We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #236 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Weymouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed at the Park Plaza on Saturday 12 January for one night through a deal I found on Travel Zoo, and it proved to be absolute bargain.
My daughter and I arrived at the Hotel around 11 am knowing we were too early to check in but asked if we could leave our bags so we could go off shopping and to the Theatre. The Receptionist checked our booking and we were given our room immediately.
The room and bathroom were both spacious and clean and the shower was exceptionally large with plenty of room to move around, unlike some hotel showers where you need to be a contortionist. The beds were very comfortable and it was a great nights sleep.
Our deal included breakfast, there was plenty of choice both English and Continental. I highly recommend the scrambled eggs. The Restaurant was busy but then we did go for breakfast at 9 am so it was to be expected, however, we did not have to wait long to be seated. We did have to wait rather a while for a waitress to take our order for tea/coffee but not a big deal.
I would certainly stay here again if I am able to get a reasonable deal as it is a five minute walk from Waterloo Station if that and was a perfect base for our weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggywiggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
piggywiggy01,

Thank you for your review.

I hope you and your daughter enjoyed your shopping trip around London! It's great that you were able to enjoy a nice hot breakfast with us and that you were seated promptly.

I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon for yet another great stay!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,043
    2,320
    605
    224
    136
See reviews for
3,249
1,828
218
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in December, 2 adults, 2 kids ( 11 & 12 years) and after reading many reviews decided this looked like a great place for a family stay. We were not disappointed, from the moment we arrived we could not really fault anything. Our room was fantastic on the 13th floor and we had a great view of the London Eye and Houses of Parliament - awesome. Everything was clean and in good condition. We all slept incredibly well, comfortable beds and very quiet which was a nice suprise.The kids were so excited and kept looking out of the window! We upgraded to the 'Plaza Package' for £30.00 (total) and it was really worth it - we were able to have drinks (wine,beer soft drinks shorts etc) in the executive lounge plus we had breakfast there as well - It was everything it could possibly be. As part of this package the children also got a park plaza pack which included a yoyo,colouring stuff and £5.00 voucher to spend in the hotel - they were well chuffed! The staff were without exception all helpful, friendly and smiling, they made you feel very welcome. A great recruitment job to whoever employs the staff!
We walked everywhere with ease - Trafalgar Square, Strand, Parliament, Covent Garden. I would say this is a great base if you don't know London and want to explore. Also a great place to stay if you want to go to the theatre as well.
If this review sounds gushing its because it really was a great hotel stay with no complaints ( not even from the kids which is saying something). If there was only 1 niggle then it would have to be the lifts, had to wait sometime for them during 'peak' times but really it did not affect our stay. Will be making this our annual Christmas treat and will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a view, really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BondNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
BondNic,

We are soooooo pleased that you had a fantastic first stay with us at Park Plaza County Hall!!

It's great that you were able to upgrade to our Park Plaza Plus Package to gain access to our Executive lounge. I am very happy that the whole family enjoyed themselves and that we will be welcoming you back every Christmas!

Please visit our website when you are ready to book to take a look at our rates for December as we would be happy to ensure another great stay is had!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent location and wonderful staff. Room very new and plush. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff very helpful and friendly. We got an excellent rate also. Highly recommend. Will definately be choosing a Park Plaza again.

Room Tip: High level floors more chance of a view of the London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
ElaineRed,

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel last weekend for one night. Perfect place to stay, can't say any bad words about it. Realy enjoyed the stay!!!!
It exceeded my expectations, will definitely chose the same hotel for my next stay! Thanks to all staff!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 975Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
975Traveler,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on your thanks to all the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We booked through an on-line deal site and managed to get a good deal. On arrival our room wasn't ready and after reception trying to sort this out it soon became apparent this wouldn't be rectified quickly. But with no prompt from us we were offered a complimentary upgrade to a studio room - a great start to our weekend! Our room was very spacious, well presented and spotlessly clean. At all times we received great service, professional, friendly and polite. Breakfast was much better than the usual run of the mill - of note, great scrambled eggs which is a rarity at the hotel 'buffet' and good quality sausage. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Jon S,

Thank you for your review - I am very pleased that you enjoyed your special stay with us and that you enjoyed your complimentary drink and upgrade!

I will pass your positive feedback with regards to breakfast to our Food and Beverage team - they will be thrilled you enjoyed our selection.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We booked via booking.com and from the off set customer service was exceptional. I had made a mistake and the ammendment was made without any fuss. I had let the Hotel know it was for my Fiance's bday and they upgraded us and surprised him with a bottle of wine on arrival. Great staff, lovely food, awesome view, our only complaint is that we should have had dinner at the restaurant instead of a near by one! Brilliant. Will certainly be recommending. Thanks to everyone at the Park Plaza County Hall.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lol-star86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
lol-star86,

AMAZING review! Thank you!

I am very happy to read you had such a fantastic time with us and that you and your fiance had a great time for his birthday! Perhaps next time you can have dinner with us in our new L'Italiano restaurant!?

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We've just returned from a short weekend break in London for my wifes 30th B'day.

My wife and i spent a lot of time hunting for the best hotels and the reviews of the park plaza county hall certainly didn't disappoint and we decided to go with it. We are trully happy that we did.

Positives

On arrival the staff were courteous and helpful. We were able to leave our luggage with the concierge team as the room wasn't ready which was most helpful.

When we finally got into our room we were greeted with not only a fantastic view out over westminster and the London Eye but a lovely birthday card from the hotel staff and a complimentary bottle of wine to help us settle in and begin celebrating.

The room was spacious for a London Hotel and more than adequately stocked. Clean. Fresh. Vibrant and as i say the view externally was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for more. Given the amount of money we paid for the room it really did offer great value for money.

Room service offered good quality and arrived promptly without any issue.

The staff were helpful and polite at all times, helping point out routes and cash points as requested. Tip - if you need a cash point there are some at waterloo around the corner from the hotel (few hundred yards) or accross at the park plaza westminster for a £1.80 charge, which i think is preferable if you arne't sure of your bearings. .


We didn't dine at the hotel but having seen the menu i can only say it seemed to have a wide variety of choice and there was a complimentary money off voucher in the room on entry which if we had been staying longer we would have made use of.

Negatives

I'm having to be very strict here to even come up with any negatives. The whole weekend was wonderful.

However, if there were any -

The air conditioning in the room was always on the warm side, despite being set to cool and being on a higher floor it seemed somewhat warm with little change in the temperature despite our manipulation of the controls. I would suspect this being down to the season and the temperature for the building being set warmer than perhaps it would be in summer months.

Dining - our room rate included breakfast. Which was plentyful and very nice. However, given the size of the hotel, the dining room is perhaps on the smaller side and thus queues formed fairly early on for breakfast, with guests having to mill around awaiting tables. Staff were courteous, friendly and apologetic in dealing with this helped expedite tables for guests as soon as possible. However, i think if you were later for breakfast then you'd have a longer wait. So if you want a table quickly then go as early as you can.

Finally on coming to pay, we were told some drinks had been charged to our room number that we hadn't ordered. Obviously we didn't have to pay for these unless "they had been signed for". Whilst these mistakes happen and admittedly dealt with satisfactorily i have to knock a small mark off for this.

Conclusion

This a wonderful hotel. In a stones throw of some of the best sight seeing locations, right off the south bank. If you can, make sure you get a room with a city view. Its well worth the extra money. Book well in advance and make sure you get the best rates available and this hotel offers a great level of style, presence and ambience for value for money.

We would be more than happy to stay again. It certainly made our stay all that more relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Make sure you book an executive studio room or better to assure a view of some sort. If you can requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
steve K,

I am very happy to read that you had a great first stay with us! I will pass on your feedback with regards the air conditioning in the room to our Head of Maintenance.

I hope your wife had a great rest of her 30th birthday and I hope we can welcome you both back again for yet another special stay!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,068 in London
874 reviews
Southbank
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Property: Park Plaza County Hall London
Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in London
#54 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#178 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing