We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Clean and Comfy London Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Ranked #137 of 862 Speciality Lodging in London
Brighton UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Clean and Comfy London Stay”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent Stay in very clean and very well equipt one bed apartment in Central London . Comfy clean bed and bedding, clean bathroom, clean kitchen area including very clean fridge. I'm a clean freak about hotels so very impressed with Marlin as very reasonable too. Lots of light as windows floor to ceiling and plenty of space. Well located for borough market, southwark, Tower of London etc, only wish we could have stayed longer :-) Can't wait to try the other Marlin Apartments.

Room Tip: Room 127 5th Floor faced the courtyard so very quiet as no traffic and views of the Shard to the lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mulberrybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalin C, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Mulberrybay ,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Marlin Apartments Empire Square and for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor .
I am delighted to hear that you found our apartments both well equipped and ideally located in Central London . I am more delighted though to read that you were very impressed with the housekeeping of the apartment . I will pass your comments to our dedicated housekeeping team who I am sure will very much appreciate this .
Thank you again for your comments and I am looking forward to welcome you back . Please note that by booking direct you will get the best rate .
Warmest regards

Catalin Ciobotaru
Building Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    189
    85
    45
    52
See reviews for
161
145
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have been using these apartments for both business and pleasure over the last two to three years and I have to say that on all occasions I have found the apartments to be of a high standard . The location is very close to Borough tube station, Borough Market (definitely worth a visit), Waterloo station is a ten minute taxi ride away and with London Bridge station and the Shard only a five minute walk away. The staff at the complex have been very helpful and quick to resolve any minor issue that may have arisen.

My last stay was in January 2014 and I have recommended these apartments to my friends and colleagues who have also given glowing reports.

Room Tip: If possible book in advance and haggle to get a great deal whether it's for one night or long te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddha764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed here for 6 weeks while attending training in London. The Borough area is lovely, quiet and yet handy to the centre of London for work.

These apartments were perfect across from the Tube station and with nice pubs and restaurants nearby. The Tesco downstairs right beside the apartments is also very handy for home cooking.

The apartments themselves are very modern and kept very well (cleaned once a week during my stay). The kitchen and living areas are perfect for nights in cooking and chilling out after work. Bathroom and bedrooms all very clean and comforting again.

Staff very friendly and helpful at all times - fixing anything promptly and without having to ask twice. I would definitely recommend and I will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a 1 bed for 2 nights at £85 per night! The apartment was spotless and had everything we needed.The staff at concierge could not have been friendlier and were most helpful and welcoming. Overall a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: East wing is a newer build
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have stayed at Empire Square several times now and have stayed in a number of different types of apartments. Most recently this weekend we hired two apartments - a 1 bed and a 2 bed. The one bedroom apartment is more than spacious enough for two people and a rare find in central London. But I never expected the 2-bed to be anywhere near as big as it was - the living room area was massive and with a beautiful glass wall and balcony with views of the Shard which is basically on it's doorstep! The beds are so comfortable and it's immaculately clean. I would definitely recommend for a weekend break in London if you're looking for a bit more space than a cramped London hotel room!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakhani25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here with friends. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms in the apartment which was very spacious. Location was good - very close to Borough tube station. Apartment was clean, but I agree with previous reviewer that washing up liquid etc to clean the kitchen would be useful although dishwasher tablets were provided. The windows in our apartment were also open when we arrived but once closed the apartment was very warm. In fact we kept our heaters off and the apartment was still warm
I would recommend these apartments as an alternative to a hotel - useful to have a kitchen to make snack etc and the Tesco downstairs provided all that was required. We went to Borough market nearby which was great and there was a variety of cafes etc nearby

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl21_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Really good quality apartment, however it was not a flat screen tv and surely they could provide washing up liquid rubbish bags and just general cleaning stuff to wipe down the kitchen after cooking. Checking in was very slow and painful do not know why as there was no queue and why not in the middle of winter do they not put the heating on in the apartments for ones arrival.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonGirlcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalin C, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear LondonGirlcalling ,

Thank you for staying with Marlin Apartments and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor .

I am really glad to hear that you found our apartments to be very good quality. However I am disappointed to see that you stayed in one of the last apartments with an older TV. Please rest assured that we are nearing completion of a very important refurbishment project that includes changing all TVs to modern flat-screens, so you would no longer encounter this problem should you stay with us again soon.

With regards to cleaning products , we do provide the basics such as dishwasher tablets, washing powder tablets and cloths, and upon request we can also provide extras like washing-up liquid or other products used by our housekeeping department. We have a dedicated 24h reception team who are happy to take on board all requests and demands, and we always invite our guests to meet the team if any issues are encountered during their stay.

As for the heating not being turned on, we pride ourselves in our dedication to social responsibility; therefore hot water and heating are set up in an environmentally friendly way. I am positive that the powerful heaters in all apartments can provide a nice and cosy atmosphere within minutes after arrival.

I very much appreciate your feedback and I do hope that you will consider staying at Marlin Apartments Empire Square again.

Warm regards

Catalin Ciobotaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marlin Waterloo
#611 of 1,068 in London
41 reviews
Whitechapel
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#66 of 862 in London
493 reviews
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Southwark
Gate House Apartments, Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments - Empire Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Property: Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Address: 34 Long Lane | 5-8 Empire Square South, London SE1 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 862 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlin Apartments - Empire Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at London Bridge, just minutes from London’s financial district, this landmark development provides unrivalled access to London’s City centre and it’s most inspiring attractions. These cutting edge apartments fuse London’s cosmopolitan culture with award winning contemporary design, encompassing a vast internal courtyard and private landscaped gardens. Modern furnishings complement the large living space in each apartment, with many offering striking views across London. The emphasis is on light and space, with most apartments boasting large scenic windows and floor-to-ceiling glazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marlin Apartments - Empire Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Empire Square London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing