We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mice. Need I Say More?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mark Hotel
Ranked #930 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Mice. Need I Say More?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Well, I can. This hotel is dirty and the staff are completely unhelpful. Due to a mistake I'd made, I made two separate bookings, one for the first two nights, and another for the second. They said they'd try to keep us in the same room, but they weren't sure if it would be possible. As we were going out for the day I decided to make sure we could stay in the same room. Nope! We'd have to move. They weren't going to inform us, however, so what would have happened with all our stuff unpacked in our first room if I hadn't asked? After seeing the mouse in my room at 2am, I complained to the staff the next day. No sympathy was given and I was told I should have informed them the previous night - even though it was late and the hotel was full. What would they have done? They also said they "used" to have a problem with mice but not anymore, but the mouse trap underneath the wardrobe makes that unlikely, combined with the fact that I SAW A MOUSE IN OUR ROOM.

The second room we were moved to was worse than the first, although both had wall/carpet/bedspread stains, tiny flat pillows (with no extras) and gritty unpleasant sheets. The second room was in the basement and had mildew and mold. No way to open a window for ventilation, either.

On our last night I asked for a taxi to be called for us in the morning. We had only a few blocks to go to pick up our shuttle to the airport, but it was cold and I didn't want to lug our suitcases at 6am. Sure enough in the morning, no taxi had been called. When they did call us one, it wasn't a real, regulated London taxicab at all, but a minivan, some relative or friend of the hotel, I'm assuming. He charged us 15 pounds to go 8 blocks - several times what the taxi would have charged. I was furious but had no time to argue as we were already late for our shuttle bus.

I stay in a lot of budget European hotels and find most of them quite pleasant, but this is the worst I've encountered by far.

Room Tip: At the very least, avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    80
    107
    51
    63
See reviews for
87
119
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed there for one night and got a good deal at the last minute (not through lastminute.com though); the deal even got better when I was upgraded to a bigger room at no extra cost. Very modern, though compact, bathroom. The only moan I have is whenever the people in the room above were walking I could hear it, and they seemed to walk a lot, even at small hours of the night. Breakfast (continental) was decent. The location was very central though. Just steps away from Earls Court tube station.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gamfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Good location for earls court & Kensington, hotel rooms basic but adequate only problem is we had a twin room and the bed lay out was end to end due to narrow room this was odd especially trying to watch tv ,also hot and cold water back to front so cold hot & hot cold & finally wardrobe space very limited

Room Tip: Ask if you can have. Room where beds are not end to end
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markieShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My son and I spent five nights at the St. Mark in January 2013. The rooms were clean, we had a private shower and toilet, a microwave and a small sink, and a friendly staff. We were out all day and just came back to the hotel to sleep, and get ready for the next days adventures. In the morning there is a minimal breakfast of coffee, tea, toast and jam, cereal, orange juice and boiled eggs. My son and I went to London on a budget, and this hotel was everything that we needed. It is in a great location, just a short walk to the tube and the overground. I would highly recommend this hotel, although it would probably be unsuited to anyone who wished to stay in their room most of the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We paid 55 quid for one night B&B in a twin room. Excellent value! Central location, yet on a lovely side street with private gardens so a quiet night's sleep can be had.
Very clean and tidy room, a bit basic, but everything you need. In fact there was a microwave and fridge in our room so if you are doing a budget stay, you can have a night or two of basic self catering :-) There were plenty of clean towels, more coffee than starbucks and clean bedding on the beds.
It's a tall building with no lift, so if as I was, you are treating your 73 year old mum to a christmas break - ask for a first floor room!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyddbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I spend a night in this hotel this week. St. Mark is well collocated in south London, very close to the Earl's Court underground station. The hotel is like more others hotels in London. I think that in Italy some of them will be closed, particulary for safety. My room was under the street and the windows was unlocked. The light and the fan of the bathroom couldn't swith off. So, i had big problem for my sleep. The furnishing was old, particulary the carpet and the covers. Breakfast has been good. The personal of the hotel has been kindly and available to satisfy our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coccus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Coventry
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is close to the tube station. This is its only positive feature.

We arrived at 3.15 pm and were greeted by a badly soiled double mattress in the small reception hall. We should have left, but we had already paid.

The receptionist was talking on the phone, ignoring us for several mins while on a personal call and then asked us for photo id. He then tried to photocopy it... Not trusting this man whatsoever I asked why we needed to photocopy our Id. He couldn't answer and he also couldnt tell us what he would be doing with our information. We refused to let him photocopy it as we had proved the booking was ours and had paid upfront. He didn't like it but I don't like risking identity fraud so there you go.

We went upstairs ( no lift ) and had to weave in and out of piles of dirty sheets, towels, bags of rubbish and cleaning equipment ( which clearly was underused ). Our room was small and the bed pushed against one wall so bad luck if u are on that side and need to pee in the night!

The bedspread was dirty, the pillows stupidly thin and the mattress lumpy. The carpets are heavily soiled and the decor grubby. The bathroom was not very clean, but was cleaner than the room itself. The sink was small and leaky and the shower felt like you were being wee'd on!

After no sleep we went to breakfast. This was terrible, warm milk with stale cereal or stale bread to toast yourself ( after queuing ) and spread with almost liquid butter and horrible marmalade. You could wash it down with instant coffee or warm oj....lucky you! It wasn't worth the effort of going into the dingy basement to get it and for the poor girls who came down at 9.20 they got nothing as the coffee had run out and the bread was gone but they were told they were too late, even though it was meant to be till 9.30.

We packed and left, walking past the soiled mattress which was still in reception.
A terrible terrible stay in a simply awful disgusting and horrible hotel...but its close to the tube station, so that's a plus! Lol

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aph83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
The Maranton House Hotel
The Maranton House Hotel
#915 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#836 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#530 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#738 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#746 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mark Hotel

Property: St. Mark Hotel
Address: Road, Earl's Court 4 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #930 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Mark Hotel is situated on Barkston Garden in London's Earls Court district. The St Mark Hotel is a popular budget hotel in central London offering 25 guest rooms all with private ensuite facilities. The Hotel is located in the heart of Earls Court, giving hotel guests excellent access to central London, including Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Olympia Exhibition Centre, making the hotel an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your St. Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mark Hotel
St Mark London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing