We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #231 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cavan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in good location”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights on weekend to London. First time in London so had no idea where to stay. Glad found this hotel, was nice and clean with reasonably spacious room overlooking Waterloo station. Location was great for sightseeing, london eye is just around the corner. Paid for breakfast on second morning which was disappointing and coffee was awful. Wouldn't bother with breakfast if not included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear nshannon,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you were able to find and stay with us! We are in such a good location for anyone who has never stayed in London before to enjoy what the city has to offer. I am sorry to hear about your experience at breakfast. I will pass on your feedback regarding your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,963
    2,280
    585
    216
    132
See reviews for
3,166
1,795
213
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife, adult daughter and myself stayed here for three nights over Easter 2012. We booked a studio room which was MOST appropriate: there was a bedroom, a bathroom, small kitchen and a living room with sofa-bed. The bathroom and kitchen were between bedroom and living room creating a useful buffer zone. Both rooms had TV. While there were no doors, the design ensured those wanting a snooze were not disturbed by the others. Kitchen and bathroom were both well-equipped and furnished with consumables: coffee, biscuits, shampoo etc. When will any hotel chain come up with stuff for men, in particular shaving foam? The living room had a chemical smell which was quite pervasive. The AC controls were also VERY unresponsive. An appeal to the lady who happened to pop in to fill the mini-bar just after our arrival and who promised to pass on our concerns either fell on deaf ears or didn't reach the right people. A good general sniff around narrowed the smell down not to 'Shake 'n Vac' but to the 'leather' of the sofa bed, presumably because it didn't get an opening too often. By our final night it had dissipated or we had become inured to it.
All staff were polite but not engaging in the way we Irish expect: they were formal and no craic!
The hotel is VERY convenient to lots of tourist activity, two tube stations, Waterloo & Westminster and is only 15 mins walk from the West End. You are ON the South Bank so all of their facilities are 5-10 mins away depending on the length of your legs and who you are with.
It is VERY expensive: the studio for us for three nights was about £750 with NO BREAKFAST!
Have to rate the hotel and its facilities & location highly but value for money is a very subjective thing. This once, because it was to reunite us with our daughter, it was worth it; for a couple travelling there are cheaper options.

Room Tip: Go for height and an external room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfonsus_Bluepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Alfonsus_Bluepenny,

I am happy to read that you were pleased with the Studio room for you and your family and that the design suited your needs perfectly! With regards to the shoaving foam for men, we can provide this for any guest who requests it - please feel free next time you stay.

I have noted your feeback with regards to your experience with our air conditioning and will look into this. However I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our facilities and that we were specially chosen for you and your daughter to be reunited.

We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was my third stay at the Park Plaza County Hall. As always, i found the staff to be very welcoming. I had a suite overlooking Waterloo Station, which - though not the London Eye - means you can see out to Canary Wharf and is stil quite an impressive view. The suites are fantastic for working, with a lounge area separated from the bedroom by a kitchenette. All clean and they even provide a mini-fridge for guest use. The microwave is also a nice touch. Air con seems a bit hit and miss and doesn't really cool the room, instead produces a couple of chilly spots but is a small price to pay to have floor-to-celining windows with an amazing view.

The room service food is also of a very high standard and relatively good value (for room service food!). Always happy to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_P_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Ali_P_75,

I am happy to read that you continue to have a great stay with us at Park Plaza County Hall and that you still appreciate the spectacular views of London highlighted by the floor to ceiling windows.

I have marked your feedback regarding the air conditioning and will make sure that this is looked into. I am pleased that you enjoy the luxury of 24-hour room service that we provide our guests in the comfort of their room.

We hope to welcome you back for your fourth stay with us!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel from April 3-11, 2012 and again in April 16-17. It is within walking distance to several tourist attractions, like the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, London Eye and overlooking the River Thames.

My daughter and I were on a holiday trip to Europe. We stayed at a 1 bedroom unit with a living room and kitchenette from April 3-11, 2012 and again in April 16-17 Very convenient as it had a microwave oven, coffee/tea facilities, complete utensils and even an ironing board! They have free self-serve laundry facility for their guests which is a big help for travellers like us who are hopping from one country to another. The staff was excellent. They were always quick to serve
your needs. Good job to Guy, Karl, Atilla and Roland from Concierge, and Hossein from Room Service. Thanks also to Emily of Front Desk for printing our boarding passes. People like you make the difference!

I highly recommend this hotel. Definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room overlooking the London Eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear peepeep,

I am so happy to read that so many people within the team were able to make sure you had a great stay with us! Guy, Karl, Attilla, Roland and Hussein will be very happy to hear that they were able to have such an impact on your stay. I am happy that I was able to help you also!

Thanks for providing some great information about the hotel and pointing out that we are in such a great location to see and do so much in a short space of time.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed in the park plaza for two nights as part of a business trip to London. I upgraded to a London Eye view room. The view was simply amazing from the 13th floor ( apparently they are not as superstitious in England). I have only two small complaints about the hotel. First, there was a crane directly outside of my window that blocked my view of the London Eye. That was not PPCH's fault but since I paid for the upgraded room I wish they would have put me in a diferent room. Not a big deal though. Second, the light in my bathroom would not turn on. I didn't contact anyone about it because I didn't spend much time in my room anyway. Neither of these were enough for me to say that it was not an amazing hotel. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great hotel in the middle of London.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear treyc,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the view from the 13th floor and that the crane didn't obscure it entirely- we are not superstitious here in at Park Plaza County Hall. 13 is my lucky number personally! Thank you for your feedback and we hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kagoshima
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at PPCH from March 26th to 29th this year. I organised a trip to the UK every year for a group of Japanese primary school students and this time we had over 50 students in our group. We stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and we stayed at its sister hotel PP Westminster Bridge two years ago. This time as on out previous visits, we had a great stay. The thing that I would say about the PPCH that stands out is the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. We checked in late at night, and right from the off the night duty manager (Ricky) did as much as he possibly could to get us checked in as soon as possible. I can honestly say that all the staff were really helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Obviously coming down to breakfast with 50 children all at once puts a bit of a strain on the restaurant staff but they bent over backwards to accomodate us and make our stay special. The restaurant manager Mercim in particular and all the breakfast serving staff treated our students really well and it was greatly appreciated by our staff. When we did have problems , small or large all the staff from the front desk to the concierges were only too willing to help us out. I would highly recommend the PPCH, great hotel in a great location with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KagoshimaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear KagoshimaJohn,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Thanks to your review, Tripadvisor readers can have a sample of what really Park Plaza County Hall is: a great hotel with an amazing friendly and helpful team. Looking forward to see you and your students next year!

Kind regards

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My daughter and myself spent three nights in this hotel and could not find fault with it. Staff were very professional and helpful, service perfect and rooms big enough and spotless.We expected long queues for breakfast but only had to wait a few minutes to be seated and breakfast was worth the wait, simply delicious.Location is perfect
and easy to visit attractions from. We had a fantastic time in London and the stay in the hotel added to this.Overall a great place to stay. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Bernadette D,

Thank you for deciding to spend that special time “Mother- Daughter” with us. I am happy that you had a lovely time with us and definitely looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Property: Park Plaza County Hall London
Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing