We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful for long stays or short ones” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Ranked #107 of 826 Speciality Lodging in London
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delightful for long stays or short ones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I just returned from two and a half weeks in London on business mixed with time with friends and family. Since I was there for so long, I stayed in the Marlin Apartments rather than my usual hotel, and was overwhelming pleased with the choice. I had a spacious and lovely one-bedroom apartment with full kitchen, bedroom, living room and bath. It was like owning my own home or flat in London - they aim to give that feeling and they do.

The common areas (a central courtyard and garden) are extremely well maintained and lovely to sit in, and Empire Square couldn't be better located for me - on the Southbank, in Southwark, near Borough Market, wonderful area and neighborhood. From my adopting of my 'Local' to wandering to the market to shop, you enjoy the city and all it has to offer - from Southbank Centre to Shad Thames to The View from the Shard.

The staff are excellent and helpful, and provide anything you ask for. But be aware - these are self-catered flats - not hotel rooms. There is only weekly maid service and you are expected to shop in the Tesco Express in the building itself. The critical accounts here in Tripadvisor seem to miss that point entirely - a shame - as it is wonderful - but you need to conceptualize it as your own home - not a resort. Their motto - 'Don't just visit London, live here' is well fulfilled. It is an excellent choice with nothing lacking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wprensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    185
    81
    40
    45
See reviews for
153
135
24
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
flintshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We recently stayed in these apartments when we came to London for a long weekend. We walked the short distance from the tube station to the apartment. A very desirable place to stay, everything you could need in the kitchen area to cook a full meal which we did, along with a dishwasher/washing machine and microwave. The only problem we found was the hot water, didn't seem to be much.. i ended up with a cold bath after my partner had finished in the shower. There is a supermarket literally next door to pick up anything you need and some nice bars/pubs in the area, plenty of places to dine out locally too if you wish. would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa70Flintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, would be late arrival and early departure so not really a chance to get the best out of it.

Rooms are superb, well fitted and spacious. Having separate lounge/diner/kitchen is great, especially if staying a few days or with kids/friends. Downside of course is self catering, so no chance for breakfast or anything....though plenty of options nearby.

I will definitely use again, and hopefully have more time to experience it.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

rooms are spacious , well equipped and,very clean.
this hotel is highly recomendable.
the hotel is well-situated because there is a subway station very close
there is a supermarket just below the hotel very useful

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ibaia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed here for one night with a friend, and it was perfect. Close to the tube station so that was handy the next morning, and the cabbie found it okay when we explained it was "the new development in Empire Square".
The £200 deposit was a shock to us as well, but thanks to online banking it all worked out okay. The apartments were perfect; good shower, amazing bed, and the kitchen was well equipped.
Also in close proximity of London Bridge which was very nice, could walk there at night without going into smaller, dodgy streets.
Overall a great hotel.

Room Tip: In the apartment 57 there was a cupboard with a boiler in it. Don't know if this is in all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOnTheRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Booked direct after seeing a third party website. Needed to make sure the secure on site parking was available so thought best to go direct. Did this on the day of our visit, prompt email confirmation and was happy with the booking procedure. Unlike others found the building without issue and I'm not a cabbie, check in was fairly quick and parking was very secure/convenient. The 200 pound desposit was a slight surprise, so credit card was handy but understood why it was required.
Room spot on, clean and modern. Great location, close to the tube and highly recommended.
Sunday breakfast at Joe's kitchen is a must, can walk there eat at leisure and be back for check out.
Will use again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guru1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The room was a lovely studio apartment and the location was everything I could have asked for. The staff were courteous without hovering. There were many nice amenities nearby, such as the Londn Bridge Train Station, Borough and London Bridge Tube Stations, and some great Pubs. Walking to the usual tourist landmarks was a snap. A bit pricey, but certainly worth it.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Regic001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Whitechapel
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#74 of 826 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Clapham / Battersea 
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
#105 of 826 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments - Empire Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Property: Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Address: 34 Long Lane | 5-8 Empire Square South, London SE1 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 826 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlin Apartments - Empire Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at London Bridge, just minutes from London’s financial district, this landmark development provides unrivalled access to London’s City centre and it’s most inspiring attractions. These cutting edge apartments fuse London’s cosmopolitan culture with award winning contemporary design, encompassing a vast internal courtyard and private landscaped gardens. Modern furnishings complement the large living space in each apartment, with many offering striking views across London. The emphasis is on light and space, with most apartments boasting large scenic windows and floor-to-ceiling glazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Apartments - Empire Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Empire Square London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing