We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lovely Penn Club” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Penn Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Penn Club
Ranked #544 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Lovely Penn Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Penn Club is the most peaceful, charming and welcoming place in London. How can you be in the heart of London and not hear any traffic noise? Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and overlooked a lovely garden. Breakfast was superb - beautifully presented by discreet staff and was delicious and plentiful. This hotel was a little pricey for our v. budget travel but I just had to indulge in the Quaker experience as it is my heritage. This is a squeaky floorboard type hotel that Miss Marple would feel very much at home in. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babyteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    66
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
36
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had to attend an open day at SOAS University of London, located in Russell Square London. It was my first time travelling alone as I have recently turned eighteen. This is the place to be, for real. I have never seen such clean and white rooms and services. Breakfast is awesome, it is english or continental, but I advise you to take the english one. As I go to London many times per year I will be a member of the penn club soon.
GO THERE, DEFINETLY.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiaramapelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just read the other reviews. It's obvious that this is a 'hotel' with a difference, and it has a quality other accommodation lacks - nurturing peace and quiet. It is very convenient for London visits and easily accessible from Heathrow (Piccadilly Line to Russell Square). I wouldn't stay anywhere else in London.

Room Tip: The back rooms are usually the quietest, though it really depends on whether you prefer a street or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Owned by the Quaker community but welcomes non believers this isn't your average hotel. It does have cheap rooms, is very clean, quiet (which is rubbed a bit of on me, hardly dared make a noice climbing to my room on the third floor). The room was very clean. Bathroom basic and clean. Been to places with a far grander name that didn't live up to this standard. Book early as I believe there are few en suite rooms, though the communal bathrooms looked spic & span.
Missed breakfast as I'm like sleeping in and I mainly came to visit the nearby British Museum.
Was however disappointed that the kitchen and with it the microwave closed at 10.30 pm. Too late for me to eat something warm after my theatre visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Annemarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I've stayed in cheaper hotels in London but none were as good value for money as the Penn Club. It was the second time I stayed here in August 2013 and what sets it apart from the other budget hotels in London is the quality of the breakfast: an excellent choice on the menu, good ingredients and cooked to order. Add to that intelligent and interesting conversation with other guests if you choose to sit at the shared table.

Downside? It's a long way up the stairs to the third floor as one flight in the high-ceilinged Penn Club is equivalent to two in most other buildings. I can cope now but I might not be able to in 30 years time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Clean but spartan rooms, bed comfortable enough, good breakfast but no air conditioning on some pretty hot days. I would stay here again in the spring, winter or fall but not the summer.

One nice touch is that they leave some tables clear in the dining room for guests to eat their own food - can save having to eat out for every meal.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CJD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A new find for us. We travel often and seek simple accommodation at reasonable prices when we know we are going for a weekend of sight seeing, so out most of the time. We found the Penn Club a very pleasant place to stay. The room seemed to have been redecorated recently and was very clean, simple and basic but everything we needed. The breakfast was good and served by very kind and friendly staff. As the Club says in its literature its aims to promote feeling of 'community' rather than a business. This came across very much through the staff and overall atmosphere of the place. Without reservation we would recommend and return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#298 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#477 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#565 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#584 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#443 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#406 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penn Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penn Club

Property: The Penn Club
Address: 21-23 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#294 Business Hotel in London
#358 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Penn Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penn Club Hotel London
Penn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing