We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simon and Jo Wedding Venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
Ranked #455 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Simon and Jo Wedding Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very friendly staff , every body made our day perfect, The food was amazing and the way the staff kept the guess entertained was awesome. If your looking for a great location good rooms and a great day for your wedding then this is a place my new wife and I would recommend. 70% of our guests stayed at the hotel which made it we believe even better, the day before they all had Wimbledon shopping and drinking to enjoy.

Room Tip: go for the Club Room , a little bit bigger , ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    163
    83
    35
    24
See reviews for
87
171
42
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
410 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were staying for a wedding celebration so needed a local place to crash. The hotel is in a good location, easy for both Wimbledon and South Wimbledon tube stations. The welcome was warm and efficient. The room was a good size, comfy bed and goo bathroom. The decor could be improved. It looked like the previous guest had pulled the mirror off the wall, which was just stood against the wall. But that was not really a problem for us.

The lift is small, takes three people (it says) but it works fine. There are lots of local bars and places to eat, close to the theatres in the area too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtogo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights. A double room is fine if you are a single traveller, but would have felt every small and basic had there been 2 of us in there.

Bathroom and hotel in general is clean and in good condition, but just lacks amenities. Small wall mounted tv that can crush your skull if you want to crawl past it to enter the bed from that side. A bit of noise when windows open, but no problems once they were closed. Would be nice if there was a minibar/fridge in the room.

Location is OK, but not great; a brisk 10 minute walk from Wimbledon station in the 'wrong' direction from the village where the good restaurants/pubs etc are located.

Breakfast seems pricey at £12 but was good, good selection, eggs cooked to order only thing I missed was an espresso-machine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robotron3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for just four nights before staying with a friend the following week. We had just moved to London and needed a place to base ourselves while we looked for a place to live.

Before I get on to my opinion about the actual hotel, I want to state that we had never witnessed such unprofessional behavior (as a guest in a hotel) in all of our years of travelling the world.

Staff behind reception were always on their mobile phones and it felt like we were 'bothering" them when ever we needed to speak with them.

Rather than just going up and speaking to each other in professional manner, staff members would shout things across the lobby to each other instead. It was horrendous.

One evening, (Saturday 22/03/14) we were in the lobby having a drink and the staff were obviously waiting for a party to arrive. They were setting up glasses for the Prosecco while dancing around the lobby, hitting each other, shouting and acting like schoolboys at a teenage disco.

One employees friend came in to see him at work and the employee poured this guy a glass of Prosecco like it was his own!! If that was my party and paying for the Prosecco, I wouldn't be too impressed knowing that the staff were just handing it out to their mates.

Just really unprofessional behavior as a whole. It's not like this hotel was 30 pounds a night - we've stayed in many a hotel on this price scale and received a hell of a lot more for it.

Now on to the hotel details:

Check in was fine.

The lift was the slowest and smallest lift that we had ever seen - you wouldn't want to have a lot of baggage or else you'd be doing a couple of (time consuming) trips up and down.

The room was TINY. No hanging space for clothes etc so we just lived out of our suit cases for the four days.

The cooling system didn't work.

The cups for coffee / tea etc were dirty and old water left in the kettle from previous guests.

The bathroom was very basic with only hand wash and shower gel. The shower was great though - fantastic power out of it.

It's a fair walk to the underground / Wimbledon town: About 15 mins if walking casually and about 8 mins if walking like a speed walker.

There isn't much competition around Wimbledon town in regards to hotels, so this is why this hotel still going.

Room Tip: 1) Don't bring too much baggage -the lifts and rooms are tiny. 2) Take the stairs when you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LittleIrish85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear LittleIrish85,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was dissapointed to read your feedback regarding the team at Antoinette Wimbledon, as previous reviews have found the team to be professional, friendly and courteous.

The Club Room which you booked through an agent, is described as being comfortable and suitable for a short stay, and as such these room types are offered at an extremely preferential rate, and would have been lower if booked direct with the hotel.

Please be assured that had you brought any of the issues with your room to the attention of a member of the Reception team, then an immediate room move would have been arranged.

I appreciate that you feel that you may not wish to return, but hope very much that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion, in order to restore your faith in the hotel. As such please do not hesitate to contact me, so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Fab service from start to finish. Food excellent. Lovely free upgrade to superior room which was spotless and spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to go back. Ideal location, walking distance to all shops and theatre.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel whilst visiting our son in Wimbledon. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were delighted with the room. This was at the back of the hotel and we could not hear a sound so we slept really well. We were especially impressed by the level of cleanliness, so much so that I asked one of the cleaners the next morning which shower cleaner she used! We will definitely stay here again next time we are in London. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaffronBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon Hotel
#722 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#534 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon

Property: Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
Address: The Broadway, London SW19 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Family Hotel in London
#244 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wimbledon's largest hotel, is located within walking distance of Wimbledon Station and South Wimbledon Underground. Journey time to London is 15 minutes, making it an ideal base for business or leisure. All rooms have air conditioning, plasma television, hospitality tray, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi access, and well appointed bathroom. Our Lambourne Restaurant offers modern British cuisine, and is open Tuesday to Saturday inclusive and offers a 20% discount to hotel guests. On other days a room service menu is in operation. A variety of room types are available to suit all budgets, including Superior Rooms with private balconies. Excellent value Weekend Breaks are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antoinette Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing