We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in London”
Review of The Penn Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Penn Club
Ranked #538 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I was traveling on my own to London, and I needed someplace clean, safe, and affordable. The Penn Club was perfect--it was extremely comfortable and quiet. It's right near the British Museum and very close to the Russell Square tube station.

Room Tip: There's no elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dicencal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for The Penn Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I was in London on business and needed an affordable, clean & safe place to lay my head at night in the Russel sq. area. The Penn Club fits the bill in all areas. It's centrally located, close to shops and restaurants and the "tube" and the wonderful British Museum, which I visited in my off hours. I highly recommend this as a place to stay. Good included breakfast too and free wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mountaingirl9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This Quaker B&B is a clean, simple, no frills place to stay very near the British Museum. The full breakfast is included and is very good. I like the spaciousness, with large rooms in the elegant building, a reading room and a television lounge. The beds are very comfortable, and there is a range of room to suit all budgets..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Novella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

While not in the most centrally located part of the City, this basic small,delightful Quaker B and B offers everything the traveler on a limited budget could want! Close to the Tube, Bus lines, good food and the British Museum, it is a great base for exploring the City. the rooms, while small, are clean and fully appointed. The food is great, and your fellow travelers are always interesting.

Room Tip: Remember that they do not have a lift!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We much enjoyed our 1-night stay in the Penn Club with its great location near the British Museum. It was quiet and clean with a well-appointed room (except it would be nice to provide a second towel rack , and the large buffet breakfast was very good.. It seemed a bit expensive for a non en suite room (97 pounds), but it was nice to have a wash basin in the room. We liked the quiet Quaker ambiance of the lounges, the very helpful receptionists, and the availability of a public computer. The bed was comfortable and covered with a duvet which I ordinarily don't like because of the inflexibility of not having a separate sheet, but the night was cool enough that the duvet was not too hot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Penn Club isn't a luxurious hotel, a chambre d'hotes, a cosy homestay or a hostel. The furnishings are plain and simple, the paintwork slightly chipped, the carpet slightly old.
However it is a safe, calm, clean and friendly place to stay within 10 minutes walk from Euston and St. Pancras, a stones throw from the British Museum and very near to all the other "must see" sights of London.
We stayed in the double ensuite room in the back of the hotel with a garden view. The ceilings were high, the bathroom clean, the beds comfortable.No T.V., no radio but acceptable wi-fi. Laundry facilities are available in a rather spooky cellar!
The club is just what it says- a club, and the members are an interesting group. It is accepted that it is a safe place for people travelling on their own and we met several people coming to London to study, to meet friends and to indulge in a little culture. There is a long table at breakfast where people who wish to talk to their neighbours can chat.
Breakfast is good and there are facilities to prepare simple meals in the evening. Alternatively there is a list of nearby restaurants to eat nearby, and again if people travelling alone they can meet together and eat in company.
Some reviewers have been very negative about the place. They just "don't get it" and would probably be happier elsewhere.So would anyone who would prefer the atractions of a Holiday Inn or a Trust House Forte establishment.
We were won over by the club's quiet charm and are considering joining as members

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are probably better
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harassedmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Penn Club was perfect for us. It is quiet, central, clean and affordable and all the people who work there are friendly and helpful. However, it isn't particularly nice, the furnishings are old and quite ugly, the internet is really slow, the beds quite uncomfortable, and the library (which I was really looking forward to) smelt a bit strange. The breakfast was good, although not outstanding. As long as you aren't planing on spending hours in your room, it makes a great base in an AMAZING location for exploring London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side, and NOT next the loos.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#296 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#482 of 1,072 in London
344 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#561 of 1,072 in London
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#601 of 1,072 in London
259 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#502 of 1,072 in London
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penn Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penn Club

Address: 21-23 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#294 Business Hotel in London
#358 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Penn Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penn Club Hotel London
Penn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing