We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very friendly and chic place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portobello House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portobello House
Ranked #98 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very friendly and chic place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel and restaurant, Carlos and his team made us feel very welcome and treated us in a very friendly manner (very un-London). The prices are very reasonable and I shall hopefully be making another trip there in the very near future. We were there to see my younger sister and this place made us feel like nothing was too much trouble... I cannot recommend them enough, far better than the faceless 5 stars that will knacker your bank balance and make you feel unwelcome. Enjoy! I have submitted this same review to booking.com as it is how I feel about this great place.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    61
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
72
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a gem! This is a boutique styled hotel. Services and cleanliness were excellent. Mostly, staffs went out of their ways to make us feel welcome. The owner Carlos even booked a mini cab for us. The only thing I recommend is it would be helpful if a blow dryer is provided inside the room.

We will be back for sure!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meatballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is fantastic mainly due its friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here for one night recently and would definitely stay again. The decor is lovely and the room was immaculate as were all areas. The place smells brand new.
The staff were all really helpful and friendly and it's in a great position to just walk to Portobello Road a couple of minutes walk away. The bar down stairs also looks lovely-has a nice atmosphere.
I took my 17 year old niece and we had asked for a twin room but on arrival we had a double bed, which they apologised for profusely (one of the owners said it was a muck up by the booking agent online) we were also given two rounds of free drinks, in actual fact every single member of staff we met apologised. It's not a problem when things go wrong for me as long as they rectify it and are gracious about it which they were.
The bed and pillows were really comfortable also- lovely fresh white linen ( no chintz anywhere in site) I get a bit tired of hotels saying they are boutique hotels when they most definitely aren't - this is a boutique hotel, even down to great lighting,lampshades/wallpaper etc.

The breakfast was fine ( choice of croissant/toast/cereal/fruit salad) although the Happy Shopper yoghurt didn't look very appealing. It saved looking for a cafe for breakfast.
Great place though and we didn't want to leave.
Another reviewer said it's noisy at the front of the building, this didn't bother us at all - It's London, we wanted life and if the windows were double glazed it would wreck the look of the place. It was great looking out the window - people watching.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debo66buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

With a lack of suitable establishments for in our area to enjoy a Sunday lunch with my rarely seen siblings and mother who still lives locally we decided to visit the revamped Portobello House. What struck me immediately was how much it had changed from the old pub I remember when from my youth.

The atmosphere was welcoming, the staff friendly and the modern decor was finished with a vintage touch. There was 10 in our group and we were asked to wait for a couple of minutes whilst the manager organised a table for us. By the time we got everyone through the table was ready and one of the waitress' had colouring sheets and crayons for the kids.

As highly anticipated we were offered a selection of meats, most of us went for beef, which was an excellent cut and very succulent. We did not have to wait very long at all and the soft and fluffy yorkshire puddings went down well with all.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and the manager and staff were attentive and looked after us very well. we will happily return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Have visited this establishment 4 or 5 times. Whether we dine, snack or take a cheeky drink,
always made to feel most welcome, swiftly served and leave content :)
Great staff and delicious seasonal dishes... complements to the chef.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudiav282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Myself and my wife called into the Portobello Bar while having to kill some time while in the area. We seemed to walk in while a England Rugby match was being screened in the bar.
As we were looking to eat we did think that maybe we should try somewhere else. But it sooned came clear that the staff were perfectly capable of managing a busy bar and run a successful reataurant.
The barman/waiter was fantastic and spoke to us as if we were locals and we ordered some drinks and were soon in conversation with him regarding the local area and we felt totally at ease. He showed us to a table and talked us through the menu. I ordered the rib-eye steak and my wife ordered the burger. The food came out promptly and my steak was cooked to perfection! We had such a good time we stayed for over 3 hours and nearly missed our train! The staff made us feel like locals and we felt completely at home here, the banter carried on with the staff all afternoon and have promised to stay here the next time we are in London (Which is once a month.) I can't wait to get back down there as I'm pretty sure it's the kind of place where the staff will remember you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#576 of 1,088 in London
154 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#63 of 573 in London
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
W12 Rooms
W12 Rooms
#33 of 573 in London
252 reviews
Kennington B & B
#52 of 573 in London
345 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 573 in London
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello House

Property: Portobello House
Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing