We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #239 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I had great expectations for this hotel and have wanted to stay here for some time, however I was very disappointed by several things. On arrival the hotel looks good, but when we checked in it didn't seem very friendly. I have stayed in a lot of london hotels and first impressions are important. We were in room 410 and like I said, I was expecting great things, this hotel is not cheap and the pictures tell a different story. Our room had an internal view, so that was not nice, but the huge put off for me was that the bathroom has a frosted door! I'm glad we were only staying one night as I felt uncomfortable every time I used the bathroom. I can't understand why twin rooms have frosted doors, you'd hardly want a friend or opposite sex relative to see you sitting on the toilet or in the bath.
Anyway, other than that, the positives are that the room has a microwave, so that's a bonus, and although small, the rooms are pretty modern. Bathroom is nice but small, and bath is small. Breakfast very average.
Some staff were nice, the man who helped us check out was very helpful.
I wouldn't stay again, however we have stayed in the sister hotel across the road (park plaza Westminster bridge) and found this to be nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly3times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

kelly3times,

I am very sad to read that you did not find our team very friendly upon your arrival. This is certainly not what we want to read and therefore we will use your feedback to adress this.

I am also sorry that you did not find our bathroom doors to be very practical. The glass is completely frosted to ensure privacy for our guests, but I can appreciate your feedback.

I am pleased that you could positives about the room and that the team member who helped you when you checked out was friendly.

If you do decide to return to us in the New Year, feel free to contact me directly on ppchgrm@pphe.com as I would be happy to ensure a better stay is had in the future.

Merry Christmas from all the team.

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,502)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza County Hall London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,983 - 3,989 of 7,502 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

I really like the Park Plaza chain of hotels and County Hall is as good as their reputation. I stay for both business and pleasure. Nothing dfisappointed on this stay! Even though the breakfast queue was a 5 minute wait for a table, there are signs telling you of the expected wait-times around reception, we were offered orange juice and pastries while we waited - nice touch! I always check availability at County Hall first when looking for London hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Debbie W,

I am really pleased to read that you enjoy staying in Park Plaza's and find that our hotel in particular has ensured you had a great experience!

Thank you for your review and I wish you a Merry Christmas.

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Chosen for its central location and access to theatres, this turned out to be a great decision. Surprisingly we were given a free upgrade to a 7th floor suite, with separate lounge area and kitchenette, two TVs, etc. The kitchen facilities can save you money on dining out. Bathroom was great - clean, modern, pleasant, well equipped with soaps and so on, bath plus shower. The best feature of the room is probably its view - directly over Waterloo Station (not quite so great) and then across to the Shard and other tall buildings, very atmospheric at night, with big windows for full view. Fast lifts, friendly efficient staff at reception and elsewhere. Five minutes walk to Westminster and Waterloo tube stations or South Bank. We didn't try the breakfast for economy reasons; there are nearby shops and cafes. Free and effective WiFi. If I could find any fault it is minor quibbles like the bathroom basin 'plug' not quite working and the shower door leaking on to the floor, but these didn't really inconvenience us. Excellent value (we booked well in advance at fixed rate) and perfect for sightseeing or theatre-going couples. Everything a hotel should be. Go for it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Colin F

What a fantastic review!!

I'm so happy you enjoyed the views of city from your studio room with the separate lounge area to relax in.

We can’t wait to accommodate you on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Bradley Werb

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here 13th December for the weekend. Checked in and we were upgraded to Executive Suite! Wonderful hotel and the room was brilliant. We ate at the Italian Restaurant on the Mezzanine Floor and the food was excellent and the staff were exceptional without being over fussy. I would go back anytime. It was a really lovely experience. Every member of staff were, withoiut exception, very attentive and caring. They made a big difference to our stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudge210252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Smudge210252

Thanks for the great review!

I am so glad you had a wonderful weekend and that you were able to enjoy our Italian restaurant L'Italiano.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards

Bradley Werb

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Park Plaza County Hall is my favourite hotel to stay in London whilst on business. It has taken over from the Park Plaza Westminster next door. This is because it is more personal. The staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and the hotel has a calm and welcoming feel which is essential whilst away from home on business. The location is fabulous and importantly a safe walk from both Westminster and Waterloo tube stations. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank welltravelledhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

welltravelledhg,

What a fantastic review!!

I am sooo happy to read that you enjoy our personal touch here at Park Plaza County Hall and that the team are professional, yet friendly.

I agree that we are in a brilliant location, which really cannot be beaten and I do believe we will be seeing you again in the New Year.

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about 5mins walk from Waterloo station. It's set back from the South Bank so doesn't have the views I thought it might. But the staff were pleasant, we managed to check in early, the decor of the room was clean and modern, and they kept hold of our luggage all day for us. It had those really soft pillows which meant I didn't have the best sleep, but all in all it's in a pretty good location and we got it for £92.50 in central London, there's not much to grumble about!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukohacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Ukohacat,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us!
We do have a pillow menu available for our guests, just in case they want a choice.

I do hope you can stay with us again in the New Year!

Merry Christmas!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Had a really good stay here, excellent location for sight seeing as I have never been to london before we could not of asked for a better location, 2mins from the london eye and big ben all sight seeing was within walking distance (in my opinion). staff were very friendly and the room was really good we had a 2 bedroom suit could not of asked for a better hotel, I have already book for my next stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesmigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

jesmigger

Thank for for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experinece at Park Plaza County Hall.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found that all aspects of your stay met your expectations.

Many thanks again and we definitely look forward to your impending visit.

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,072 in London
1,043 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in London
#56 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £141 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing