We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie worldy charm”
Review of The Penn Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Penn Club
Ranked #515 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oldie worldy charm”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

This Quaker hotel is more akin to a private club than an hotel - it smacks of a quiet charm and caters for people who want to stay in a peaceful hotel well away from the normal bustle of London. Well situated though and nice and clean throughout.
Very good rates too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TC_Tucker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    67
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
40
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you need a TV don't go there, if you want a quiet place close to the action with lots of old-fashioned charm, decent sized rooms and a very decent home-cooked breakfast - do. The Penn Club is not your average hotel, it is actually more like a bed-and-breakfast for the Quaker community, but welcomes everybody. You need to have a nostalgic streak to really appreciate it, since the furniture is not the newest, but surely very well kept. And it comes with a no talking reading room with deep arm-chairs. It is very convenient for the West End. The British Museum is around the corner, and almost all the West End is within walking distance. I have stayed there on several occasions during the last seven years, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WayanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I was traveling on my own to London, and I needed someplace clean, safe, and affordable. The Penn Club was perfect--it was extremely comfortable and quiet. It's right near the British Museum and very close to the Russell Square tube station.

Room Tip: There's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dicencal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I was in London on business and needed an affordable, clean & safe place to lay my head at night in the Russel sq. area. The Penn Club fits the bill in all areas. It's centrally located, close to shops and restaurants and the "tube" and the wonderful British Museum, which I visited in my off hours. I highly recommend this as a place to stay. Good included breakfast too and free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mountaingirl9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This Quaker B&B is a clean, simple, no frills place to stay very near the British Museum. The full breakfast is included and is very good. I like the spaciousness, with large rooms in the elegant building, a reading room and a television lounge. The beds are very comfortable, and there is a range of room to suit all budgets..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Novella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

While not in the most centrally located part of the City, this basic small,delightful Quaker B and B offers everything the traveler on a limited budget could want! Close to the Tube, Bus lines, good food and the British Museum, it is a great base for exploring the City. the rooms, while small, are clean and fully appointed. The food is great, and your fellow travelers are always interesting.

Room Tip: Remember that they do not have a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We much enjoyed our 1-night stay in the Penn Club with its great location near the British Museum. It was quiet and clean with a well-appointed room (except it would be nice to provide a second towel rack , and the large buffet breakfast was very good.. It seemed a bit expensive for a non en suite room (97 pounds), but it was nice to have a wash basin in the room. We liked the quiet Quaker ambiance of the lounges, the very helpful receptionists, and the availability of a public computer. The bed was comfortable and covered with a duvet which I ordinarily don't like because of the inflexibility of not having a separate sheet, but the night was cool enough that the duvet was not too hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#494 of 1,067 in London
338 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#503 of 1,067 in London
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#594 of 1,067 in London
257 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#601 of 1,067 in London
174 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#344 of 1,067 in London
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penn Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penn Club

Property: The Penn Club
Address: 21-23 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#294 Business Hotel in London
#358 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Penn Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penn Club Hotel London
Penn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing