We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“plush hotel a stones throw from London Eye and Southbank theatre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza County Hall London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #211 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“plush hotel a stones throw from London Eye and Southbank theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed here for a night in January, were upgraded to gorgeous suite as there was a mix up with our booking, staff were friendly and helpful, room was very comfortable, clean and modern, super bathroom, lovely kitchenette with fridge. Breakfast was fantastic, all you could eat and really good quality. Don't normally go for such a hotel as was rather pricey but totally worth it for a short getaway in London for shopping and theatre!!

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EliIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,870
    2,181
    546
    205
    124
See reviews for
3,044
1,753
197
1,000
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

The hotel is located very close to Westminster and The London Eye. The touristic sightseeing bus stop is nearby, as well as Waterloo tube station.

On arrival we were upgraded to the executive 12th floor for an extra payment (I think it was 45 pounds per day) that included breakfast and use of the VIP club. The view from this room was like a post card: Big Ben and The London Eye. The room was across the elevator, but we did not hear it, the soundproofing was good in the walls, but could be better in between the floors. We could hear a lady's hills upstairs every time she'd cross the laminated section of the room, but it was not a big problem for us.

The rooms are quite large and feature modern decor, comfortable bed and a sofa bed (our son used it) and a little kitchenette (coffee and tea). One night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The duck was good, the risotto was over-salted, but after a complaint they made a fresh one that tasted quite good. The service at the restaurant was good. However the buffet dinner did not look too exciting.

VIP club is a nice addition to the view and the breakfast. Anytime before 8 pm you can drop by for a cup of coffee or tea, have a bite of fruit or muffin. From 6 to 8 pm you can go for a pre-dinner drink and snack. You can have breakfast at the VIP club as well, but keep in mind, that the space is limited and tables quite small. On Sunday it was quite crowded (though, in the restaurant the line up was quite large as well).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Great location close to London Eye, House of Parliament etc. Waterloo and Westminster tube station close by.
Hotel still has nice new feeling though I think its been open 12 months +. Rooms nicely decorated and shower was great. Staff friendly and efficient.
Good hotel for both business or for me sight seeing with the kids.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

London hotels can be really expensive and often poor value, or cheap and shoddy. Look out for deals at this hotel. We paid circa £130 per night plus a premium that gave us a suite overlooking London and access to the Executive lounge with balcony. Room only price very similar to the local Premier Lodge but a much better hotel.
New build and modern hotel. Large comfortable well equipped room, excellent location just over the bridge from Westminster and parking at £10 per day just next door.
Friendly and helpful staff in a busy hotel. Could do with some more lifts. Breakfast selection and quality was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve from Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Right behind London Waterloo station, the location is excellent, as long as you turn right out of the hotel. You are two minutes walk from the County Hall, Festival Hall area with lots of bars, cafes and just a short walk over Westminster Bridge to Houses of Parliament. Car Park next to the hotel as well.

I've stayed here a couple times recently and enjoyed the experience of a large studio room. Nice simple modern furnishings, big TV, Nespresso machine in the room (YES!!), modern bathroom. Nothing fussy, sort of halfway between Malmaison and a modern Novotel. Good lighting and working area. Really friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel - they seem to enjoy it which is always refreshing.

Used room service that was quick and very tasty curry (CTM). The Breakfast choice is excellent, but beware that there can sometimes be a long wait for the elevator and then you can find you are queueing for a table for breakfast for 15-20 minutes.

Would be my first choice next time in London.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Stayed at a previous Park plaza so knew what to expect style wise and i wasnt disappointed. Being located near the London Eye & the banks of the Thames we chose this hotel to escape the city madness and also a change of location but still close to the city attractions/nightlife. Located behind Waterloo station the hotel was easily accessed by the train st & tube stations. We actually walked into the city for the planned evening we had, as luckily it was a nice sunny evening so we escaped the rush/madness you get travelling on the tube.

Went to see a show on the saturday night so to eat before hand we found a nice local italian for our evening meal. Found the hotel had no offers on like my first vist to its sister hotel in July so we ate outside the hotel. The menu in the hotel was resonable ( i guess )for a hotel and i knew it would be nice but just fancied an italian and i had seen this place just across the road near the County Hall its self & London Eye.

The staff are very friendly in the hotel and helpfull which makes it a pleasant stay mixed with the nice style the hotel offers.
We had a room with no view except of the roof of Waterloo station but it was not a problem ,we had a nice spacious room. Strange to walk directly into the bedroom from the front door and the living room was at the back but hey, we were given a nice room which included in the bathroom both a bath and seperate shower. We had a kitchenette which had everything you needed if you fancied a night in ( ideal if on a budget stay) I imagine not all rooms have this facility.

All in all again a nice Park Plaza Hotel and relaxing break with a great buffet breakfast of hot & cold offerings was had.

Being built opposite is the newest addition to the chain on the roundabout, The Park Plaza Westminster Bridge looks huge from the outside. Maybe i will stay there once its opened.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevejb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We have a eight years old and a twelve years old. The suite is big enough for us, and with their special price, this was the best choice for family with teenager. The sofe can change into sofa bed at night. Also the staff was very nice to come and set up our bed, providing us with extra two pillows and down comforter.
We really like the modern design of the building. It is hollow in the center all the way up to the roof. When riding the elevators, you can see each floor and the restaurant down below. The interior design of each suite is very nicely design. We especially like the bathroom, it is very spacious. The coffee machine and refrigerator is also very cleverly placed. The welcome kit for the children is very nice, my kids enjoyed spending the coupon at the bar.
The breakfast is not included in the hotel room price, but we pay for the English breakfast and they do have pretty good food.
Please take the time to go down to the basement bathroom, the sink inside is very cool!!!
Overall, this is a very nice holel. Highly recommended. The pictures you see on the website is exactly what you get, the room is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#25 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Property: Park Plaza County Hall London
Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#48 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#160 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing