We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza County Hall London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #214 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

It was our first family vacation to London, and it was indeed the perfect choice to stay at this hotel. The Waterloo tube station is just a five minutes walk around the corner, and a number of buses are available at the the bus stop nearby.

We were greeted by Jessica at the reception, who was very warm & friendly. Having read the tips from tripadvisor, I requested for a room with a view on the higher floors, away from the lift.
Check-in was smooth, and she was very kind to upgrade us (in conjunction with our 10th wedding anniversary) to a Executive Studio room on the 13th floor with a stunning view of the London Eye & Big Ben. It was the ideal room for us with 2 young kids. The sofa at the living area is also a pull out bed, where the kids slept on. There is a microwave with kitchenware, and also an expresso machine with complimentary capsules of different flavours.

When we were back later in the evening, we were plesantly surprised with a personalized card from Jessica with her well wishes for our anniversary. Even at check-out, Jessica remembered us and asked how did we celebrate our anniversary, and also asked if our room was satisfactory. We assured her our room was fabulous and that we look forward to staying at the hotel again, perhaps next year.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful, and greeted us with a smile. The bonus for the kids is the goodie bag which comes with restaurant cash vouchers, redeemable for ice cream and juices.

To Jessica and the management of Park Plaza County Hall London, a big thank you for making our London trip a fantastic experience. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexWMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear AlexWMK,

Your review was read over and over again, especially for Jessica who was glowing with pride. In our back office there is a big poster with your review and the words “Wow- Go Jessica”! I can’t thank you enough for this review and once again Happy anniversary. I wish you all future anniversaries the same.

Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,877
    2,187
    552
    207
    124
See reviews for
3,054
1,755
199
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed for one night on Friday. Receptionist who checked us in so very friendly and really made us feel welcome. The room was absolutely fantastic. The view of the Eye and Big Ben breathtaking (floor 10) - especially lit up at night. Exceptionally clean throughout. Comfortable bedrooms, very modern bathroom and well equipped kitchenette with sink and fridge. Breakfast: amazing choice of full English or Continental. Even something for the fussy 8 year old. Just one problem - nobody wanted to leave the room to do the sightseeing that we had come for! Location could not have been better for all the sights/underground. Would definately recommend and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Auntiep1

Thank you! This is the experience that we are wishing for all our guests and we are all trying our best in delivering this type of service. I am absolutely delighted that you saw us exactly how we are; friendly service, clean rooms and lots of choices for breakfast.

On behalf of Park Plaza County Hall team, I sincerely thank you for your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I booked this as a gift to my partner. We had planned a lovely day with a Michelin restaurant, a nice hotel and a show at the Southbank. Everything was perfect except the hotel.

I upgraded to a suite as I felt from the description that this would come with a view of the river, Big Ben, etc. To say I was disappointed when I entered the room would be a massive understatement, my view consisted of 400 rooms of the sister hotel opposite. It was always going to be difficult to turn around this very negative first impression, but even more so when the fridge broke after 30 seconds. To get over my disappointment with the room I thought I would have a beer from the fridge, it would not open. 20 minutes later someone had come up to fix it, and they were very friendly, but nevertheless it was annoying.

Whilst there was nothing majorly wrong with the hotel there were lots of small things which led to a very disappointing experience overall:

• There were no bath salts/bubble bath
• There were no biscuits/chocolates to have with the coffee
• The bed was by the door rather than at the back of the room meaning at night and in the morning it was very noisy
• The large sofa was incredibly uncomfortable
• You couldn’t have the sofa side lamp on as it made a terrible high pitched noise
• The lift was way too slow, at check out it was so busy that we could not enter the lift until the 4th time it came to our floor as it was so busy
• Whilst the pizza my partner ordered after the show was OK my choice was terrible, glazed chicken wings which still had so many hairs on they must have been incredibly cheap and a spicy chicken wrap with any form of spiciness missing. In fact I had asked when booking to include extra chili, which I was assured would come on the side, but it did not.

Service was consistently very good, with the staff willing to help and friendly, which at least was one positive to take away.

Room Tip: I guess clarify in advance whether it is a 'room with a view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGooner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear TristanOxford,

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments regarding our team.

On a different note, I was disappointed to learn of the negative elements that impacted your stay with us. I do apologies for the few issues that could have been avoided. Please rest assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously by us and addressed with the Kitchen and Maintenance departments.

In regards with your room allocation, some of our Studio rooms have a view of the city or of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge Hotel. Being a very busy period there was no possibility for us to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a London Eye view room and to an Executive Studio room which would also have more amenities.

Hope to be able to welcome you again here at Park Plaza County Hall.


Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Rooms perfect for families. Views over London Eye & Big Ben great. Kids always excited to be staying at this hotel. Staff very friendly & efficient & helpful. I left some valuable stuff behind when we checked out & the housekeeping staff posted them on to me. Very helpful indeed.

Room Tip: Try & get the view of the London Eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Leigh,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review with such a perfect title. We are a very good choice for families with kids and we do offer the same service for kids as for their parents. A happy kid makes a happy parent. I am glad also that my colleagues from Housekeeping sent you back the forgotten item.

Thank you again for your review and hope to see you back soon.



Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay in this fabulous hotel.
There were 5 of in the party ranging from 70 down to 6 years old.
I booked about 4 weeks ago and from the moment i booked the customer service from Agnes Toth was outstanding.
On arrival the staff were superb and i had mentioned it was my dads 70th birthday that day and we all recived a room upgrade with London eye views and my Dad a complementary bottle of wine. My 6 year old son was also pleased as he was handed a pack containing goodies including his own 'park plaza' money to spend at the bar on icecream etc.
This hotel is perfectly located if you wish to visit Westminster, the London eye, sea life and the Imperial war museum as all are within easy walking distance for both 70 year olds and 6 year olds!
The spectrum restaurant is gorgeous, we ate there last night and both the food and staff excelled.
I cant rate this hotel highly enough and would not hesitate to book again when visiting London.
Well done to all, you should be very proud and you also made my dads 70th one to remeber!!

Helpful?
Thank nickyj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Nickyij40

Wow, I am delighted that your family enjoyed our hotel so much and you will be back to us. We always share these review with all our team and we are all proud to be part of it. Thank you

Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed Friday night with a friend and 2 children booked a family studio, quick easy and very friendly check in, the kids loved the goodie bags and vouchers for sweets and drink. Room was perfect sofa bed was comfortable, lovely bath and shower really gorgeous room with lovely city view on the 13th floor. Perfect location we walked to Buckingham Palace, Eye just across road next to Aquarium and when we left on sat we walked to Leicester square to see Mama Mia. Fab breakfast and the kids ate free which was even better. Loved the espresso machine in room must get one ! thanks so much fab memories of a wonderful stay . we will be back !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear SuffolkMaria,

First and foremost, thank you for staying with us and for your review. We do have one of the best locations in London and I am glad that you chose to stay with us and our team made you feel welcomed. Looking forward to welcome you back and hope you will enjoy the new espresso machine.

Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a really good stay at the park plaza county hall. Room was lovely with great view of city. Staff all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu140779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for the glowing review. From all the team here we hope to see you again soon.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#120 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Property: Park Plaza County Hall London
Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#50 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing