to someone who doesent need much space in the room and want to be right in the center.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bask87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The only way I would recommend this hotel is a) if you're traveling alone and b) if you're only staying one night.There is no room to unpack anything, there is hardly any room to put a suitcase. The "bathroom" is cornered off by glass and offers zero privacy.

What the hotel does have going for it is the amazing location (which is why they charge so much for what they offer). Its as central as you can get. Quick walk to charing cross, trafalgar square, west end and covent garden. But it is way way too small to get much credit beyond this.

One other problem we had - some guy came into our room without knocking. He wasn't wearing a uniform (he appeared to be doing some kind of construction). It was very weird and the room has NO SAFE.

They offer tea, coffee, snacks and I believe wine in the evening which is nice, and the staff is friendly, but the food wasn't that good. Also it was difficult communicating with staff because most of them didn't speak english strongly.

My suggestion would be to explore options in covent garden.

Room Tip: There isn't any view to speak of in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank missallypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika R, General Manager at The Z Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Z hotel Piccadilly and taking your time to write about your experience.
Am really disappointed that we have failed to following our procedure when entering guest bedrooms, I can assure you that after reading your feedback we have ensured procedures were reinforced again. I am sorry to hear that you have found your room too small, however we do offer larger rooms and we are very honest with our rooms.
Am glad that you have found the location your needs and found it easy accessible to get to your chosen destinations.
In terms of food, we will soon publish a sandwich and salad menu, and different options available.
Thanks once again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Salah
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked into the hotel for a night out in London, check in and staff very friendly, very keen for us to join them for their free wine and cheese tasting event that evening. Rooms small but perfectly formed. We didn't make the tasting or breakfast but for a one night stopover it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peepo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika R, General Manager at The Z Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in The Z Hotel Piccadilly.
We offer affordable compact luxury and efficient style of procedures, having to hear that we achieved our goals makes us very satisfied. Our rooms are compact, needless to say we do offer larger Queen Rooms but having the city under your doorstep, you don’t need to stay in your room. If you haven’t a plan for the evening, come to our living room and enjoy complimentary cheese and wine.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Salah
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#370 of 1,081 in London
1,756 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#93 of 1,081 in London
1,014 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#539 of 1,081 in London
217 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Piccadilly

Address: 2 Orange Street, London WC2H 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £92 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Z Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing