We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hyde Park Apartments
Ranked #580 of 949 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My son was running the London Marathon and a party of 10 booked apartments 3 and 4 (before reading the reviews). We paid £1200 for 2 nights for both apartments and had high expectations. I emailed beforehand to see if we could store our luggage as my son had to register - was told it would cost £20!!!! Was quite disappointed but informed that we would arrive between 9 and 10. On arrival, we called the number and waited 10 mins. As we were pushed for time I asked the hotel next door if we could put our case in their storage. They could not have been more helpful and let us put the case in for free...... When we eventually checked in - were surprised at the lack of basic comforts. We were staying in apartment 4 and the crockery, cups and glasses were not sufficient for our party - very limited. Dishwasher broken, no hot water in the kitchen, shower in the on-suite did not work, very basic furniture, not enough bedding, tiny towels which have seen better days. Same could be said for apartment 3 - was slightly better equipped than ours and the living area was sufficient for us all (the living area is very small for 6 people in 4). Again though, no hot water in the kitchen. Then to top it all we had visits by rodents on both nights in both apartments (hopefully it was only mice......). For the price we paid - extremely disappointed. The only plus to the stay was the location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steffhassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

On 1st appearance, the apartment looked good. BUT on closer inspection the attention to detail has totally let it down. The beds are comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep. However, we had no heating for our stay, no hot water in the kitchen, no dishwasher but we were privileged to have the company of mice in the kitchen...... healthy mice as they only ate the brown bread!
According to the guest book, there should have been basic supplies for us including milk. There were none. The contact number in the guest must be out of date as we had no reply at all despite it stating 'anytime' assistance. Dorothy, the housekeeper, eventually got back to us and promised that the heating would be sorted!! All I can say is, thank goodness the weather was kind to us and we were not too cold.
Such a shame...... the location is fantastic for getting around London and it's quiet!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great location,the lift and one shower worked but zero comfort. When we booked we couldn't remember asking for inadequate bedding, a broken boiler (so no heat or hot water in the kitchen) a faulty shower in the en-suite and exposed electrics. Thank you however for supplying us with two filament heaters (one of which worked for 10 seconds and the other developed a fault melting the plug - we were so impressed that we took a picture of that so you can include it your booking details next time) I doubt however that London Choice are worried by any of this eh? It's just business I expect

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked our stay in apartment 6 for 8 adults, through booking.com. My sister and I arrived first to decorate as it was for a special occasion. When we arrived we were informed booking.com had in actual fact booked us for apartment 5 which clearly could not sleep 8, and by seeing the property, apartment 6 wouldn't have been much better. Seeing how worried we were Dorothy said we could also use the basement apartment 1 (which was much more luxurious than the other apartments but had not yet been cleaned from the previous people so we had to make the beds/clean up to be able to use it. We were able to use both apartments 1 + 5.

Apartment 1 is lovely, the main bedroom has such a fantastic bathroom. Things don't work, and the second bedroom smelt from the bathroom which we couldn't air, but we still had a brilliant time, apartment 1 has a side entrance, and also a lift to exit but cannot return. the side entrance is needed as the main door doesn't work. Apartment 5 was pretty basic, some plugs were unattached from the wall but it didn't really matter, though they should maintain these apartments better as they have such potential.

We gave Dorothy some flowers as she was very kind letting us use the other apartment, it really helped us out, I would suggest not to book through booking.com and to book direct!

Room Tip: None of the apartments are suitable for 8 adults, even when they state they are. Apartment 1 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimmeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Myself and 5 others booked this apartment . On arrival we called the number given to us on our booking confirmation only to find out that somebody was already in the apartment and that we could not stay there.

We booked the apartment with booking.com and they managed to find us alternative accommodation for the night but it was of a substandard quality.(Hotel Oliver)

It ruined our weekend and caused a lot of stress. We arrived in London at 12 but we didn't get into our hotel until 4 o clock wasting hours of our valuable time for looking around.

Room Tip: Do not risk getting double booked, stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Not good. Told them we would be late to check in and then they wanted to charge us when we got there after Dorothy left us on the doorstep for ten minutes.
We stayed in six. Unloved. There were halogen spots ganging from the ceiling in the bathroom. The shower tray flooded really quickly so was clearly blocked. The tiles in the kitchen floor are damaged and held together by duct tape.
I would say Dorothy needs to clean a bit better, the hob area absolutely stank of curry. The welcome milk fruit etc doesn't exist.
The actual area is good but just disappointing accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassyiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Where do I start! From the moment we set foot in this poor excuse for an apartment hotel, we noticed that the beds were not made properly ( no fitted sheets, mattress protectors etc) . The apartment was NOT what we had booked as the lay out was wrong. It was dirty, unfinished ( there were plug sockets hanging out of walls and the place was infested with cockroaches!! Not what u expect for 300 pounds a night!!! The manager was not very helpful either. Don't know how they survived the Olympics!! What a joke!!

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#443 of 1,076 in London
2,226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate
0.2 mi away
Hyde Park Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Brent Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hyde Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hyde Park Apartments

Address: 49 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 949 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £84 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Gate Hyde Park Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern purpose built property, situated in the heart of London's West End, adjacent to Connaught Village, Marble Arch, Edgware Road and Oxford Street, overlooking a garden square with restaurants and shops nearby. All of the apartments are self-contained and have a sitting area and work table. Studios have the choice of king size or twin beds. A very warm and welcoming environment makes this property ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hyde Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Gate Hyde Park Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing