We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portobello House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portobello House
Ranked #92 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Staid for two nights and was very satisfied. The room was newly renovated and truly comfortable. Clearly stands out as superb boutique hotel with friendly service minded staff.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    60
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
72
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
551 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

If Cheers were a hotel in Notting Hill, London, The Portobello House Hotel would be it! Happy, comfortable, loving, personable service. Great food in the Percy Restaurant and Bar. Wine tasting, movie nights, live music....all sorts of fun downstairs, with cool, quiet comfort upstairs.
Small, comfortable rooms with great baths. We stay often and enjoy brining our laptops down to breakfast and staying for lunch. One block from Portobello Road - so fun, quick, easy,
No elevator - no need for a gym - only three floors high.

Room Tip: I won't tell you my favorite room as I have already been displaced by a major rock star who want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My room was spacious with a lovely decor - the same to be said about the bathroom as well (good shower!). I was looking forward to a good night sleep in my comfy bed, but the noise from Ladbroke Grove ... The location is fab: just 5 min walk to both, Portobello rd. and tube station, bus stop in the front of the house. Overall, a nice little place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Located above a pub/restaurant on Ladbrooke Grove is the Portobello House Hotel. But late at night to get insde meant ringing a buzzer and getting someone out of bed to let me in. Actually I had no problem with this but others might. The reception is actually not manned during the night so that when I left at 6.30 am there was no one to see me off, take payment or say 'see you next time'. Again this didnt bother me, was probably quickest check out I ever had !! but it is not usual for a hotel.

Otherwise the owners have done a decent job of making the place look nice and bed and pillows etc were above average comfort. Bathroom was clean and spacious, although water pressure not what you get in central London.

Would have been 4 stars but I rang at 5pm to ask if i could have a quiet room if at all possible and not facing Ladbooke Grove (which as I had predicted was pretty noisy). I was told that this was no problem and I was in room 26 on second floor facing the side street. Well you guessed it ...No26 was right over the traffic of Ladbrooke Grove !!! I kept window closed (which actually kept out noise quite well) but the lack of fresh air (and a glass of wine too many I suppose) helped make for a decent headache the next day.

Will keep an eye on it but not a first choice for me at £150 ...you can do better for less.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not facing Ladbrooke Grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3KMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed at the PHH with my teenage son (brave, I know) for two nights. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I travel quite a bit on my own and am quite cautious. I loved the area and getting around whether it was walking/tube/bus or taxi was a snap. We enjoyed walking Portobello Road, Ledbury and Westbourne Grove areas. We came back in the evenings to a bistro that was buzzing with local people, which made a nice change from the bigger hotels. A must for us was WiFi, which worked brilliantly throughout the hotel/bistro. The room we stayed in was not large, but it was decorated tastefully. HAIRDRYERS are available, you just need to ask at reception. (In a review I had read it stated that there weren't any) I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel and restaurant, Carlos and his team made us feel very welcome and treated us in a very friendly manner (very un-London). The prices are very reasonable and I shall hopefully be making another trip there in the very near future. We were there to see my younger sister and this place made us feel like nothing was too much trouble... I cannot recommend them enough, far better than the faceless 5 stars that will knacker your bank balance and make you feel unwelcome. Enjoy! I have submitted this same review to booking.com as it is how I feel about this great place.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a gem! This is a boutique styled hotel. Services and cleanliness were excellent. Mostly, staffs went out of their ways to make us feel welcome. The owner Carlos even booked a mini cab for us. The only thing I recommend is it would be helpful if a blow dryer is provided inside the room.

We will be back for sure!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meatballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#538 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#52 of 572 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
W12 Rooms
W12 Rooms
#35 of 572 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#24 of 572 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#86 of 572 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello House

Property: Portobello House
Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing