We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family holiday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #231 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family holiday stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Wonderful hotel in an excellent central location from where to explore London. Popular hotel but never experienced any disturbances. Stayed with young kids (8 and 11 years) in spacious family room will definitely recommend. The little touches (espresso machine, constant hot chocolate and espresso refills, free internet, 2 TV's) in the room definitely an added bonus.

Room Tip: When booking ask for an outside facing room as some of the rooms faced inwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyzellSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,963
    2,279
    584
    216
    132
See reviews for
3,166
1,795
212
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

A smaller hotel than it's sister, the Park Plaza Westminster just across the road, but equally good value. Reception staff are helpful, pleasant and efficient, check-in and out only taking a few minutes.

The room was spacious with a fabulous view of the London Eye - particularly impressive when lit up in blue at night. The furniture and fittings were a little downmarket for this standard of hotel, but if you like IKEA stuff then you would be happy. The hotel is relatively new for London and so the furniture still looked smart and was functional. However, as with most IKEA-like goods, give it a couple of years and it will look worn and broken!

My wife and I only stayed one night and went out to eat rather than using the restaurant so I am unable to comment on the food (the room did have a microwave with crockery/cutlery so it would have been possible to eat in).

The bed was very comfortable, if a little small and the room was very well sound-proofed so there were no traffic noises during the night - essential in central London.

Overall a very nice experience - nothing special but still very nice and good value for London

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caesar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Park Plaza County Hall.

I am happy to hear that you had a good experience with us, and enjoyed the view towards the London Eye and Big Ben. The view at night towards these iconic sights is amazing, so I am pleased that you were able to experience it.

Please rest assured that our furnishings are of a high quality standard and are maintained at a regular basis. This is to ensure that it remains at a good quality, so thank you for mentioning that it looked very smart and functional.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and I hope we are able to welcome you back to Park Plaza County Hall in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shelley Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My partner and I stayed in a deluxe room for 5 days. The room was a nice size, bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice and big, plus most importantly very clean. View of the London eye was beautiful at night.
The staff were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces.
The gym was really good, had the latest equipment and always kept clean.
Breakfast was included in our stay and we always looked forward to waking up and a hearty breakfast. Food was fresh and the chef was more then happy to cook my eggs just the way I like it.

Location could not have been better. Away from the hussell and bussell, but still within walking distance to all the attractions and underground train stations.
Will definitely stay there again when I go to London again.

Thanks for the fantastic hospitality..!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natters82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write an amazing review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and pleased that the room and view towards the London Eye exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast, and also our Chef cooking your eggs perfectly - I have passed your feedback onto the Food and Beverage team regarding this.

On behalf of the entire team at Park Plaza County Hall, I would like to thank you for your review, and we hope to see you next time you are in London.

Kind regards,

Shelley Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury lancs
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay in London, main reason for our visit was a theatre trip. I booked two nights at the the Park Plaza County Hall and got a good deal from one of the many discount web sites advertised on TV.

We arrived early but were pleasantly surprised to be told that our room was available, this meant we could freshen up and get out to start exporing the area.
The hotel is in a superb location for most of the attractions on the South Bank (Sea Life, London Eye etc) but the Palace of Westminster, Whitehall,Horse Guards, Westminster Abbey and other famous sites are all within easy reach over Westminster Bridge. Thames sight-seeing cruises depart from Westminster Pier just over the river which is also very convenient.

Our room was on the 13th floor with fantastic views over Westminster and the Thames, all dominated by the London Eye which looks all the more spectacular at night as do most of the other famous buildings which are really beautiful.
Room was very well-appointed, as other reviewers have commented, with climate control and an excellent bathroom.

Without a doubt the biggest asset for this hotel is the staff, all of whom went out of their way to make us feel welcome and looked-after.
As an example.....we enjoyed a drink in the bar on our last night and my wife ordered a Bloody Mary. The barman served our drinks and went back to his duties, but must have been looking for my wifes' reaction (she found the cocktail a little too spicy) as, without being summoned he returned, very concerned that all wasn't well. The drink was replaced speedily and courteously, leaving us both very impressed.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice to cater for the "Full English" devotees, but also an extensive array of cold meats, cheeses,fruit and pastries.

Overall we were extremely impressed and will definitely return once the Olympics are over with, so a special mention to the following who have left us with happy memories of the Park Plaza.

Grace and Emma on Reception, very friendly, helpful and efficient.

Gary the Concierge for providing us with so much good information and advice yet shrugged off our thanks saying he was just doing his job....you are a star!

Sara and Katalin, our two lovely breakfast waitresses who were very efficient yet had more than enough time each morning for a chat and a smile, thank you both.x

Last but not least the excellent barman Iilya (sorry if the spelling is wrong), very good and attentive service and a superb Bellini, thanks very much.

We are already looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
I hope our other potential guests enjoy your local recommendations on the area and the hotel is perfectly located and in easy reach of all the attractions of London.

What is more pleasing is the individual members of the team you have taken the time to acknowledge by name, I am sure they will be touched by your comments.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back after the Olympics
Andre Read-Kontou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I booked this hotel through one of the websites offering "secret hotels", so I paid 85 for a standard double room. On arrival the staff very welcoming chatting to those waiting to check in and offered a taster of cosmopolitan cocktail. During check in the member of staff again very helpful and noted how I had booked and said they had upgraded me to a studio room "to encourage you to return to us" which I thought was a lovely touch.
The room: as you entered you had a good sized double bed very comfortable and a large bathroom, with bath and separate walk in shower which was very big.
Through the bedroom was a lounge area with sofa and large TV - there was a second TV in the bedroom area as well. Attached to the lounge was a small kitchenette with microwave, fridge, kettle and crockery.
The room was spotless and a very good size. Not the greatest of view it overlooked the car park, but being on the first floor that is to be expected in London. To get a good view here I would think at least 4/5th floor.
I ordered room service it arrived within 15 minutes. Calamari, it was excellent, large pieces, not chewy or stringy beautiful.
I did not eat or drink in the bar / restaurant but went and had a look and it looked as good as the rest of the hotel.
What could they do better?: bigger bath towels, they were an adequate size but not voluminous like some places.!!!
Overall a lovely hotel and very easy for transport and seeing London. I will definitely return and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enny011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Were glad you enjoyed our taster cocktails and your complimentary upgrade. We have passed your recommendations in regards to the larger towels to our executive housekeeper. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you or your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back in the not to distance future.

Kind Regards
Andre Read-Kontou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here in August of 2010 with a friend...Only 2 nights but the hotel was clean, offered modern amenities, in close walking distance to almost everything worth seeing, and staff was friendly. All in all I'd recommend it to someone staying a couple of days in central London. Hotel doesn't offer parking but there is a paid parking garage right around the corner. Only complaint was that you could hear the cleaning ladies slamming doors pretty early and make sure you double check your bill upon check-out...almost got charged for someone elses meal.....Other than that it was a restful stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in August with us at Park Plaza County Hall.
Although you were only able to stay for two nights, I am glad that you enjoyed your time and that you found the team to be friendly. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your feedback regarding the Housekeeping team and also your invoice, and these comments will be passed on to the relevant teams.
We hope that you had a safe trip home, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza County Hall in the future!

Kind regards,
Shelley Martin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We managed to snap up a very good rate on this hotel which put it one up to start with. Then when we got to our room, to see the view out the window close up of the London Eye was amazing. We were only there for one night, but we loved the fact that it was updated and modern (though certainly no designer hotel, you'd pay five times the price for that in London) and well located. The area around the hotel was good for a walk out to have a bite to eat and all in all a good choice for London, provided you get a good deal. London hotels are so overpriced to start with, that is actually key to any hotel there. Do your research and absolutely do not pay the standards rates anywhere, there are so many ways to avoid doing so.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us on the Trip Advisor website. I would like to thank you for your genuine feedback. I am sure that travellers will appreciate the description of our rooms and surrounding areas, as well as the highlights of our brilliant location.

If your travels bring you to London again, we would love the opportunity to host you on your next visit.

King regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Property: Park Plaza County Hall London
Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing