We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Portobello House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portobello House
Ranked #87 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very small hotel. Hardly noticeable from the street. But what an amazing hotel. One of the coziest I've seen, with very sweet interior, nice rooms and a lovely restaurant/coffee. Right next to the Portobello market, where you can shop til you drop. Nearby houses and neighborhood is also lovely, with a sweet "english" feeling. Metro station is just around the corner and bus stop (also night buses) is right in front of it. Breakfast was good, not a lot of options, but still good. Having dinner there is a must, chef knows what he's doing.
Great experience, would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limatad, Director of Sales at Portobello House, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review, we greatly appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Portobello House.

Kind regards,

Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    61
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
73
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed two nights last week as a relaxing break from running our own busy pub in Northamptonshire. What really sets this place apart from others is the staff/owners-so friendly and charming. Room was fine with very comfy bed. The bar had a great buzz with mix of locals and tourists and the food was so good,fresh, imaginative and superb value as was the room.
Will definately be back-thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limatad, Director of Sales at Portobello House, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. we hope to see you again at Portobello House.

kind Regards,

Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Smart little boutique hotel in the heart of buzzy Portobello.
The staff were so friendly, smiley, helpful and polite. The room was lovely, clean and beautifully decorated with a super comfy bed piled with luxurious soft pillows and crisp linens.
The bar and bistro downstairs has a great vibe, with an impressive range of wines and a really decent menu.
Only thing I would suggest - and it's a comment not a criticism - is that it would be nice to have a small kettle with tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It's what most hotels do now - and it's nice to have a cuppa whilst you're leisurely getting ready for the day ahead. Otherwise - cannot fault this place and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limatad, Director of Sales at Portobello House, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Reviewer ,

Thank you very much for the review. We are in the process of putting coffee machines in all our rooms.

Kind regards,

Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A stunning little boutique hotel close to Notting Hill. Stayed here for just one night in the Earl Percy room, would have loved to stay longer!
The room was stunning, beautiful decor & very comfortable! The only improvement I could suggest to the room would be some bottled water, but had we asked I'm sure this would have been supplied!
The bar area was great, really comfortable with a relaxed and informal feel to it, food was absolutely excellent - I had the Lemon Sole and it was delicious!!
The staff were all delightful, the service was outstanding but completely genuine at the same time, you just felt very welcome!
The whole look and feel is very similar to The York and Albany, Gordon Ramsey's place near Primrose Hill which is a testament to how wonderful this place is! A complete steal at the price, food was really well priced as well - will try to use this as my everyday hotel in London for work now, far better than any large chain hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimsyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limatad, Director of Sales at Portobello House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you, we do hope you will come back soon.

Kind Regards,

Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location, nicely decorated, but can be a little bit of a case of style over substance in some aspects. Our room was tiny but very nicely decorated. There was a bit of noise from the street, more than I expected, and I would say that this hotel could benefit from double glazing. Also, tea and coffee in all rooms would be appreciated. If not in the room, the hotel could offer free tea/coffees in the bar but this was not included in the room. At £90/night free tea/coffee wouldn't be too much to ask I don't think. Food was missing at continental breakfast but after a request to replace some items this was done. It seems they were expecting us to purchase a hot English breakfast, which was an extra £9 each, but I just wanted the continental breakfast which came with the room rate. Overall, these weren't issue which would seriously affect a stay and the decor and location have saved it from a 'good' rating. If these small issues were corrected and the price of an English breakfast came down (or better yet, was included in the room rate) I would rate this as 'Excellent'.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdjones1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a beautiful little establishment for those wanting to be close to Notting Hill/Portobello Market. The staff are excellent and so welcoming. Rooms are comfortable and have all the necessary amenities. There's an excellent bar on the ground floor to enjoy a pint and watch the world go by. It's a short stroll to all the bars and restaurants that Notting Hill has to offer. Bus stop right outside where you can be whisked into central London with ease. Or it's a 3 Minute walk to Ladbroke Grove Tube Station. Really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Being local, we love to support a 'local' business, but ......
We booked a table for 4 tonight at 8.00pm. Walked into bar area and waited, and waited and waited (it wasn't that busy!) so we just sat ourselves down!
There were only 2 other diners, why did we have to attract someone's attention?
Service was very good once we got going!
Starters we tasty but minuscule! 3 of us had pork hock which we eventually found amongst the pickles! We've eaten here before and this portion felt like it was one portion of ham shared between 3! Salmon starter 'bland'!
Main course, burgers just ok! One ordered well done and one medium = both the same! Rabbit was lovely and so was Pork belly.
For a Tuesday night supper not worth the money on food, we think we saved money on the 2 for 1 cocktails albeit we only have 5 between the 4 of us!
Have had many a good meal here before but tonight very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank TONYBW-W10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limatad, Director of Sales at Portobello House, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
We are sorry your supper did not meet up to your expectations, we have a lot of very satisfied customers and most nights we are really busy . That night we had a new Sous Chef and it was his first shift in our kitchen . Recently we have had a good l review from Fay Maschler and AA Gill said 'as a new restaurant in Notting Hill we had cracked it'. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us, we do hope you will return.
Best wishes
Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#566 of 1,067 in London
161 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#342 of 1,067 in London
166 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#106 of 556 in London
326 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#14 of 556 in London
408 reviews
Melrose House
#97 of 556 in London
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello House

Property: Portobello House
Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing