We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore London”
Review of Chester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chester Hotel
Ranked #887 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great base to explore London”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotels location is its best quality! We wanted somewhere that was cheap with a clean bed/shower/toilet where we could dump our stuff and have a short walk to all the attractions of London! The staff were friendly and helpful and even stored our luggage for us when we had checked out so we could explore some more! The rooms were small granted but it was fine for us! Bit of advice for people wanting to book here, If your looking for something cheap, great location and a clean bed to sleep then book it! If you want to spend any time in the hotel other than to sleep/shower rather than having a base to explore from I would advise to pay more and stay somewhere else. The reason for this is that the rooms are very small and some people may find this hard to overlook. Whilst we were staying there was some construction taking place so fingers crossed they are extending as they could make the rooms bigger which would make a massive difference!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Marths9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    73
    80
    66
    119
See reviews for
57
99
84
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Hull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on a flying trip to London. It is situated in a pretty street about 5 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Our room was a cellar room towards the front of the property. The room and the linen / towls etc were clean but when we returned after a few hours out and about (having left the window closed for security) there was a very musty, damp smell in the room.
The bed was comfortable enough for a good sleep. Unfortunately cellar rooms in Victorian houses are not designed with sound proofing in mind and we could hear every footfall and cough in rooms above and alongside us. Combined with the waste pipe from above running through our bathroom making upstairs toilet flushes noisier than our own, and a water tank right outside the window which made a sound like the Tardis every time someone in the hotel turned on a hot tap - it wasn't the most restful room I've stayed in. The value wasn't great, but that's London isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Pattonville, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The location was great, easy walk from Victoria Station as well as an easy walk to the sights. We walked everywhere from this hotel. The room was very small and it did have a very small bathroom in the room which was very important to us. Loved having coffee and tea service in the room. The price was probably good for the area. The TV worked well. The staff was helpful when we needed help. They stored our luggage Free as we arrived before check-in time so we could start checking out London. Free Wi-Fi worked very well.

Room Tip: Their picture of the room matched the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good location but hotel seems to be a work in progress. My room was downstairs and although not quite as bad as some of the pics on here was far from ideal. Electric heater was a fire waiting to happen and one corner of the room was being or had been converted from a kitchen area and was unfinished. To be fair for the price it was an OK nights sleep, but would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel was only £50.00 for one night in May! It is a five minute walk from Victoria train station and within minutes walk from lovely mix of restaurants and boutiques. The room was decorated in tasteful décor, there was free tea/ coffee/ shower necessities, a flat screen tv and we found the staff very welcoming. Nothing bad to say...only good.

Room Tip: Room 2 was ours and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaomiMcNally1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#551 of 1,067 in London
430 reviews
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#707 of 1,067 in London
1,144 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#636 of 1,067 in London
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#909 of 1,067 in London
44 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#928 of 1,067 in London
529 reviews
Pimlico
New England Hotel
New England Hotel
#963 of 1,067 in London
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Hotel

Property: Chester Hotel
Address: 27-29 Longmoore Street | Victoria, London SW1V 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #887 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing