We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Ranked #263 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice now and both times the level of service has been excellent. Large comfortable rooms that are well equipped. The hotel is right on the door step of trafalgar square and a short walk to the west end. Also right by the river. If your looking for a base to explore London then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Check-in not smooth as it was to be all by computer and self-service but it would not work so done by reception. Quick easy checking in would be super. We would go back as location is super. Room clean and like new. Very nice. Breakfast pricy. Only two tea bags in room. TV not easily viewable from bed. Remote well used as all print worn off. TV great if not difficult to view. Room quiet and bedding great. Water down the hall but all one wants. It is very near elevator and your fill the bottles yourself. On leaving receipt for room not available which is a concern. Just a copy of the bill would be a wonderful addition by reception would not provide. This no final room bill needs to be changed and now.

Room Tip: Do not know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EnjoyUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here over night on the way back from a 3 day Parisian break and on the way home.
We took a taxi from Eurostar that was relatively quick and inexpensive.
It's location meant we were down the road from the Mall, Big Ben, Trafalgar and the River Thames and Embankment. Charging Cross railway station was at the end of the road as was a pontoon to access the Thames Clipper service so we could fit in a river trip before heading off to our train home.
The room was decorated in dark wood so looked dismal. It felt very business like with a desk etc.
The air con was poor and too noisy so I did not sleep easily.
The staff was pleasant, the restaurant prices were high.
You can get a superb full English cooked breakfast in Garfunkels a few doors along, for £ 5.99.
We booked on line and got a good deal that made this hotel cheaper than a Premier.!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having stayed 1 night at this marvellous with 2 children from the moment we arrived all staff were so helpful and the location great to see the sights of London The bedroom was large just right no noise perfect Bathroom the same Perfect. Breakfast was Excellent words fail me. Most tourist attractions a short walk or the bus or rail is handy if you buy a daily ticket. All in all the Grand I found is in a great location and gives excellent service from arrival to departure and lives up to its name. I would certainly return again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The choice is yours to choose from in this Great Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 122wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very grand and smart entrance and reception areas and some good features such as easy accessed free wifi - offered lots of great facilities for business users. I 'd say best for a no frills business stop over. Although well sited and convenient for theatres. Pictures on the site suggest it's something really special and we chose this for a romantic night away to see a play. It was disappointing. I requested a quiet room - the photos on the site show large very elegant rooms. Ours was pokey and there was noisy building work going on outside. The view was a brick wall directly outside the window. There are numerous rooms in a warren of corridors and all looks very standardised, no character at all. For the price I was expecting something really smart and luxurious but it was pretty basic - no choice of teas or facecloths for example. Umbrella provided was a nice touch though. Iced water supposed to be provided but had to walk around the corridors and then once we had found it t had run out of bottles. Soaps tea etc provided were fine for one person. We noted there are a lot of services and facilities listed but you have to go and find them in various locations - would be much better provided in the room. Breakfast was expensive but freshly cooked and good range of fresh food available. I asked for a better room and receptionist was very helpful and friendly and offered to find a better room but when she looked said she only had similar rooms. Last straw was that the whopping price we paid didn't even include breakfast. What a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room and a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuegeeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Living in the UK and on a Megabus route, I usually go to London 4 or 5 times a year for pleasure. Having friends in the area usually means I'll stay with them, but sometimes a hotel stay is dictated and I like to spend around £100-125 a night at most in the area of my choosing.

As we were doing a sightseeing trip this time, The Grand at Trafalgar Square seemed ideal. I've stayed at The Park Plaza on the South Bank previously, as well as the Hilton Doubletree at Victoria and both were pleasant stays, however I feel The Grand trumps them both while being in the same budget when I booked. Location is even better than it appeared on the map - getting the tube from Victoria to Embankment was only a few stops then a few minutes walk. You can practically see both the South Bank if you look right, and Trafalgar Square if you look left. It's without doubt the best area I've ever stayed in.

We arrived at the hotel at 11.30am after what can only be described as a terrible morning. Multiple delays on our coach, ending us being shifted onto a replacement service that was hot, uncomfortable and meant we'd missed our fast track booking at one of the attractions. We were met with genuine sympathy at reception, and the good news that because we were there after 11am and a room was available, we could get settled in straight away at no additional charge.

The quality of service from the staff was consistently high throughout the trip - we had a few requests, and each was met with a smile and fast service. A fridge to store leftover food and drinks? Housekeeping were rung immediately and it was there and plugged in for us on our return. A knife and fork from the restaurant to take upstairs? Not a problem again. Every interaction was very pleasant, and we were made to feel welcome with every request we had.

The room itself was on the 3rd floor, facing the rear - no scenic view but absolutely silent which was much appreciated. It was also larger than expected, and with good amenities including a makeup mirror in the bathroom - which itself had an excellent shower - a working TV (which isn't always the case even in expensive hotels!) covering most of the Freeview channels as well as Sky Sports 1 through 3 and PPV options. The bed was comfortable and had good access to plugs and USB chargers. The desk had a section for Ethernet internet access as well as the ability to connect a computer to the TV, however ours didn't seem to have the connections behind the panel. I'm sure if this was required, an alternate room would have been provided but this was the last thing on our minds.

On to something that most of the reviews mention, but deservedly so - the ice machine and water dispenser on each floor is a great touch, and incredibly useful. Being able to grab a bottle of fresh, cold water before heading out meant not having to queue in the local Tesco just to pay for the exact same thing. The ice machine, like all technology, had a few breakdowns over the weekend but it was only a matter of going to a different floor and using one there instead. Equally, the business centre that had a few computers and printers to use free of charge had a couple of technical issues, including the PrintMe service being down (this allows you to print from your phone/computer on the wifi in your room then pick the printout on the 1st floor). Again, it's technology and it's something that's always going to be prone to issues and not something that I feel should be warrant of complaint. I was still able to print my tickets out by going to my email on the computer and printing from there. The in room WiFi didn't always get perfect signal on my phone, but I'm sure if I had my laptop it wouldn't have been an issue. The fact the services were all part of the room charge as opposed to an additional fee at an outrageous rate was incredibly welcome.

Other services that are offered include a shopping run - everything was reasonably priced, such as a bottle of Budweiser for £1.49 each. There's a small charge for this on top, but again nothing to break the bank. A lot of hotels in this class feel the need to nickel and dime at every opportunity, but I didn't get that feeling from The Grand at all.

We didn't eat at the restaurant bar, but did pop our heads in. It seemed very nice, and the prices weren't too awful if you only wanted a relaxing drink before bed. Given that most of the area is chain restaurants and the odd bar, it would make a nice option if you didn't want to venture too far. The menu looked reasonably priced and I had no reason to expect it wasn't of high quality. There's also a hallway leading through to Bianco 43, an Italian restaurant also accessible on the high street. We did eat there, and I'll review that separately. Spoiler: It's great.

Overall I couldn't fault the hotel or the service we received, and I know if I need to stay in the area again, I'll be checking availability and recommending The Grand to my friends.

One last thing - if you stayed in Room 327 after me, can I please have my Ray-Bans back please? Thanks! ;)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The size of the room was comfortable and adequate for two with ample drawer and closet space. Bathroom was also large in comparison to the many B&Bs around London. The location was centrally located next to Trafalgar Square, National Gallery, many tourist attractions, countless restaurants, and the Underground. Location was important since we packed only a rollaway and had to roll our luggage from the Underground Tube to the hotel (just minutes from the Tube). Leon at the front desk was exceptionally professional and courteous. Bathroom came with bath soap, shampoo, conditioner, and a shower cap. We really enjoyed having chilled bottled water which we refilled everyday before heading out to visit the attractions. The major disadvantage to this hotel was being located in Trafalgar Square which is overly crowded with tourists from around the world. It is especially crowded at night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tamatea125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,069 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#118 of 1,077 in London
4,826 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,077 in London
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand at Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#284 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £123 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing